Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 8 hours, 12 minutes, 31 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Fall of Mr. Wily - StoneMonkeyStudios - Jam Entry

    Welcome to The Fall of Mr. Wily.

    This was made from scratch in 72 hours (save a GUI library).

    There are 2 goats to be found... one is quite subtle, see if you can find them both!

    Our team was:
    Ryan Nohr - Programming
    Jon Rasmussen - Art
    Nick Amlag - Art
    Akash Thakkar - Sound/Music

    It loads a bit slow on web, so there are PC and Mac versions as well!.

    NOTE: Today I realized it was possible to put the game into fullscreen mode, which shouldn't be possible. I blame Unity, because I can. At any rate, the game was designed around a 16:9 aspect ratio, so I'd reccommend against putting it into fullscreen for the best experience.
    --Ryan--

    View StoneMonkeyStudios's journal. | View all entries by StoneMonkeyStudios

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    Humor(Jam)4.25
    Overall(Jam)4.09
    Fun(Jam)4.02
    #5Theme(Jam)4.32
    #9Mood(Jam)4.02
    #10Innovation(Jam)4.03
    #48Graphics(Jam)4.07
    #87Audio(Jam)3.31

    Comments

    crashbanito says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:07am

    Congratulations!This game is hilarious. The gradual shift in good to evil really makes the player attached. The humor is sublime. Best game in the jam I've played thus far!

    dom2d says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:38am

    Woah. Life changing!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:00am

    I almost quit a couple times along the way, then it transformed into the movie Falling Down. Good idea, needs more solid execution. Would maybe have worked better to stay in one viewpoint and transition, vs switching to several (was jarring).

    valeroth says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:06am

    Had no idea what was going on! But fairly fun for a while

    saampahlavan says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:09am

    this is really great. love how it's constantly changing and the turn near the end.

    LogGiant says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:13am

    I was a little put off by the graphics at first, then I realized it is my one true love.

    RARoadkill says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:15am

    Fantastic game. Very interesting and destroying everything once you turned evil was just wonderful

    surpy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:46am

    One of the best game I played in LD 25.

    kewry says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:33am

    That escalated quickly, great game

    laaph says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:45am

    I didn't find either goat.

    GTA style ending was fun!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:44am

    Best game EVER! I just love the concept

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:48am

    Very good game! Enjoyed the stork part the best.

    barret907k says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:19am

    Man so good. Takes a little to get it started but awesome. Love the Office Space vibe.

    vrav says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:34am

    Hell yes.

    Winterblood says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:25am

    Nice interpretation of the theme, like the repeated visits to each minigame and the changing pace. Good job!

    angrygeometry says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:45am

    very cool!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:47am

    Great game! Slamming through the traffic at the end was extremely fun and hilarious.

    Mase says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:53am

    Great pacing, graphics, everything. The attention to detail, such as the variety in the cubicles, is nice.

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:24am

    Sitting at work when everyone is on vacation. This made me sad. Very well executed.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:02am

    What a great entry! It was really neat to see the sort of disjointed rise and fall of the action, and also the subtle little indicators everywhere. I really liked "LATE FOR NOTHING!"

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:53am

    Excellent! Great idea, great story!

    jackspinoza says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:55am

    Late was great, I loved it, all the little graphical touches were sublime; stork splatter, pixel fires, evil hat. Loved it.

    zimra says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:00pm

    Loved the concept !

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:17pm

    ...brilliant!

    Floko says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:51pm

    very nice storyline, cool take on the theme, congrats =]

    saguaro says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:36pm

    I really enjoyed every part of this game. The evil parts are the most fun (and the final evil stage is the most therapeutic) but I did enjoy delivering the babies because I liked their cute little baby sounds.

    Codexus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:29am

    Very cool game, it reminded me of Sos's McPixel. I just wish there was a bit more to do in the mini games.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:26am

    This game was such a wonderful surprise. I loved everything about it. Every scene that cut to being stuck in traffic, and then having it end the way it did, had me in stitches. Well done!

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:39am

    BRILLIANT. BRILLIANT. BRILLIANT. Will show my brother this first chance I get. I was just describing making a game that involves lots of smaller games in a sort of story arc, but I couldn't remember my example from a previous Ludum. This is perfect. The navigate traffic part blew my mind, as soon as I crosses over I was like "I just know the other lane's going to start mo... whoahhh it's real life.".

