Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 5 hours, 54 minutes, 25 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 5 hours, 54 minutes, 26 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    SIRTET - Atomic - Jam Entry

    Long story short: please rate after watching the gameplay video!

    SIRTET is a derivative of tetris where you are the villain.
    Instead of trying to stack pieces neatly in order to clear lines you must try and give the AI the worst piece possible to make it fill the board and "lose the game".

    The biggest twist is that SIRTET isn't played on a PC - it runs on a DIY console made of an Arduino Mega 2560, a button, a piezo speaker and a NOKIA 5110 LCD screen. Feels just like the handheld consoles of the 90's. The poor thing only has 256KB of storage, 8KB of RAM and a 16MHz processor.

    One of the reasons I have submitted to the jam is that (almost)no one will be able to play this because of the hardware required. For that reason I humbly ask you to rate this game based on the gameplay video. Please forgive the shaky camera and glitchy screen. The glitches are due to a low quality rubber contact between LCD and PCB, it's not my code's fault. And yeah, I suck at this game XD

    Instructions to assemble the hardware are included with the source, along with all Arduino libraries needed. If you do play it I'd love to have some feedback :)

    The controls are simple: press the button to cycle through the pieces.

    BTW I did finish in 48h - I even show my clock on the video for the sake of honor.

    View Atomic's journal. | View all entries by Atomic

    Ratings

    Innovation(Jam)4.69
    Coolness57%
    #9Overall(Jam)3.97
    #43Theme(Jam)3.90
    #94Humor(Jam)3.05
    #126Fun(Jam)3.00
    #192Mood(Jam)2.72
    #211Audio(Jam)2.38
    #242Graphics(Jam)2.69

    Comments

    dek says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:56am

    Hey, I have no idea how this is done, so the feat of doing it is impressive to me. From the video standpoint, the AI seems pretty smart as well! Nice !

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:06pm

    I am moved. I once did version of Space Invaders for a set-up similar to this, so I can appreciate the extra work that goes into this.
    Now you've gone and tempted me into buying some arduino stuff!

    Aswissrole says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:07pm

    Can't wait to get back to uni to try this out! Very cool idea.

    Atomic says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:23pm

    Thanks guys!

    Aswissrole let me know if you try it, specially if you have any trouble!

    bwdevel says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:24pm

    I actually was thinking a few months ago about targeting Arduino for LD25, and my logic got the best of me; I'm glad you did it! I'll wire this up and try it later.

    Manest says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:13pm

    haha, nice work!

    Pixelbear says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:25pm

    Dude, you rock. I saw this in the blog area, and I just thought "Damn, that's a cool idea!". So glad you managed to pull it off. Congrats! :D

    strong99 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:54am

    Impressive, AI seems up to the task to ;) Good idea on the hardware! Innovative too.

    Wan & Manu says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:57am

    Okay guys, that's what the Innovation category is made for.

    The game in itself could easily require 48h to complete on a "classic" platform, but the extra challenge makes this really impressive. Not sure up to which point, but it tickles my nerd nerve for sure!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:06am

    Ok, this is impressive.

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:41pm

    Cool idea! When considering which single player type game to "reverse", I actually have the idea of revering tetris too. But I honestly can't code the AI up to the challenge... nice you did and even on this kind of hardware. Impressive!

    dansludumdare says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:14pm

    http://www.collegehumor.com/video/5767906/the-tetris-god

    bms says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:58pm

    great idea it totally fits the theme and the fact that a human tries to give a computer a hard time is so cool :D really sinister

    Chinchilla says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:42pm

    Incredible! Not only did you code a game, you built a console to play it own... mind: blown

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:42pm

    Fantastic!!! My two design notes that might make it more fun, judging purely from the gameplay video:

    1. the CPU is easily fooled; it seems that all you need to do is feed it with the S tetrimino, and it just doesn't know what to do with it, when there are obvious places to put it that could help later. Of course the AI might be thinking ahead based on some algorithm, thinking "there's a good possibility that an "I" tetrimino piece will come and fix everything in a while, so let's not bother with the S". But then, an I tetrimino came along at 2.23 and the CPU placed it horizontally!, when it could have filled a huge i-shaped vertical hole. Maybe that's just random though

    2. the AI could be made to panic. Do you know the moment you're certain you've lost, when you make desperate choices? the AI could do that, place pieces a little randomly at the end, and drop them fast, in hopes of having more time to anticipate your next move.

    But this is a little gem of a game, and I love all the attention went into it. Full marks for Overall, Innovation, Fun and Theme! Being the tetris level is being the ultimate bad guy

    zompi says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:29pm

    Well, this is awesome. So pity no one can play it now but you've got 6/5 stars for innovation :D

    jerombd says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:35pm

    You built your own console AND your own game in 48h O_o
    You deserve my respect... and a special badge for the Innovation part :D

    Atomic says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:54pm

    Thanks to everyone for the kind comments, I *really* appreciate it. Didn't expect this much great feedback :)

    @bwdevel: let me know if you get it running (or if you have any issues)!

    @dansludumdare:
    LOLing very hard at the way he says squiggly!

    @Christina:
    1-Very true, the S is the real villain! To be honest with you the AI isn't nearly as smart as you think it is - it just tests 40 different moves for the current piece, simulates the resulting boards and applies ranking to features such as total height, holes at the bottom and lines cleared. Indeed it misses a lot of vertical holes and I'm not sure why it does that. I tried a couple of algorithms to avoid it but in the end they all played worse than the one on the video :/

    2-That'd be cool! Extending your idea might be the best way to go: programming a list of high level behaviours that simulates the way humans play.

    Thanks a lot for the ratings and the feedback!

    Husky says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:50am

    Where is the I tetriminos ?!
    So Evil lol

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:04pm

    You know, I was joking a month ago about doing this very thing (though not as a tetris game). My hat is off to you!

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:51pm

    That, my dear sir, is Boss with a capital B.
    Very curious about the source, wondering those Arduino's work.

    karlin says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:36am

    Fantastic idea and damn impressive getting it running on that thing too.

    Faust says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:25pm

    This is incredible, are you willing to port it onto some other devices?

    caasi says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:52pm

    OMG, Arduino!
    I hope someday I can write games on such device.

    Atomic says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 1:01pm

    @Faust: Thanks! Porting to run on other Arduinos should be easy, all I have to do is get memory usage under 2KB. I'll do that if anyone wants! Can't even attempt to port to other MCU's because the only one I have is the Arduino. Porting to the PC doesn't make much sense anymore because both chas and Deltafire have made similar web versions.

    wombatica says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 12:25pm

    very impressed :D

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]