Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 80 days, 3 hours, 32 minutes, 40 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Harold is an Executioner - PaulSB - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Harold is a guy just trying to get by in life, struggling to put food on the table for himself and his sick wife. Harold works hard. Harold has demons. Harold is an executioner.

    Essentially point-and-click, guide Harold through a working week, playing the part of heroic villain to the onlookers eager to see an execution. Please note this game contains scenes of unpleasantness.

    It also features a goat very prominently on Tuesday.

    Made with Flixel, GIMP, bfxr, FL Studio.

    View PaulSB's journal. | View all entries by PaulSB

    Ratings

    Mood4.54
    Coolness52%
    #8Theme4.37
    #81Overall3.59
    #149Innovation3.37
    #206Audio2.92
    #253Graphics3.22
    #476Fun2.62
    #663Humor1.63

    Comments

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:32am

    Jesus Christ this is depressing. I feel horrible now.

    Nice work! :P

    feiss says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:14am

    great job! nice mood and idea :)
    you may watch http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0057643/, amazing movie very related to this.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:06pm

    Whoa what a depressing story, nice work! You really nailed the mood with this.

    01010111 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:36pm

    Totally depressing, wonderful dialog. I enjoyed it for what it was!

    pbdiode says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:30am

    Excellent job!

    loren says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:46pm

    Great job, excellent mood and sound, seriously impacting.

    master4523 says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:39am

    I'm crying now.

    illugion says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:47am

    This game was really sad D: i felt bad for killing those people T-T

    huhwhozat says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:38am

    I wanted to say this was a 'good game' but then I realized just how terrible that would be. This is a well-manifested creation. I'm afraid I wasn't wowed by any aspect except the tone of the game, but all of the rest is solid.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:17pm

    God... lol... how depressing!
    nicely done!

    SuperDisk says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:55pm

    This was quite depressing! You really hit the mood nail on the head. The theme was well played as well.

    AumaanSnake says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:37am

    Wow, depressing theme... I like the conscience effect (the ghosts).

    zenmumbler says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 1:47pm

    Good to point out that villains are often just some random guy. Well done.

    Ed Okonik says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 1:53pm

    Dark

    frosty says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:09pm

    One of the best examples I've seen yet, of how to create an engaging interactive story.

    Fejuto says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 8:27pm

    Loved it! Idea: was waiting to be forced to execute my wife.

    PaulSB says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 9:46pm

    Just want to say thanks to everyone on here that voted, so pleased with the results! And yes I had many more ideas for this I didn't fit in, relating to his wife, possibly children and more...

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]