Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 2 hours, 22 minutes, 33 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 2 hours, 22 minutes, 34 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Those Pesky Rogues - CoffeeOnimal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    A reverse Rogue-Like, you must stop an Adventurer from infiltrating your Dungeon!

    Made in Unity using iTween, NGUI and my Skeletor frame-work.

    Control the view-port with Arrow Keys or WASD to find the Rogue. Click on the Idols to spawn a "skeleton"..

    It's only one level so far, with no sound, and pretty basic (horrible) graphics.

    There are a few small bugs with the AI as well, but nothing that breaks it (that I know of...)

    UPDATE: I've fixed the graphics glitches in the Web Version, and "Ported" it to that platform! Pesky Rogues, now with More Accessibility!

    View CoffeeOnimal's journal. | View all entries by CoffeeOnimal

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #525Theme2.83
    #567Innovation2.43
    #588Audio1.31
    #675Humor1.57
    #717Mood1.80
    #720Overall2.17
    #729Fun1.83
    #758Graphics1.41

    Comments

    Gemberkoekje says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:07am

    This game is somewhat confusing. Also, the help text in the beginning disappears WAY too fast.

    - I like the basic idea of spawning minions.
    - I think you could've done better on how the level looks, as you did do the UI elements pretty well.
    - Could use a bit more help on what exactly you're doing, and a spawn bar between when you've clicked and when the skeleton appears.
    - Some different minions would've been nice.

    Oh, for the record, I'm just a whiner, my game wasn't all that much better :P I do see potential, I hope you can improve it and make it more fun, because I do like the idea.

    CMaster says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:50am

    Neat idea. Lacks there being much to do though, other than spam Skels whenever magic is up.

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:18pm

    @Gemberkoekje - I wanted to do more with the level design and the sprites, and had ideas for more enemies, but ran out of time. I think I'll continue playing with it. Forgot to put in the spawn bar on the idols, thanks for reminding me. Post compo version..
    @Cmaster - Thanks. Now that I've had a chance to look at it a bit more, I think the Hero needs a bit of strategic retreat in his AI repertoire. Attack balancing would help as well.

    Thanks for playing, and I appreciate your comments!

    pl0xz0rz says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:32pm

    Not a good game. Nothing to do, you're idle for 99% time, and no planning. Just spam skeles, and they will kill the hero.

    Prelucid says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:36pm

    Thanks for making a Mac game that installs easily. Managed to figure out the game without reading the instructions, pretty straight forward.

    GFM says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:50pm

    I know the rogue-like games are usually slow paced (since they are usually turn-based =X), but I found your game too slow...

    Nice idea, though!

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:51pm

    @Prelucid - I wanted a web version, but ran into issues at submission time; lesson for #26.. Thanks for playing!

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:35pm

    Help text is gone too quickly and the delay between clicking on a totem and the minion appearing is long enough the question wether anything happened.
    A faster pace would have improved this quite a bit I think. Frantic searching, spawning and fighting is better than waiting for orbs well, waiting.
    This is gentleman's combat, where people take their turns .
    Also, my skeletons have been hacking in on the hero for a while now and his HP remains at near death. FOUL PLAY I SAY!

    TuxedoFish says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:02pm

    Yeh this game could have used a bit more polishing. But you probably have your own reason for it. However what was good about this game is that you took an orignal spin on the theme and went with it and the mechanic works and is fully implemented and if you had nice artwork and sounds ect. i could see this as a really good game.

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:22pm

    Seemed to be unplayable for me, Nice design though.

    lorancou says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:27pm

    Quite nice, just took me a while to figure out what those discs were but then I had some fun cornering that pesky rogue. Nice job!

    Crowbeak says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:08am

    Nice concept. Lots of potential, with further development.

    NukeTheBunnys says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:53am

    If you made it in unity is there any reason you didn't post a web version?
    I would try and make it clearer how much heath the hero has

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:06am

    @NukeTheBunnys - Yes, I had a glitch in the graphics that meant the load screens wouldn't work. I've learned it had to do with some settings that were wrong with the NGUI cameras and I'm working on fixing those right now.

    chrismwaite says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:42pm

    The starting text disappears a little quickly. Nice concept though. The disco balls seemed to get a little stuck for me and the hero has way too much health. Shame you didn't have a little longer on it.

