Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 23 days, 22 hours, 2 minutes, 11 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Missile Rider - rylgh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You are a ROCKET-SURFING KILLING MACHINE created by FROG. Destroy the NAVY. Or something along those lines.

    <<CONTROLS>>
    LEFT and RIGHT to <MOVE>
    UP to <ROCKET FEET>
    DOWN to <SWEET MISSILE GRAB>

    <<INSTRUCTIONS>>
    Get GENERIC YELLOW ORBS for <MULTIPLIER BONUS>
    Destroy NAVY for <POINTS>

    View rylgh's journal. | View all entries by rylgh

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #34Innovation3.95
    #89Fun3.47
    #111Overall3.51
    #139Audio3.12
    #181Humor3.09
    #228Mood3.05
    #329Graphics3.03
    #483Theme2.93

    Comments

    Scott McBee says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:44am

    Damn hard controls, enjoyed it, though.

    monomanio says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:49am

    Hah, that was cool. Very hard, but very interesting :)

    Zazibar says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:51am

    Controls are quite difficult, liked the music.

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:54am

    Wow, hard. I like it. I'll come back to this one!

    Spierek says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:55am

    Hard to control, but really enjoyable.

    sanderman says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:57am

    Which sadist designed those controls? Never mind. It's a great game though. :) Amazing concept.

    Freakill says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:57am

    Wow really difficult controls, took me some tries before undertsanding what was going on hehehe. Nice game though.

    Manuel777 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:43am

    Takes some tries before getting the hang of the gameplay, but after that it gets nicer :)

    rylgh says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:28am

    I was having a bug (where the camera wouldn't move with you, and the water seemed more solid than water should be), and it seemed to be caused by... pushing the PLAY button... I have been using the undocumented push-space-to-start method, which doesn't seem to cause the bug.

    Anyway, I hope the reason you all thought it was tough wasn't simply because it was broken. It is a very hard game even when it is working correctly! Took out the play button for now.

    If the bug still happens for you, I'd be curious to know. Can't seem to get it to happen when I push space to start, and too tired to try to figure out the cause right now!

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:59pm

    Hard but so worth playing ^_^

    Slushy says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:26pm

    I had heaps of fun with this!

    glbs says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:39pm

    I just spent HALF AN HOUR on this, trying to get a score higher than two!!! Loved it (first crush on 22 :)

    char68 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:04pm

    Such an awesome game, I can hardly believe you made it in just this one weekend :) Controls were difficult to get used to, but in a good way. Once I had them down well enough it was really cool to try out different missile riding tricks. It seems like a rough learning curve, but it's fun even to only get a score of 2. Thanks for that experience!

    loren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:25am

    This was awesome, played for a while :) Great music loop and physics!

    xandy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:05am

    hard but fun!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:28am

    Neat idea but I suck at it. I think I killed one ship in 10 tries :) Music was perfect and not annoying and added the experience. Work on the controls, which are very hard, and you have a winning idea? Maybe there are just too many rockets in the air leading to constant collisions (was in my case anyway). In the end it's too easy to fall and die and get frustrated.

    dalbinblue says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:21am

    Oh my am I bad at this game. I made only one point in all 10 attempts at playing and that was accidental. The game is hard to control and the only thing I seemed to be able to do was boost down into the sea.

    Rabbits... says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:28am

    I love this game! Can't put it down, good job!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:48am

    Wow, this was painfully difficult.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:09am

    Quite challenging, fun nonetheless!

    boena says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:24am

    Really hard! Nice sounds :)

    LevelUp says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:37am

    Fun but incredibly hard

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:42am

    Holy cow that was awesome

    Will Edwards says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:48pm

    What a deliciously simple use of a physics engine!

    luke161 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:53pm

    Looks really promising, great fun, but very hard :p

    Slushy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:12pm

    really enjoyed this , nailed the fun factor for me

    tompudding says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:38pm

    Easy to grasp, but difficult to master. Awesome work!

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:40pm

    Super hard, but I loved it.
    Good idea and really fun!

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:16pm

    Nicely done, very slick and fun.

    rylgh says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:33pm

    @Will Edwards: no physics engine :)

    CireNeikual says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:24pm

    I like the idea! The controls are a bit difficult, especially since I keep bouncing off the bottom of the rockets.

