Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 5 hours, 59 minutes, 39 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Kill Ville - ConflictiveLabs - Jam Entry

    Our second team entry on LD25. Your job is to watch over a tiny peaceful city and find the person behind a series of murders.
    Once you've found the culprit you'll have to point your finger at him and yell "YOU ARE THE VILLAIN!"


    NOTE: If the web version is running to slow and you are using Chrome, try going to chrome://plugins and click on "[+] Details". Check the flash plugin you are using. If you have more than one, and one of them is "PepperFlash" try disabling that one, and run the game again.

    View ConflictiveLabs's journal. | View all entries by ConflictiveLabs

    Ratings

    Coolness71%
    #14Fun(Jam)3.82
    #17Innovation(Jam)3.90
    #18Mood(Jam)3.82
    #20Overall(Jam)3.84
    #26Theme(Jam)4.00
    #28Audio(Jam)3.70
    #60Humor(Jam)3.24
    #113Graphics(Jam)3.50

    Comments

    Floko says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:44am

    Pretty fun!!
    I liked the music a lot, really brings that "mystery" feeling into the game. I had fun, nice game =]

    WiseGAMER says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:53am

    NICE Game! very new idea!

    chas says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:00am

    Bravo! Great job in implementation and in concept

    Cryovat says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:01am

    I had a lot of fun with this one. Played several rounds. Would like to see the concept explored further. :-)

    saguaro says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:17am

    Very cool. I enjoyed this one.

    lmattos says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:14am

    Awesome

    csanyk says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:03am

    Great non-obvious use of theme. Superb mood. I found the game was extremely difficult, spotting the clues and finding a matching suspect all but impossible, but it's terrific. Good humor, too.

    Intoxicatious says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:41am

    Pretty fun. Murders didn't happen soon enough. I sat for a long while, but still fun.

    dremelofdeath says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:56am

    I love the creative use of the theme. The music really makes it, and the things that people say makes the game that much more interesting. Great work!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:23am

    Fun game! The music is perfectly suited for the game and the idea is quite original. Played several times but always found the villain a bit too easily after a few seconds. But overall a very creative game!

    killmonday says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:00pm

    Fun game! Got the sucker right after his first kill :) Loved the mood of it

    01101101 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:07pm

    Nice gameplay, it's fun to watch the crowd and search for the killer. Nice take on the theme, the title screen is kinda misleading given the in-game graphics though. Good job :)

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:08pm

    Really nice, I think I'll bookmark it for later!

    illugion says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:37pm

    That was really fun, i played it many times just to see if i could get him before he kills anyone but i think there are no clues to do that XD

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:53pm

    Well, the killer has a tendency to follow his victims until he can commit the crime. If you happen to spot the dude while he is purposefully stalking his victim you can theoretically catch him before he takes down his target.

    CireNeikual says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:59pm

    Nice concept and music! Makes it tense!

    monobo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:34pm

    Really nice take on the theme! The suspect pilled 4 poor victims before I got him ;) , was fun to get him, gameplay felt really polished!

    scriptorum says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:08pm

    Nice take. I think the scoring should better reflect the number of victims. I took down a guy pretty quick before he killed anyone because he was right on the heels of another. But my best score was a guy who -- even quicker -- killed immediately and I tagged him running away.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:06am

    Very very fun!!! Lovely gameplay, lovely graphics, lovely mood. Top marks!!

    azurenimbus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:56am

    Wow, so good. Unbelievably fun, and the whole mood of the game just literally sent shivers up my spine. Great job, guys.

    A suggestion to make it even better would be to have a way to figure out who the killer is before any crime is committed. Some kind of suspicious activity. Unless that's there already and I missed it.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:58am

    Also, very cool take on the theme, I thought it was pretty original, interpreting the theme as the accusation.

    Mase says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:19am

    Loved the voice balloons.

    I tried clicking on newspapers, expecting them to offer some clue.

    Wuhao says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:48am

    LOVE the music, solid score for mood.
    If there are room for improvement, i suggest that you could add other kind of clues than just verbal clues from witnesses

    rylgh says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:42am

    very nice! the way people give you clues about the criminal is neat, and the interpretation of the theme is so clever...

    eraldo says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:33am

    Very nice game.
    Random guessing helps save all victims. :)
    The music does a great deal in this game.

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:35am

    Nice take on the Theme. It's like a real-time peking mysteries (I loved this game so much as a child). I didn't use much the following feature, with the smart glass. Hints given are enough to find the criminal. I played twice, and twice I solved the mystery in one minute with three clues. I didn't find it difficult.

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:05pm

    It's really fun !

    Gornova says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:33pm

    Best Jam game IMHO. It's an awesome idea! :D well done!!

    brantkings says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:57pm

    I don't have words to tell what you accomplished here. Good work!

    Mista Koo says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:58pm

    It's interesting to find two entries with this unique take on the theme. Although each played differently.
    Love the title screen art. Also superb use of sound and music.

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:08pm

    Coolcoolcool!
    Like the concept, and great realisation!

    TheMelon says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:09am

    Love this game. Great idea and well implemented for the time period. There is potential in scope, but the simple mechanics you have work well.

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 1:44pm

    Short but well made and very polished. Was fun to play! You should consider something to prevent the following behavior: Starting a game, waiting for the first murder and then click on some guy near the murder on which the description fits. There is no need to go deeper. If he's it not, it's easier to restart the game ^^.

    zkenshin says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:54pm

    Quite enjoyable. :)

    Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:35am

    This is a great idea :D

    chambers says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:53am

    excelent gameplay idea, excelent execution, excelent mood/audio. Thumbs up! I like the title screen art.

    cardboard says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:42pm

    Lots of fun!
    Very polished game.

    cardboard says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:42pm

    Lots of fun!
    Very polished game.
    I had to download the Windows version so I can play this again later :)

    saulotti says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 1:15pm

    Looks like my submitted game =)
    Find the culprit and say "You're the villain!" kind of game.
    http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=19073

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]