    Crimsoneer says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:40pm

    Interesting concept, but needs a lot more work!

    kannas says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:26pm

    Did you maybe have my same problem? got an hard time on the code part and left withut time for all the rest? if so, i understand you. even so it' s a good work :D

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:43pm

    Needs more spells, but it is a good start! If you expand upon this, I would recommend giving the player more options for spells/ abilities (more creatures to spawn for different mana amounts and possibly some standalone spells).

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:05am

    Pretty cool little ultra-stripped-down Dungeon Keeper. My minions were useless, though. I might have gone for a bit of an easier level progression.

    Arakade says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:32am

    Love the concept but fear the sprites are somewhat corrupted (perhaps that's thematic ;-) ). Sad that nothing happened when I killed the Rogue :-( (but it was fun enough that I played all the way through :-) ) I didn't get any audio (but that might just be my laptop so haven't rated for that) but some clash of swords and clatter of collapsing skeletons would really make this!
    I note you're using Unity + NGUI. I used Unity + 2D Toolkit. How do you find NGUI (generally + for this sort of thing)?
    p.s. I've fixed my game since your review <nudge, nudge> :-D

    azurenimbus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:37am

    There are some REALLY interesting ideas going on here. I really liked the possibilities and implications of this game. I think because it is in a really rough state it's a bit difficult to know how far you could take this, but I would invest in it and further develop it. Not just presentation, but gameplay itself, as well as level design.

    A diamond in the rough in my eyes. Good job!

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:58am

    @Arakade: checked out your re-submit. NGUI is good for menus and for the slider/health bars. It's a big package and can be a bit fiddly if you don't get the settings right, but it makes life so easy for HUDs and interfaces.
    @Azurenimbus: Thanks! I will work on this one further, the reception thus far has been great. I'm playing around with a level editor as well, plus more enemies to spawn.
    @StoneMonkeyStudios: I like the idea of other spells, that's something I'll think about while upgrading everything.

    To everyone that's played, thank you! I appreciate you taking the time to look at it, and those who've commented thank you for your input.

    Mezzomatto says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:50am

    Nice start. Bit easy and sometimes unclear what is happening in combat (multiple attackers). Otherwise quite cool.

    Madball says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:20pm

    It was very easy. Spawn coldown was much less than the time to kill a minion, in the end I just surronded the hero.
    The minions are somewhat stupid. I summoned them when the hero was fighting a skeleton on the way to the finish, and during the whole fight they did nothing, even the one that was in the near room.

    galman says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:29pm

    Nice idea.. If your game would be faster with more gameplay it could be great :)

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:31pm

    @Madball: I didn't playtest before finishing, so the Skele-spam method makes it all fall apart very quickly.
    The AI was my chief PITA, and ended up being a much bigger time-sink than I expected, so in the end I pared it down to what it is right now. As a result, they do some really weird things, like sitting around doing nothing. I'm not sure if that qualifies as a "bug" that I can fix per compo rules, but I'm not going to worry about it too much and just proceed with the post-compo version.
    Thanks for playing!

    Mista Koo says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:50pm

    Great concept, I could totally see it expanded into a great full game. Also the core mechanics are inseparable from the theme.

    Well done :)

    Mista Koo says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:52pm

    Forgot to say the first time I played it the player got stuck on the idol in the final room after beating a skeleton.

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:03pm

    @Mista Koo: Yes, I've found that one myself. I knew that AI hack was going to come back and bite me. Working on fixing it in the Post-Compo version, thanks for the feedback.

    Mesene says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:14pm

    I think unity isn't the best choice for this kind of games, you should probably develop it faster and get more content in other platform. But it is an interesting gameplay specially for mobile devices so keep working on it :D!

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:34pm

    This is a nice start to an interesting game. My only complaint is a lack of levels or other features. Though the concept is interesting enough to warrant some additional work for a post-compo version :D

    arhpositive says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 6:41pm

    Reverse roguelike concept is one that I'd be interested in, this is not a bad start but needs a lot more work to evolve into a better game. For instance, a few more actions that the player can do will be a good start, such as placing traps, ranged mobs, etc.

    Niavlys says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:04pm

    Well, it's unfinished, but the concept is really interesting, I like it. :)

    Spelchan says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:23am

    Clearly needs a lot more work but has potential. Big issues for me is the game seemed to stall just before the hero ran out of health. I thought the game had crashed but I was still able to scroll the map. Another problem is skeletons seemingly getting stuck and not heading towards the hero just south of them.

    Zed says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 11:16am

    Really nice idea, but it's a bit too easy to just trap the hero in a corridor and keep spawning skeletons nearby. I could see this being a fully-fledged thing, though.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]