    TijmenTio says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:55pm

    Kept me playing for awhile, but the controls are really really hard. And sometimes if felt like the left and right arrow keys send me turning the opposite direction of what would seem logical to me.

    raarlac says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:08pm

    I can't even describe how amazing this game is.
    Is incredible how you can get a high score in just a few seconds or you can play for long minutes and don't get even a top 10.
    Release a iPhone version with accelerometer control, touch to jump, online scores and I would play it forever.
    5/5

    rylgh says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:26pm

    I agree that the controls are a bit unintuitive visually, if you expect that â and â are going to turn your dude in that *relative* direction. What the controls do is accelerate your guy in that *absolute* direction, so if you're falling down, pressing â will slow your fall, even though it appears that you're boosting down into the ocean.

    rylgh says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:27pm

    Sigh, if those arrows are showing up as well for you as they are for me, they were, respectively:
    < > ^

    rylgh says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:38pm

    And thanks very much everyone for your comments! I agree this game is hard as hell... but I'm having fun trying to get to the top of my own leaderboards again, even if I ragequit every five minutes.

    ahm99 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:49pm

    That was fun! A LOT OF FUN! I'll probably play it again later. I did have trouble getting a score higher than 3, but still fun :)

    raarlac says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:54pm

    It would be nice if you could control the speed of the missiles, even if just a little. Like, if you are falling, it boost speed.

    rylgh says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:04pm

    @raarlac: thanks for the good suggestions!

    bwdevel says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:20pm

    Frustrating in a good way.

    Flai says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:19pm

    I liked it, but as already mentioned before, controls were a bit difficult/uniniutive

    raarlac says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:30pm

    This is how I feel playing this game http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TgkRBTY8-zU

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:10pm

    Loved it! Got a score of 14, as well!

    It's really tough...

    LTyrosine says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:47pm

    Best game I played at LD25 so far! Furious gameplay, very challenging and fun

    cooper6581 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:51pm

    Using firefox here and nothing comes up. Only thing I see is a pink page with a link to "More Games".

    rylgh says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:01pm

    Weird, just tested on Firefox on OS X. Are you on windows? Can you see if it works in a different browser?

    Alex Rose says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:08pm

    I'm really, really terrible at this game, but it's amazing. Love the controls, love the physics, love the idea, charming graphics, appropriate music - It was great.

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:13pm

    damn hard to get the hand of, but funny and awesome as hell.

    Mase says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:13am

    Really fun concept, effective graphics. I wish the level scrolled infinitely. I was compelled to play it about 15 times, and eventually achieved an impressive high score of 2.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:30am

    That game is really great, perfect game design.

    dek says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:57am

    I liked the unique gameplay and the fact that it is running pretty good! The "messages" are strange but funny!

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:18am

    Fun looking game, but I just couldn't get the hang of the controls, it was quite confusing. Wish I could figure it out!

    Faust says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:29am

    Interesting game with holy hard control!!

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:08am

    Very challenging! But, once you destroy your first ship, you're compelled to yell "HELL YES! GOT ONE!" Great job and bonus for adding a Leaderboard! :D

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:42am

    Cool idea. Nice and hard and fun to play.

    mutuware says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:09am

    Tough but fun.

    jujule says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:13am

    Oh boy, I didn't manage to score more than 1 point in more than 20 tries but I love it.
    I am amazed at the consistency of the work : simple but efficient gameplay, simple but beautiful graphics, simple but funny music and sound fx.
    I'll bookmark this one.

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:43pm

    Really enjoyed it, quite challenging but still fun. The taunting at the high score screen is great...

    JaJ says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:46pm

    This is a bit too hard to play for me. You get little sense of movement when there is just one missle on the screen and nothing else. It's also not clear where the borders of the playing field are. These things make the game even harder than it already is. I do really like the concept.

    wally2069 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:04pm

    Really tough game but having each play-through give a tip was a very nice touch.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:20pm

    Very cool but quite hard! A lot of fun to be had here!

    dvdking says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:21pm

    Great concept! It requires some adjustments though, but overall it is awesome.

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:28pm

    enjoyable...but hard to control :)

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:50pm

    Very fun and interesting game, but kind of tricky.

    nitramgc says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:41pm

    Haha, nice gameplay mechanics.

    But the game is freaking hard. My best score is... 1 !

    It took me a while to figure out that in fact that increasing the score was not done by exploding missiles between them nor collecting coins... but by destroying ships haha.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:36am

    Very challenging, pretty good overall! :)

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:00am

    Very difficult, awesome new idea though! Cool graphics. Great work!

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:57am

    It's like a mix of Contra 3's missile riding boss fight and battleship. Fun idea but too frustrating for me to get into. Good idea and humour.

    Gemberkoekje says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:28pm

    Hm, can't install unity on my home comp. I'll try it at home though~!

    brantkings says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:30pm

    Prety cool game!

