Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 6 days, 2 hours, 43 minutes, 25 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 6 days, 2 hours, 43 minutes, 26 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Drive-over - celeron55 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You drive a truck in a city.

    The game contains relatively authentic audio, a hilarious rendering engine and things you can drive over without any sensible reason.

    Controls:
    Up: Throttle
    Left/right: turn

    View celeron55's journal. | View all entries by celeron55

    Ratings

    #70Fun3.55
    #77Audio3.37
    #80Humor3.50
    #176Mood3.18
    #186Overall3.32
    #245Theme3.47
    #258Graphics3.20
    #321Innovation2.95
    #930Coolness33%

    Comments

    Zathalos says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:03am

    Hahahaha, I LOVE the audio. Pretty cool game. The art is trippy, too bad there's not much to do. Overall, great job!

    Dr. Mo says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:09am

    How evil! How fun! What better interpretation of the theme could there possibly be? Genius! Too bad there isn't much of a game here. Good work doing 3D in a Ludum Dare!

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:41am

    Ace graphics, 2d/3d hybrid, very nice.

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:23pm

    A great stress reliever. The car physics are nice. If you want to make some improvements, then maybe add some gore effects :I.

    celeron55 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:42pm

    @SamoojaMies: I intended to add blood that would eventually obstruct your view very badly, but was too lazy to get to do that. 8) Sorry!

    Felix20 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:42pm

    nice, were those short brown things goats?
    Audio was good, graphics fit the theme well.
    It gets old after only a little bit, but otherwise pretty good

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:52am

    From the first screenshot it reminded me of Envirobear 2000.

    This game definitely needs some windscreen wipers. :D

    hadesfury says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:06am

    This game is a high fidelity rendering of what it's like for me to drive to work everyday. The visual atmosphere, the sound, even the virtual cockpit is as real as it gets ;)
    This game is all about fun. Nothing else.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:27am

    lol... that is evil and fun!

    Ariake81 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:04pm

    Envirobear!!!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:01am

    That's one hairy arm.

    Tom 7 says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:12pm

    Haha. I had a good smile at this! The audio is very good; the graphics are charming and funny. I thought the graphics seemed a bit buggy, particularly when I turned. Would have been quite fun with a goal or race or something!

    Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:14pm

    Wacko. Love the pseudo-3D sprite engine style.

    angela says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:53pm

    the audio was excellent, and I love the game mechanics. The [i] for info and [c] for controls didn't work for me though, so I couldn't see a score or anything. But I know how difficult it was to get everything working in 48 hours.

    angrygeometry says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 1:00pm

    i love this. it looks, sounds and plays wonderfully.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]