Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 29 days, 23 hours, 48 minutes, 40 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 65 days, 0 hours, 36 minutes, 40 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Kim Jong-un's Glorious Missile to Liberate the Nations DX - dremelofdeath - Jam Entry

    Kim Jong-un, Supreme Leader of North Korea. Evil tyrant, or just misunderstood? The dear leader, desiring greatly to participate in splendid capitalist holiday festivities, wishes only to send the White House the most wonderful gift North Korea can offer.

    To get it there, the "gift" will have to travel half a world in distance, avoiding bird strikes, rabid consumerist bunnies, and the products of the American military-industrial complex. But be warned, any slight interference with the world's most advanced missile defense system can unbalance its delicate yet assuredly stable guidance controls.

    Happy Communistivus, pigs.

    View dremelofdeath's journal. | View all entries by dremelofdeath

    Ratings

    Coolness63%
    #4Humor(Jam)4.15
    #20Fun(Jam)3.67
    #20Audio(Jam)3.87
    #27Overall(Jam)3.78
    #35Mood(Jam)3.56
    #38Theme(Jam)3.94
    #79Graphics(Jam)3.78
    #222Innovation(Jam)2.61

    Comments

    Crimsoneer says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:45pm

    Great job! Really enjoyed myself, even if I only hit level 3 :)

    Van Merwan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:45pm

    Best game I've rated so far. Awesome work.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:41am

    Very funny game. Excellent work!

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:47am

    This was fun ^.^ keep it up :3

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:54am

    I really love this game. Music is amazing. Still can't beat the last stage. I'll have to come back to it later.

    michax says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:39am

    Awesome title and game over screens! Enjoyed music as well. Wanted to see what I will reach in the end of this well balanced journey. Sadly didn't manage to finish it. Maybe some other time.

    Either way enjoyed it!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:55am

    Flying a missile is a great idea. Really liked the happy music as a counter to what I was. Still trying to get past level 2 - fucking monkeys!

    sev_inf says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:36am

    5 start for humor!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:38am

    Yeah, I felt addicted. Loved the music and the graphics. Even if I was very, very, very, bad at it. (couldn't survive more than 2 secondes of the 3th level).

    Loved the fact that balloon, monkeys or even rabbit could destroy this glorious missile. Really cool !

    Robotic says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:40am

    Aw yeah, a game about the great leader. I'm glad I get to serve him.

    Wuhao says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:26am

    Full score for theme!

    Gemberkoekje says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:29am

    This was a pretty fun game, a simple concept done well.

    - Graphics are good
    - Game was challenging, but never unfairly so. Well balanced!
    - The only thing which was rather confusing was the level endings. I was expecting a big boom, instead i got another level. Couldn't you have made the level switches a little more organic?

    I say it again, well done.

    refrag says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:31am

    Really really great. Simple, but super fun with excellent music and graphics. Strong work!

    rujo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:47am

    very funny and nicely done

    studioarmix says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:50am

    Really awesome execution of the theme.
    - It's simple to play without needing to read any instructions.
    - I really enjoyed the art style and fluid feel of the gameplay.

    Once again, great job.

    ddionisio says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:02am

    I can't believe mere birds and balloons can destroy a missile. ..I had a lot of fun playing this game. Truly a glorious game!

    BenW says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:52pm

    I have failed great leader.

    caribou says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:14pm

    Awesome art, i started to laugh when the monkeys came into play :D

    Floko says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:20am

    funny, haha x) Pretty enjoyable. Here,have some stars \o\

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:42pm

    This was so fun !

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:32pm

    Very solid game! The graphics were really good (especially the landscapes) and the music was superb ^^. Gameplay was kindof twitchy but overall fun :3
    I like how rotated sprites are still drawn as bitmaps and not like you often see in flash games as rotated vectorized sprites. How'd you get that to work?

    zimmy87 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:32pm

    MaximSchoemaker:
    Thanks for the kind words! I was one of the devs working on the game and did some of the rotation. So perhaps I can fill you in.

    We were going to use Flixel's loadRotatedGraphic call to prerender the rotations in all the sprites, but found that it was introducing tiny artifacts into the graphics, so instead we used the regular loadGraphic in conjuntion with modifying the FlxSprite's angle field. I don't know enough of the inner workings of Flixel to tell you exactly what's going on, but if I had to take a gander, I think Flixel is using a different rotation algorithm in this case todo the rotation in realtime, and this algorithm doesn't seem todo any interpolation of colors, which may make the rotation look a bit off when viewed closely, but when the game's running at full speed, I think it looks better as the palette more closely resembles the original palette and there's no graphical artifacts. Also, we didnt notice any loss in performance, so wee just decided to go with the way we thought looked better.

    Also, your Villain Complex game is SWEET

    RosyPenguin says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:20am

    I laughed out loud at that lose screen! Looks great and sounds great, and fun arcade game play. Awesome!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:17pm

    hahaaha!
    Very good game!

    YopSolo says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:30pm

    great :)

    01010111 says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:17am

    So smooth! I love the music! This will get you banned from /r/pyongyang!

    skiddings says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:02pm

    Excellent work!

    krutech says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 8:45pm

    Nice graphics, music, sound and controls. Congrats!

    blob says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 11:01am

    Hehe funny idea. Level 3 is hard.

    mcc says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:20am

    a bittersweet tale of one little missile that could

    Clodial says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:01am

    Woah... That was pretty cool XD

    Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:29am

    Could only make it to level 3 but it's a fun little game! Difficulty is a bit too unforgiving though.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]