    But you should change the controlls, they get inverted when you are upside down (if you are falling upside down, when you turn left, the guys turns right, which happens to be the left side of the screen, but it is impossible to play with this, when you are moving up and you starts getting down, the controlls sudenly change the sides..)

    rylgh says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:30pm

    @brantkings: try thinking of the controls as MOVING your character, not STEERING him.

    raincole says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:20pm

    Very good game. The balancing technic is the best part.

    mmorphinee says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:24pm

    Didn't get how to play unfortunately. My best score is 2 :D

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:38pm

    Crikey this is hard, but what a superb concept! Has a cool 16bit feel to it as well.

    DrSuperSocks says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:31am

    Horrible controls, but pretty addicting

    Andrey Pradun says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:39am

    Very fun gameplay!

    zkenshin says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:50pm

    Very difficult but very fun gameplay.

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:49pm

    Damn your game is hard... I tried to be at least it the top score but I failed :(

    rinaka says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:35pm

    Nice concept! It takes a while to get used to the controls (particularly moving over the missile to steer and remembering to grab it at the proper times) but it is fun.

    As a suggestion, I think it would be helpful to have a more zoomed-out view or some sort of mini map. At times it is hard to know if there are ships or missiles nearby.

    illugion says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:51am

    This was really cool it had some kind of retro feeling to it, i liked that :D

    Smaxx says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:12am

    Interesting idea, although I agree: It's a tad bit too hard and I blame the controls/physics.

    nilstastic says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:07pm

    Good: Excellent difficulty level (developer setting?) and great sound (punch out!).
    Improve: a tiiiny bit to hard =) Also no goat.

    chribbe1 says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:25pm

    Awesome. Fun to play and the whole experience is very polished. It's a good challenge though. Maybe it would be a good idea if it started off a bit easier to ease new players into it. Great job!

    pereubu says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:03pm

    cmon so fucking hard to play, but i still can't stop xD

    Mesene says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:36pm

    >.<

    just 2... why I'm so bad?

    ENDESGA says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:32pm

    nice!

    Fortyseven says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:13am

    Love the retro ambiance, and the idea is pretty cool. Controls were a bit touchy, but with some tweaking this might be really fun. :)

    Bouyer says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:18am

    This is extremely awesome! I can't tell you how much fun this is! My only complaint: the ceiling is too low.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:58pm

    A wall of fame ! Nice !! I had difficulties to understand how to survive and control my moves, but it's really original ! Well done :)

    SimianLogic says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:27pm

    Really really hard, but kinda fun.

    Dec 25, 2012 @ 1:02pm

    Fun control-scheme!

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:37am

    Pretty cool but soooooooo hard!
    I like the physic on missile this is a great feature that make the gameplay more fun and interresting!

    Sergey Mohov says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:28pm

    This is a true NES-style hardcore game, congrats!

    DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:57am

    What a learning curve! Thought of some ways to make things more straightforward, I'm sure you could too. Nice job otherwise though :)

    CappaGames says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 8:02pm

    Like the controls, adds difficulty and a unique way of playing.

    GameRespect says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 5:52am

    Fun game. I like the aesthetic, the music, and the sound effects, though it was difficult getting used to the controls.

    Jan 2, 2013 @ 3:44am

    I don't think I ever got the hang of these controls, which is a shame because the graphics, sounds, and visual style are all top-notch. It's funny and cute, but I never felt like I could intentionally do anything I wanted to.

    rubna says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:46pm

    Very hard, but REALLY fun. Great idea! You should polish it some more and release it on like IOS or something. You'd be VERY rich. I see this being the next jetpack joyride game, but this would actually be fun ;)

    ddionisio says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:07pm

    Really hard to get used to the controls...as soon as I jump, all hell breaks loose. It gets more fun as you get a hang of the controls. I like the sound effects of the dialog and a nice music. Props for online score!

    leafo says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:41am

    This is really challenging in a good way. It's a lot of fun. I was able to get 2 points haha. Great game! Cool idea.

    Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:54pm

    Frustrating but fun!. Controls are a bit hard to master but it's a very innovative entry. Congratz.

    Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:47am

    I feel like this is too frustratingly hard to be as much fun as its potential.

    Just a couple mechanics that favor the player instead of screwing with the player would make this a whole lot more enjoyable. Like being able to jump upwards past missiles instead of being knocking downwards off of them, or explosions from missiles always shooting you at least a little upwards (instead of quite often firing you down at the sea), or a little bit better air control (like whenever you land on a missile you get back all your flying power), or something. I think a couple too many things interfere with the player as it stands, I felt more often than not I would die to no fault of my own.

    Maybe just if the start of a game was a little more straight forward and then it ramps up the difficulty/complexity (to the current difficulty) it would feel a bit more satisfying?

    Though it's a very cool, very elegant design. I must have tried beating my highscore of six twenty or thirty times.

    impulse9 says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 1:03am

    Cool game. Loved the quirky movement and funny sound effects. :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]