    The only criticisms I have is that it's not longer and that it's too easy to go on a full out rampage :) Maybe some more build up would be nice? ie events that suggest a rampage is about to happen but doesn't spell it out for you. Really funny game. Highest rating I've ever given a Ludum game I think.

    Also thanks for the kind comments!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:25pm

    Great game!!
    one of the best in the competiton
    Good job guys!

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:26pm

    I think we have a winner!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:52pm

    Thank you, I was beginning to lose hope around here. Goal for today: gain coolness through mayhem

    Worse says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:40pm

    Awesome product, laughed so much! Still, I'm reluctant to call this a game (and rate it high) since the player interaction is minimal and replay value zero.

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:50am

    Great concept and story! :D While it is more of an interactive story than a "game" it is a great entry, nonetheless! Awesome job!

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:04am

    Fun game. I like the evolution of the mini-games. Very clever.

    JoeProgram says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:06am

    Most excellent! The quick cuts between boring tasks totally stringed me along until the switch in the game. Though pressing space to take a beating was totally hilarious.

    The only part that didn't really fit for me was the deliver babies part.

    Faust says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:08am

    Wario like mini game, and nice transition from good to evil. Excellent work!

    Logun says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:46am

    Hell yeah ! Simple and so cool ! A damn fkcin good entry for LD !

    feili says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:43pm

    Awesome stuff!

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:36pm

    And another Warioware! Yay!
    The first part wes great, the second one was bloody awesome!

    CireNeikual says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:29pm

    I love it!

    illugion says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:56pm

    This game is epic ! I laughed a lot when i became evil ! This was so cool, awesome work!

    ahmed.majd says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:25pm

    Hahah, hilarious, i likes when i'm suppoed to pass trought the traphic....nice work

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:29pm

    Really really great experience overall, although ut feels more like a sorta deep experience rather than a game.

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:26pm

    Amazing. Like the shift. Wasn't sure how the storks fit in. Space as a transition and a mechanic made me skip parts like the fight, because I was hitting space to make the dialog go away, but it progressed the game. Traffic was infuriating. It was just like real life - the other lane goes faster.

    recursor says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:22am

    Hah. I loved this. Make me go through all that frustration of getting beat down, then I get to dish it back out. I especially enjoyed causing mayhem on the freeway. Nice work!

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:57am

    I was so confused at what was going on until the twist came. Then it was all so so funny! Great job!

    har_g says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:27pm

    I wait for this. this is awesome !!! 5/5

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 2:31pm

    The best entry I've played so far.

    caasi says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:47pm

    I like your art, the story and the BZOOKA!

    ENDESGA says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:38pm

    nice!

    DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:07am

    Good concept! Yeah, I agree that it's very office-space feeling.

    SimianLogic says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:03pm

    Cute style, but wtf was up with the storks?

    mmorphinee says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:55pm

    Nice and very Wario-Ware-like. The first part was frustrating and the second part was fun.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:50am

    Very, very interesting ! I adore the political way you take !! I bookmarked your game to show it around ;)

    Dec 31, 2012 @ 9:27pm

    Wow. Amazing work. Love how it turns around. Music is done beautifully. Props for organizing this :D

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 12:31am

    Loved it! This is my 61th review, but my first all-5-stars. Absolutely fantastic. You nailed the theme. Great job.

    goerp says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 9:11pm

    This looked great, sounded great and being evil on the road was a great experience. . .
    so a great game!
    Well maybe more of a story than a game, but great nonetheless

    zenmumbler says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 10:03am

    Nod to Megaman, big nod to Office Space, nod to Falling Down, you've got the right inspiration alright. Quick cuts of the games was smart to not dwell too long on any activity and then the release of destroying it all. Good visual story with some game elements.

    Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:22pm

    Awesome. Wasn't sure on the theme at first, but it's oh so good. Love the Dorian like conversion.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 3:08am

    The solution to life: becoming a sociopath.

    The game is pretty cool. Reminded me of http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KOUdakrP52E

    deathray says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 11:02pm

    Graphics / levels were amazing given the time. I thought the stork mini-game seemed out of place, but otherwise it was enjoyable for a play-through.

    Kalumis says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 8:25pm

    That's so great :D That's hilarious and so well done !!

    SonnyBone says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:53pm

    AWESOME! Loved the progression and the COOOOLNESS METER expanding as you become more evil in the mirror. Really hilarious. Lots of variations in gameplay, and an amazing interpretation of the theme. GREAT WORK ALL AROUND!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]