Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 6 days, 2 hours, 42 minutes, 58 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 6 days, 2 hours, 42 minutes, 59 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Kill the Hero - rodrigomotta - Jam Entry

    This is the result of our second participation in all Ludum Dare game jams. The game is maybe a tower defense plus puzzle-based game. We loved the theme and we tried to develop a funny game with villain spirit. LoL.

    >> To play Kill the Hero DRAG, MOVE AND CLICK itens in the Hero's way... to kill him.

    [Some effects can only be viewed in browsers that supported WebGL, like Chrome and Firefox]

    [MAC users: if you have problems, use Safari]

    * Cool graphics, characters and animations;
    * Amazing Puzzle-based levels;
    * Original soundtrack;
    * Funny villain spirit; :D

    Coming soon:

    * More items;
    * More levels;

    Bugs

    - Sometimes drag and drop/click doesn't work as intended. (Maybe this game work better in touchscreen)

    View rodrigomotta's journal. | View all entries by rodrigomotta

    Ratings

    #5Graphics(Jam)4.59
    #9Theme(Jam)4.21
    #24Mood(Jam)3.70
    #38Humor(Jam)3.46
    #52Audio(Jam)3.48
    #159Overall(Jam)3.03
    #164Innovation(Jam)2.86
    #256Fun(Jam)2.36
    #930Coolness33%

    Comments

    Smaxx says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:04am

    Interesting little game. I like the graphic style (Mrs. Mr. Hero is a bit "overdone" I'd say). Only real downside I could find are the controls. Sometimes I've had quite some issues properly grabbing or dropping traps just in time (IE10/Win7).

    Floko says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:49am

    Kinda hard to set the objects in the scene, but still pretty fun! =]

    chambers says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:51am

    Love the graphics and humor (character names, "you win" message, etc). Had a lot of difficulty placing the objects though =/ It took me a lot of attempts to clear stage 1, and I couldn't beat stage 2...

    daredevildave says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:52pm

    Loved the idea and the look. But frustratingly difficult to place items in the time limit.

    Stryphe says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:44am

    It was a bit difficult to place items in the amount of time available.

    robashton says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:30am

    Fun concept - but it's a bit hard to put the objects down in the scene so by the time you do the hero already has the girl.

    It could have been a good puzzle game actually

    Per says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:08pm

    Great idea!
    Love the graphics and the intro.
    You should work a bit on the control though... Maybe add a hint when you can drop the obstacles?

    gre says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:50pm

    I like the graphic and atmosphere, but it's damn too hard to place object on the floor! We should have a feedback when you hover the droppable area.

    rodrigomotta says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:18pm

    @Smaxx @Floko @chambers @daredevildave @Stryphe @robashton @Per @gre So guys, thanks for your comments. Thats it, the TIME IS CHALLENGE too, but the "drag, move, click/drop" must be fixed... this behaviour is strange. Maybe we add a hint about how to play (where drop the items), but, is obviously (or not?), above the ground or in the "roof". So, thanks! We will try to make a better experience!

    Ludonaut says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:48pm

    This game is amazing. I really love the design and the sounds. Have an awesome rating for an awesome game!

    FrederickK says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:21pm

    Like was said, that controls are really hard. Maybe if the hero waited a little before start running it would be a lot better.
    Great humor!
    Good job!

    stigmawall says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:12am

    Just one problem is the drag and drop think... it's annoying.
    THe sound don't really need to repeat when the player play again IMO. And i enjoy the graphics.

    TyrusPeace says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:02pm

    Very nice art and good execution on the theme, but I couldn't manage to drag/drop items most of the time and so I couldn't beat the first level... most of the time I dragged something out there it would either stay in my hand or return to the toolbar (Chrome, Win7).

    LemonTree says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:27pm

    Great! Amazing game!

    brantkings says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:37pm

    Controls ruined it :( Give us a little time to put the traps before the hero starts moving...
    Can't get past lvl 1-5, how many are there?

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 9:26am

    Great graphics! I really like the idea too - unfortunately, I had a lot of trouble with the click-and-drag... seemed difficult to simply drop a trap where I wanted to.

    aare says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:31am

    Really good graphics and animations, but the controls are irritating. I often cannot place the traps, or they dissapear. The hand that lacks proper "pointer" also doesn't help at all.

    KWL_TW says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:14pm

    Nice artwork,
    but hard to place the item.

    michax says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:22pm

    Awesome graphics and nice animation. As mentioned in descriptions there are some problems with drag and drop mechanics. If fixed it could be very enjoyable fast paced puzzle game!

    Joozey says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 5:05pm

    really cool game, only i can't really play it.. it's really hard to place the obstacles with a touch pad... it's probalby pretty doable with a touch screen.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:27pm

    It's a fun game, but the controls can be frustrating. It should be much easier to drop the traps than it is. That falls into the category of frustration, rather than challenge, if you know what I mean.

    I love the concept and the art style. I think this game has a lot of potential :)

    Demurgos says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:56pm

    The idea was used lot of times, but here is good realisation.

    Grabbing is a bit buggy, but graphics are beautifull and I found that cool ;)
    It fits perfectly the theme.

    zerebruin says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:56pm

    Hillarious! Great graphics & sound. The trap placing is a little buggy, though.

    namuol says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:44am

    Has potential to be quite fun, but the mouse controls are very hard to gauge. Make the "hitbox" for the mouse larger, and perhaps change the visuals to reflect it better, and you have a fun sort of on-your-feet puzzle game!

    Loved the production as a whole, though.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]