Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 30 days, 20 hours, 7 minutes, 33 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 65 days, 20 hours, 55 minutes, 33 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!) | October Challenge 2014!


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Junkbot - Maple - Jam Entry

    A metroidvania by Spaceoff and Maple.

    Speedrun Timer modification by Will "Xyen" (2012/12/21 ver.):
    https://dl.dropbox.com/u/6478756/Misc/Junkbot_Speedrun_Timer.exe

    --------------------------------------------------
    // Post-Jam Fix .exe / Source .gm81
    --------------------------------------------------
    // 2012/12/18 Update
    // Can't get stuck in one particular wall anymore.
    // The total amount of ore is now correct.
    // Made 2 impossible-to-obtain ore possible to obtain.
    // Deleted some duplicates of breakable blocks.
    // Easier to backtrack from final savestation.
    --------------------------------------------------
    // 2012/12/20 Update
    // Character now instantly faces the direction you press.
    --------------------------------------------------
    // 2012/12/21 Update
    // Made some unintentionally difficult situations less difficult.
    // Stopped the hover sound from playing when entering a new room.
    // Fixed a mysterious rubber ducky challenge being easily surpassed.
    --------------------------------------------------

    Controls:
    Shoot a savepoint to save.
    Arrow keys / WASD -- Run, Jump, slide down walls (with wall-cling ability).
    Spacebar / X -- Fire weapon.
    R -- Die and Respawn.
    1 -- Toggle Music.
    2 -- Toggle Sound.
    F4 -- Toggle Fullscreen.

    Tools Used:
    Game Maker
    Paint.net
    SFXR
    PxTone

    Let us know what you think!
    ~Maple

    View Maple's journal. | View all entries by Maple

    Ratings

    Coolness58%
    #20Overall(Jam)3.84
    #33Mood(Jam)3.60
    #41Graphics(Jam)4.13
    #45Fun(Jam)3.47
    #62Audio(Jam)3.42
    #200Innovation(Jam)2.69
    #226Humor(Jam)2.15
    #285Theme(Jam)2.44

    Comments

    Sim says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:43am

    This game is awesome! Can't believe it's been done in the space of LD. The way the room style changes after getting the ore is nice, and I liked the ending. Nothing to complain about really, apart from the spikes having a slightly larger than expected hitbox - perhaps add a few pixels to the sprites to compensate.

    Time to go for the remaining ducks and ore now. Some of those duck rooms look horrendous :)

    csanyk says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:53am

    Absolutely amazing! Reminds me a lot of Redder by Anna Anthropy. I found 146/170 gems, and located the rubber duck but couldn't make it to it.

    _Rilem says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:56pm

    This is one of the best games I've tried. The graphics look good the controls work well.
    I like the different enemies (enemies that jump, sit still, fall from the ceiling). It's a lot of fun to play even though it can be frustrating that you die if you get one hit. This is the main reason I haven't finished the game yet.
    But, this is the first game that I plan on playing more than just one time.
    It's great fun!

    sev_inf says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:45pm

    Awesome platformer, reminds me of Spelunky.

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:47pm

    A really solid platformer, my only complaint being that I couldn't turn without moving forward, it meant dropping into some of the smaller gaps and killing an enemy quickly was next to impossible.

    Ed Okonik says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:56pm

    Really cool game. Well done.

    Zanzlanz says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:31pm

    Woah this is amazing. This is a great game - the graphics are amazing, the audio fits very well, and all of the features are there! I think the junk should have been more fun to collect - it didn't add anything meaningful to the game, in my perspective. I just loved the exploration part. The white outline of the text is distracting and doesn't seem to fit the theme very well. Perhaps a shadow would be more acceptable. Other than that, *fantastic* job!

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:59pm

    Game is good, there is lot of content but insta death and sparsed checkpoints makes it really hard.

    dek says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:18pm

    Very beautiful :)

    01010111 says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:11am

    The world got so spooky! I love the water, great work on the graphics and audio too!

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:43am

    Very beautiful and polished game. I loved looking around and explore the world.
    Really really nice work!

    Neonlare says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 6:19am

    God damn this is amazing. I have no critics on this at all. It's amazing.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:55am

    A platform game in the pure tradition. A huge work for a 72h entry ! Congrats :)

    AyCe says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 6:12pm

    Nice graphics. But (seemingly) unreachable gems, weird physics, "unexpected" hitboxes, a lack of savepoints, (at first) quite unnoticable spikes and the repetitive gameplay made me quit before I finished. Stuff like getting the ducks was nice, but for a LD game, this is too difficult. The audio was quite ok. Nice job though :)

    zkenshin says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 2:01am

    Well done.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]