Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 31 days, 10 hours, 21 minutes, 25 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 66 days, 11 hours, 9 minutes, 25 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Little Death Adventure - blackmagic - Jam Entry

    Hi, Here is our little death adventure.

    You can find the source code at github. We don't really know why but the game is way faster on chrome that firefox and way faster on standalone than nav.

    We hope you'll enjoy it !

    Blackmagic & Gyhyom & Matthal


    View blackmagic's journal. | View all entries by blackmagic

    Ratings

    Coolness80%
    #5Audio(Jam)4.07
    #7Graphics(Jam)4.56
    #14Humor(Jam)3.81
    #23Fun(Jam)3.66
    #32Overall(Jam)3.75
    #40Mood(Jam)3.54
    #50Theme(Jam)3.86
    #201Innovation(Jam)2.68

    Comments

    pfirsich says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:17am

    Very well done and actually quite enjoyable, but quite short (sadly) and it lacks a bit of variety.

    Asamak says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:10am

    The intro is wonderful!

    Graf_Grun says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:22am

    Super sexy art, somewhat glitchy programming (e.g. platforms not always working) and awkward controls.

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:47pm

    Hahaha! Intro is unreal awesome!

    SirJson says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:01pm

    Hehe the Intro is epic :D The Messages at the bottom are really cool too ;)

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:54pm

    Controls are a bit awkward but the art is brilliant, I love both music and graphics.

    chrismwaite says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:57pm

    Really nice graphics, sounds and animation. Also very enjoyable in an immediately gratifying kind of way. I think it would be improved if you had to kill all civilians before you can progress to the next level.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:41pm

    Exception entry! The graphics were superb quality and really fitting for the theme. I loved the comedy elements (talking scythe? Genius!) and the text messages really added depth to the experience. I think it was good that there wasn't too much in the way of environmental challenge because it was more fun to go on a crazy slaughter and read the text, which meant you couldn't keep your eye on the dude all the time anyway. Great music and intro, really good

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:47pm

    @all thx ! @Graf_Grun sorry we made our engine from scratch and it has imperfections :) thx for playing everybody !

    Msquirrel says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:17pm

    Loved it, very nice retro style, I liked it alot!

    saampahlavan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:22pm

    Great art and sound. Wish I had more of a momentum when attacking / different moves I could do. And maybe something to attack me.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:46pm

    Great little game, I liked the music and graphics a lot, and he humor was great, those messages in the bottom were a nice touch. Making precise jumps was just a bit difficult.

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:20am

    Very fun.

    RARoadkill says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:05am

    Very solid entry. Felt a bit too easy, but it plays well. Fantastic job

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:20am

    Oh nice job.

    gyhyom says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:23am

    Thanks everyone !
    for our fist participation, the dev went pretty good.
    Except for 4 hours of total brainfuck sunday afternoon who put Blackmagic in despair, hopefully i entered berserk mode just after !

    PapyGaragos says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:15pm

    awesome

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:11pm

    Great audio and visuals, good job. I also really liked the intro and the messages at the bottom

    Tavrox says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:26pm

    Classic gameplay but awesome mood and overall feeling :)

    Carduus says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:55pm

    Very nice art and humour :) I love the character named "Carduus" ;)

    jackspinoza says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:00pm

    funky stuff, good work.

    LeReveur says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:06pm

    Excellent ! But... While you noted that the game is faster in standalone, I tried to download the win version, but every links seems to go on the web version... Have I missed something ? ^^;

    monobo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:07pm

    Really nice game! Mood and Graphics are well polished!

    joekinley says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:27pm

    OMG you guys get the whole points in every category. This thing is hillariously good. The graphics are awesome, beyond awesome even. The animation is brilliant. The music is really great, so is the sound. It is so fun to play and slay folks. The mood is awesome.
    Only thing is the controls, which are a bit weird. But still the game is ridiculously awesome and brilliant. Loved every second of it.

    ArkadyDracul says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:44am

    A very good entry, the best intro I've ever see! :D

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:54am

    great intro, beautiful art and nice sound... the little text messages were very cool. great little game!

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:59am

    Very polished game with beautiful graphics, great chip music and great humour! Bit glitchy, got stuck behind that step area in your last screenshot. Lacks a little bit of variety but that's understandable given the 48hr timeframe. Great fun!

    01101101 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:21am

    Well done! I love the texts (and private jokes ^^), it really adds a lot of fun to the mindless slaughtering of people :D The intro is perfect and the music is great!

    Grouflon says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:07pm

    Brilliant graphics and audio, but playing deah, I would have liked the controls to feel more powerful.

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:08pm

    Very nice !

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:12pm

    I'm a sucker for pixel art and yours is very well done! I would've liked to have seen more depth and challenge in the gameplay (such as the civilians fighting back) but it is a nice hack-and-slash nonetheless :D Great job!

    Colapsydo says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:12am

    The intro and it's FFVIIish tune, the talking scythe, the gameplay, and the quotes, everything is fantastic.

    I didn't succeeded to reach the 666 points, but I will.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:25am

    Great visuals and lovely music. The gameplay could use a little polish :3 it actually reminded me a lot of a game I once made called Ninja Furenji :P

    CappaGames says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:23am

    Awesome game. Liked the cameos, although Steve Jobs looked more like that movie critic guy (don't know his name)

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:42am

    The little sentences makes all the game! Without them, it would be a bit boring, with them, it's pretty fun to play! That was a very good idea!

    Strkl says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:06pm

    Very well done, I loved the music, the intro is AMAZING,

    I think it could have helped the mood so much if the sky and city weren't so clean and blue-skyish"

    ncannasse says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:35pm

    Nice but the "hero" moves too slowly, I felt the game lacks some dynamic

    Maple says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 2:53pm

    Great graphics, nice music. Everyone is saying it, but the intro was pretty good too. Also, the gameplay needed a bit more variety, and the reasons for death at the bottom were a nice touch.

    Spelchan says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:45pm

    Quite a fun game here. Got stuck behind the bleachers(?) first time I attempted the game. Did eventually manage to beat it though the winning text seems to be written over the previous lose text. If you are having a time limit you shouldn't have discreet levels but a single long level. Alternatively, you could have had a series of levels requiring the player to gather x souls within the time-limit.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]