Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 0 hours, 14 minutes, 37 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 0 hours, 14 minutes, 38 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Victor Grozny - DustyStylus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    *******
    UPDATE - AAAAAAAARGH!!! Just click-drag up/down the knobs to rotate them. Sorry, I didn't realise people were trying to do fancy sexy things like circle them... just click drag up/down it'll make life a bit easier for you! ;______;
    *******

    You are Victor Grozny, absolute ruler, absolute tyrant and absolutely NOT in the mood to allow insurgents to take over your rightful place as ruler.

    Monitor the communications of the enemy with your "insurgent compass", track their signals, let them talk for a few seconds and then the Inquisitor will take care of them.

    But be quick! The more buildings fall to the influence of the enemy, the sooner your reign of terror will be at an end!

    Engine: Unity, C# Scripting
    Music & FX: Cubase, Synapse Audio DUNE, NI Kontakt
    Art: Photoshop CS6, Blender

    UPDATE - Linux (x86 and x86_64 versions now available!)

    View DustyStylus's journal. | View all entries by DustyStylus

    Ratings

    Coolness96%
    #17Audio3.79
    #38Innovation3.91
    #43Mood3.67
    #134Graphics3.62
    #210Theme3.55
    #237Overall3.23
    #358Fun2.85
    #434Humor2.30

    Comments

    wccrawford says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 8:28pm

    Not bad! I could see this working with some plot and objectives.

    I think it's be more fun with 4 physical knobs, too. The mouse was a big hard to control.

    tim_u says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:23am

    Keyboard input for the dials would have helped. Or sliders instead of knobs. Mice just don't like to go in circles. (At least mine doesn't....)

    Cy4n1d says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:27am

    "Control" is a little bit to hard. Nice idea.

    bwdevel says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:28am

    Great concept. It's a fun game, but i"m not a big fan of the knobs. While some will like the mouse, perhaps some keyboard shortcuts would have been nice to have, pehaps WASD for the left two knobs and arrows for the right two knobs.

    But still a great game overall.

    feili says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:28am

    Nice idea, and good mood and innovation... after a while you just want something to happen though. =)

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:59am

    Thanks guys! Alas, it's only after the submission deadline I realise how blatantly obvious it should have been to me to use the mouse to control the X-Y and the buttons + drag (or keys) to control the other values. >___<

    Oh well, LD is a learning experience! :D

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:30am

    The feeling and audio in this is very nice. The idea of monitoring communication is rarely seen as well.

    Mezzomatto says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:40pm

    Nicely put together, great gameplay ideas and excellently gloomy villain. I'd love to see this expanded.

    Rialgar says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:22pm

    Great game, I personaly think the knob-controlls add to the atmosphere, allthough it seemed to me as if they only responded to up and down movement.
    Making the knobs stop at min/max value would have helped to recognize the end of the frequency/descrambler spectrum.

    Winterblood says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:12pm

    Nice idea and VERY polished implementation. I agree that the knobs could have done with a more intuitive UI, and it would be nice to see something happen to indicate when you'd missed an insurgent and they damaged a building. Audio very good, too. The blend of Eastern Europe with somewhat steampunk tech is unusual :)

    metadept says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:39pm

    Great job! Once I figured out how the dials worked, it was pretty satisfying to track down targets, and the sounds are particularly effective. I found myself wishing that the indicators were some kind of volume bars instead of just light colors, to make it easier to tell when they're full vs almost full.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:43pm

    beautiful mood and audio!... enjoying the tuning process.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:46pm

    The positioning is very precise and it's more a battle against time before you lose than actual tactics, but still fun enough. I never had to change the freq and descramble buttons much, they stayed the same more or less throughout, which is good because the constantly moving insurgents made things hard enough!

    Awesome audio and graphics. Very nicely done.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:05pm

    The controlls were a bit too clunky, that kinda ruins the game, but the idea is very original, just wish it didn't had those controlls.

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:15pm

    Incredibly innovative gameplay, very original!

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:37am

    This is an amazing concept. It's quite difficult but the execution is nearly flawless and the atmosphere compelling.

    killmonday says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:29pm

    Awesome dystopian 1984 mood!

    Pixelboy_85 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:39pm

    Very innovative, great sound design. Intense gameplay. Has a certain Amiga vibe to it. My highest rating yet. Good job!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:17pm

    This is a cool concept. Unfortunately for me, "being quick" and tuning 4 rotary nobs with slighly painful response levels was beyond my abilities. Nice aesthetic, would like to see this developed further. I might use keyboard keys for tuning rather than "drag to tune".

    ElScootro says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:56pm

    Nice idea and fun music! I agree with the other folks who said you might want to experiement with other input methods, my mouse was hard to use for this.

    DragonKN says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:11pm

    nice work with audio =)

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:02pm

    prod looks gorgeous and ideams are there...but controls are a bit hard for a "cool" feeling.

    ahmed.majd says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:55pm

    this is a new mechanics, i just like it

    JFlegle says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:59am

    A well made game. The dials are a little hard to turn at first.

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:58pm

    Oh! You can drag up/down to turn the dials! Argh, I just realised people are trying to circle them. D:

    Birchmountain says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:29pm

    I really cool concept but unfortunately i couldn't get the hang of it. I miss some clear instructions. But still looks great and really stands out. Good job!

    rftr says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:32pm

    Excellently done! A lot of fun, but the outstanding feature is the audio design -- executed perfectly.

    blob says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:40pm

    Very nice idea, and great character design ! I didnt get any audio in firefox, but worked in Chrome. I personally didnt have issue controlling with the mouse.
    It seems to take too much time to lose though, didnt have the patience to see what happens.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:55pm

    Nice try. It lacks something but there is a very good ambience ;)

    iandioch says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 10:02pm

    A really interesting concept, but just a tiny bit too fiddly D: I really liked how the audio synced with the gameplay though.

    ddionisio says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 7:31pm

    Pretty good concept. I love the atmosphere! I the graphics and audio worked really well together. Thanks for the tip on how to effectively move the knobs. :P

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]