Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 80 days, 22 hours, 2 minutes, 0 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon)

    Mike is still working. That’s you’re tease until he’s done. :)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Happiness - rxi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Use the mouse and its left button. Click and drag to move your view. Press F3 for 3x scaled window.

    I wanted this entry to be an exploration in "ambient gaming", so I appreciate that it won't be for a lot of people. If you get frustrated trying to work out what's going on, the overview and instructions are below:



    --- Overview:

    You play as a malicious supernatural being spectating an office building. You have very little power over the world except for the ability to render electrical equipment broken for a short amount of time, even this power is limited. You want nothing more than to see the world void from happiness.


    --- Instructions:

    Clicking and dragging anywhere on the screen will move your view port.

    You can click on electrical equipment to deprive people from using it for a short time, the time can be extended by clicking the equipment again, doing this uses energy which slowly replenishes at the bottom of the screen. You can hover over people to see their current statistics, these are shown in a bubble above their head in the following order:

    - green : fatigue
    - blue : thirst
    - orange : hunger
    - purple : boredom
    - red : happiness

    The overall happiness of the building is shown at the top of the screen, when this reaches zero (even if only for a moment) you will move to the next level.

    View rxi's journal. | View all entries by rxi

    Ratings

    #18Graphics4.33
    #88Innovation3.63
    #112Mood3.32
    #210Audio2.91
    #279Theme3.42
    #288Overall3.13
    #475Humor2.20
    #608Fun2.29
    #742Coolness46%

    Comments

    Smaxx says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:31am

    Hm, I don't think I really understood the game. I can click on printers and water dispensers, but besides the timer nothing is happening? Should I keep people from using them by keeping the timers active? What are the bars above people's heads? Not sure whether it's intentional, but there doesn't seem to be music, just that persistent deep tone? This would work, but it's too loud and there should be at least some additional notes (maybe I just missed on that). You'll definitely need a better description though.

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:42pm

    I really like the graphics and the concept, but i think what will disturb people is the lack of reaction from little budies, maybe in a future version you could had some tiny icon to make us think "oh so you wanted some coffee ? TOO BAD !"

    TheCze says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:42pm

    Very nice game, I liked the graphics but a bigger window would be nice.

    Sanguine says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:48pm

    The graphics and sound were really nice, I couldn't get the last few % of happiness down though :(

    rxi says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:52pm

    @TheCze

    > a bigger window would be nice.

    You can get a bigger game window by hitting F3, which will scale by 3x instead of 2x. If you meant being able to see more of the game area, that's understandable, but it's one of them things I consider and would have usually decided on from play testing, unfortunately no play testing took place.


    @Edocentrique

    > lack of reaction from little budies, maybe in a future version you could had some tiny icon to make us think "oh so you wanted some coffee ? TOO BAD !"

    I was going to have little icons to indicate when they're talking or drinking water or crying or thinking about doing something, but I'd ran out of time and it was one of the features I ended up leaving out. Don't worry though, you can still gain pleasure from depriving them from using a vending machine while their hunger bar increases.

    lucky.luddite says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:31pm

    I love the office-worker's head bob. Great sound effects too.

    KWL_TW says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:06am

    Great artwork!

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:07pm

    I like the graphics and I love the idea of the concept. Although I don't see any feedbacks of my actions, since the happiness counter keeps going down in a linear way. I don't understand why I can't interact with other objects like laptop and elevators, and I see no expression or feedback on the face of the humans.
    Great potential and atmosphere, but I fear that it missed its target.

    sanderman says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:11pm

    I Love the concept. It is really strong I think.

    Implementation needs a bit of work to really shine. The little guys really need to show when they are doing something, or being deprived of something. Those 'need' bars need some clarification, maybe with icons. Also, how do I influence boredom? Is that the copy machines? What about fatigue?

    Other than those minor issues. It's a great game. Really nice.

    delpes says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:22pm

    Great game :) Depriving them of food and water was enough to make them unhappy. Tried to get them all on one floor/ in one corner by disabling only certain machines. Dunno if it work tough or i was just being lucky :)

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:59pm

    Love this art style. Who hates pixels?

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:04pm

    lack of response of the characters to what I was doing was kind of meh, other than that a pretty cool and original idea :). You weren't really seeing them trying to access something either. Unfortunately all you do is just clicking around, not much of a challenging aspect to it.

    I say, post-jam version! :)

    berareu says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:39pm

    Great idea, with more stuff like reactions from the workers and more interaction it could become even better!
    I didn't really like the music though, it was very distracting

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:10am

    The gameplay wasn't very intuitive, I didn't feel like anything I did had any affect on the world. The ambient sound gets extremely loud at points. I loved the art style. A post-compo version with visual queues would be wodnerful.

    JaJ says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:42pm

    The audio gave me a headache at first. I guess I had my volume up too high. The visual style was charming, but I felt the game lacked a goal, as it didn't seem possible to ever get the happyness down to 0%

    JaJ says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 11:07am

    Good use of theme too, by the way!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]