Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 16 days, 16 hours, 49 minutes, 23 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Destroy All Heroes - Vennril - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    My second Ludum Dare entry. Woot!
    The game is written in javascript/HTML5 and should run across all major browsers.

    Defend your rightfully stolen gold against the endless swarm of wannabe heroes!

    Controls: Arrows/WASD + Mouse

    Hope you enjoy! :)

    View Vennril's journal. | View all entries by Vennril

    Ratings

    #13Graphics4.40
    #48Fun3.65
    #65Overall3.65
    #134Mood3.26
    #178Theme3.63
    #181Humor3.09
    #556Audio1.56
    #608Innovation2.33
    #776Coolness45%

    Comments

    Cosmologicon says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:04am

    Really amazing graphics. You obviously put a whole lot of work into them. But I think it would have been better to invest some of that time into tweaking the gameplay. There's a really steep difficulty curve, and there doesn't seem to be a lot of gameplay variety (although I was never able to survive very long to see). The camera could also be a lot more responsive - I shouldn't be able to run off the screen.

    NuSan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:43am

    Cool game, beautifull graphics, and the gameplay is straighforward but fun. It's difficult, specialy when you block yourself in a corner ^^

    emveyh says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:56am

    I really liked the graphics. Cool game. A few upgrades would make it more fun, though :)

    ignlg says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:15pm

    I love it! I missed some sound/music.

    yokcos700 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:03pm

    I killed the Real Hero!
    Could do with some gameplay variety, and maybe a shallower difficulty curve. But otherwise, very good. I particularly like the variety of hero names.

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:43pm

    It's very cool !

    AlexFili says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:08pm

    Great game, a little short but still very fun. I like the graphics especially

    sanojian says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:30pm

    Great graphics. Nice controls and feeling. Not enough content.

    loren says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:47pm

    Very fun! Love the art style

    De10ter says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:10pm

    Fun.
    Performance became a bit of an issue for me after a minute or so (using firefox if that matters), cursor would stick making targeting sluggish/difficult.
    Maybe a little too fast though, felt overwhelmed very quickly and noticed different her names(/types?) but was in no position to evaluate them/their differences/tactics (if any)

    sletari says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:50pm

    Great! I really like the camera. Would like to have a link to the source, since the deployed version is minified

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:19pm

    Seriously needs sound to complete the package because your graphics are REALLY charming. With a few tweaks and some balancing, this could be AWESOMELY addicting.

    feiss says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:20pm

    Great great! amazing, fantastic job! the sounds are really missed, and some blood too.. but I know, I know, no time.. :D

    raincole says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:57pm

    It makes me laugh that there are more than one 'the chosen one'...

    TheSheep says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:05pm

    Classic gameplay, but really well done and enjoyable.

    BenW says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:12pm

    I love the artwork, I just wish there was bit more gameplay to go along with it and the lack of sound is even more obvious when the artwork is so great.

    Meep says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:16pm

    The graphics are amazing, and the gameplay is pretty solid. :) It might benefit from distinguishing between your projectiles and the heroes' projectiles, but that's not too important. The occasional speech bubbles were a very nice touch too.

    Casino Jack says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:24pm

    Really great graphics and smooth gameplay. Would love to see some additional feedback when you hit/kill an enemy (e.g. particle effects) and, of course, sounds+music.

    rxi says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:57pm

    Really nice work. The visuals and lighting were great and the controls felt solid, everything moved smoothly. The game play was simple but it was an overall enjoyable experience. Loved the little speech bubbles too, really added a little character to it all.

    soy_yuma says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:06pm

    It's true that feels a bit shallow, but I enjoyed it a lot :-)

    Vennril says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:51pm

    Thanks for the feedback everyone! Glad you enjoyed it :)

    AhNinniah says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:58pm

    Really fun game with great graphics! But I was killed very quick :(

    Cryovat says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:58pm

    I loved this one, it's really cute. The graphics were perfect for it! :)

    With a little more variety in the enemies and maybe upgrades between waves you'll have a great web game on your hands. :D


    Btw: I had one small technical hickup; in Chrome the background didn't render. Worked fine in Firefox though. (Ubuntu 12.10)

    jerombd says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:18pm

    Nice graphics; the gameplay is simple but solid.
    It's really too bad you didn't have more time to add sounds/musics and all the other ideas you had :/

    atrodo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:28am

    Very fun and very nice looking.

    jfroco says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:20am

    Super beautiful!!!! it's sad you didnt hava time to make sounds or music, they would have added a lot of value. I was hoping that gold had a more important role in the gameplay. Congrats.... source code?

    Oreganik says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:17am

    xxx hero95 xxx ... that guy uses h4x 4 real. SO OP. lol

    Beautiful pixel art, great controls. If this were something other than a compo entry, I'd complain that the heroes don't actually try and take the actual gold. Giving the player something to worry about besides their own health bar (liking picking up coins dropped by slaughtered heroes) might tick this up from "interesting" to "addictive." =)

    KWL_TW says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:00am

    Pretty fun, love the pixel art!

    RipX says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:03am

    Really nice graphics, enjoyed playing. Would have liked some sound but that's usually my omission too :) Definitely like to see it fleshed out and better balanced.

    Ludonaut says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:38pm

    Cool graphics, very well done. The mechanics remind me a bit of Realm of the Mad God.

    borso says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:18pm

    Fun gameplay, natural controls. A bit too simple, but it's quite polished( still needs some good audio though). I love the hero names!

    Husky says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:08am

    Beautiful pixel art!
    And the hero is like green Finn of Adventure Time lol.

    namuol says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:02am

    A solid arena shooter! The names and talk bubbles add a lot of charm. Excellent entry!

    (Please add sound/music for a post-compo version!)

    gnx says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:25pm

    Excellent graphics and seems to play pretty solid too. Liking the speech bubbles and other little touches.

    Gameplays has issues in being a bit too hard and simplistics, some sort of secondary mechanic to shooting would've been nice. Also no audio is a shame in such a nice looking game.

    dev_redant says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:45pm

    Sweeeeet game! The gameplay was a bit on the short side (could've had some upgrades, etc.) but the game is very polished and overall well-done. The graphics are beautiful and fluid. Great job! Probably one of my favorites so far.

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:57am

    Nice graphics and gameplay! The interpretation of the theme is a bit easy though...

    sPe says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:09am

    Really great graphics besides the missing audio. +1 for Oreganiks suggestion that heroes could actually try to steal the gold :). But the game has some real individual charm.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]