Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 78 days, 19 hours, 18 minutes, 29 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    We Are Promoted Toknight - EatenAlive3 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Please be patient as it loads, because it's a 10 mB .jar! You know how long to wait depending on your connection speed :).

    This morning, for the very last time, the king of Veldspar denied you a long overdue promotion. If he won't give you a promotion, then take it yourself! Rampage through his village, and massacre his peasants, and take his kingdom for yourself.

    Controls:
    - Arrow keys to move left, right, and jump.
    - Z to slaughter

    If you enjoyed playing, rate it and comment! I'd love to hear your feedback.

    Also, a wild timelapse appears! Take this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mk06EhyrTN0

    Oh, and if anyone's interested, somewhere in my sourcecode is a giant goat. Muahahaha...

    View EatenAlive3's journal. | View all entries by EatenAlive3

    Ratings

    Coolness79%
    #300Audio2.60
    #315Humor2.68
    #383Fun2.81
    #394Mood2.72
    #451Graphics2.74
    #460Overall2.81
    #466Theme2.98
    #665Innovation2.21

    Comments

    deathray says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:22am

    Pro: Fun and satisfying to stab the villagers.
    Con: Jumping is tough!

    ChainedLupine says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:08am

    Woot! I shanked that king. Place is mine now.

    Jumping physics did need a little work, though.

    What's the fear level for?

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:11am

    Fear is based on how many villagers you have slaughtered. You can't fight the king until you reach maximum fear!

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:31pm

    I like it, the fear system is good ! Maybe you should add a little bit of difficulty, like some guards, but it's cool !

    Ramuh says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:52pm

    Jumping is annoying, rest is quite ok

    rolfeth says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:57pm

    Nice music! and i liked the tiles. jumping mechanics were the most challenging part.

    chrismwaite says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:04pm

    Quite enjoyed this one and liked the stabbing animation/sound. Found the jumping a little tricky and the king rather difficult to dispose of :)

    joekinley says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:06pm

    Take that stupid king. Fun little game. And I did not have too much of a problem with the jumping mechanics. It was fun while it lasted.
    The graphics are quite good, the theme approach is great. The audio was a bit to be wished for, but overall you did a good job.
    Especially the whole setting gave it a good mood. It just was a bit short. But that's alright. Nice work and congratulations on finishing something.

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:21pm

    Pretty fun game!

    Smaxx says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:25pm

    Nice little game. Only two small bits to complain: The clouds don't fit, they should be pixelated as well. Jumping is odd. When you bump your head, you still continue moving upwards (in case you move away from the obstacle). Plus it's easy to fall off a platform, when hitting the jump key too late.

    FinalMirage says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:34am

    Fun little game to play through. I didn't have troubles with the jumping since it was at least consistent so you knew how it was going to work. Different weapons would be a cool addition.

    WiseGAMER says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:58am

    Simple but lovley

    suve says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:02am

    Apart from no guards or whatever enemies one could imagine in a game like this, it is really pleasant to play.

    loren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:42am

    Very cool game (woo pun titles!), nice audio :)

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:26am

    Fear >;) I had fun playing :3

    surpy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:04am

    It is very fun, I got a kick killing some peasants, at first I thought they were monks or something like that, but it was fun killing them anyways. King was a challenging boss fight.

    Hume says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:02pm

    Nobody else is reporting this problem, so I won't rate and penalize, but my keys stick. If I press left, I keep going left for ever. If I press jump, it's bounce, bounce, bounce. Can't really give the game a fair shot with this going on.

    OS X, Java 7 u10.

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:06pm

    Sorry to hear that Hume! I don't have OS X, so it's difficult for me to test for what's going wrong. Thanks for being fair.

    oldtopman says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:25am

    This game is just plain fun to play. 4/5

    vrav says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:13am

    Great work on the music, pretty cool score.

    cardboard says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:39am

    I really like your game :) The music was great, the graphics were good, and I like how the peasants don't disappear until you stop stabbing them. Very nice.

    pighead10 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:18pm

    Awful font! Game was very short and very easy. I loved the jumping physics, not sure what others are complaining about. "Fear" seems a bit pointless, can't it just be "kill all villagers"?

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:49am

    Haha, awful font indeed. I was experimenting with custom fonts at the time, because I'd never done them before.

    Fear was going to play a larger role in the game if I'd have been able to implement all the features I wanted. You would have been able to burn down houses, raid shops, etc. until your fear level reached a certain level, and then you could move on to the next town. It would be a method of creating a certain amount of destruction before you could continue.

    Of course, I ran out of time!

    Philip Wagner says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:13pm

    How can the king give me a promotion when I kill him? Anyway, I had no problems with jumping. Some guards would be great to pump up the difficulty. Which was a little surprising, when confronted with the king, cause he was kinda hard the first time.
    music didn't work for me, I used the cross platform jar.

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:37pm

    Well, the idea is that you took over his kingdom in order to promote yourself. That's odd that the music wasn't working, could you tell me what OS you are using?

    recursor says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:09pm

    I felt really bad stabbing all those helpless villagers. The king, however, attacked me first so I had to defend myself. I thought the text as little hard to read, and some of the messages didn't stay up long enough for me to read them. This has a Castlevania fell to it, and that is a good thing.

    Datw says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:28pm

    Sorry, I took two classNotFoundExceptions to the knee :(

    Seemed fun though!

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 2:07pm

    Ah, Datw D:. The most likely cause is that your version of Java is outdated. Try updating and running the application again if you can find the time! :)

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]