Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 14 days, 1 hour, 20 minutes, 9 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Bad Kitty - aare - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    HI!

    In this game you play as the small kitty, the goal is to make 14 poops, without beeing catched by the inmates and be blamed for making them.

    To move kitty around use WSAD or arrows, to poop pres and hold space. Pooping takes a while, and one is not very mobile in that time so take that into the consideration.
    Inmates gets suspicious when they see You making poop or while beeing inside the green circle that sorounds poop, so avoid that or the game will end.

    You get more points when green circles sorrounding poops doesn't touch, so try to spread your faecals evenly across the flat.

    Ad1. I spent way too much time drawing the background, so the graphic design of this game may be a little bit uneven at few places - sorry for that.
    Ad2. This is not a very long game, mostly because it sholud consist of few more levels (more an angry birds style, than neverending arcade style despite my attempts to change it). Unfortunatelly, as mentioned above, drawing this single one nearly killed me.
    Ad3. Timelapse! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yy1FMN4Vhqw
    Ad4. Yes, there is no music/soounds in this game. So after you give me 0 star in that category hit this link and listen to it while playing the game: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mT-SMDinDgY

    View aare's journal. | View all entries by aare

    Ratings

    Coolness87%
    #17Humor3.93
    #24Graphics4.24
    #29Fun3.76
    #51Overall3.71
    #86Innovation3.64
    #122Theme3.76
    #137Mood3.25
    #562Audio1.50

    Comments

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:53am

    Fantastic art and concept, owning 2 cats... I found this funny!

    aare says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:15pm

    It should not be needed to say, but I don't have anything against cats. In fact I own three of them.

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:38pm

    This is very nice :D

    Mava says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:36pm

    Pooped on the pillow! That was fun :)

    Nice graphics and novel idea - I like it :)

    BipolarMike says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:30am

    Fun idea, just wish there was more to it!

    Crowbeak says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:45am

    This is a great concept! I enjoyed it.

    nathanj439 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:49am

    Really great art!

    suve says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:52am

    Absolutely lovable! I fell in love with the graphics.

    kevincorrigan says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:58am

    I really liked this one. Good job, its surprisingly fun to try to poop without being seen!

    Cat Burton says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:58am

    Lovely art assets and a fun game! Good job!

    Neonlare says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:58am

    Excellent. Very Very very Excellent.

    se1by says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:58am

    Really nice game :D

    Norgg says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:04am

    Haha, actually surprisingly cool concept and execution. Also I think this is the only game I have ever played that I thought would benefit from some kind of farting sound.

    dalbinblue says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:11am

    Pretty funny, and looks great. I initially felt inclined to complain about the lack of sound, but given your choice of subject matter I will hold my tongue.

    ddionisio says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:58am

    I love the aesthetics, nice and simple. Having owned a cat before, I can say this is true. The little hearts that pop up when you go near each individual is a nice touch! (p.s. I made the cat poop right next to your laptop, mwahahaha!)

    Wukkopi says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:01am

    Hahah, loved it, that just after pooping, bumping into someone and little hearts appeared :D Was it supposed to be possible to poo many times in the same place? I just won by pooping in entryway. Nice game overall.

    aare says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:09am

    Yes, you can place all poops in one place. But you will get 0 points.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:22pm

    Hilarious game. I actually enjoyed pooping all around the house!

    timtipgames says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:25pm

    Fun ;) Like the handdrawn graphics, can imagine that it took you quite a while to get this done.

    agmcleod says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:25pm

    Haha, nice idea. I liked the look, the mechanics were perfect. Very well done.

    wzl says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:30pm

    Great! Very sweet art style. I'd love to see it complemented by some cute sound effects and music. Feels amiss. But i almost bursted when the cat shaked incontrollably in its desperate attempt to release a poopy. :D

    Here's a little mini review: http://ldmr.wzl.vg/#aare
    Let me know if you want be to link your name someplace :)

    Niavlys says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:51pm

    Very fun game indeed! The background is great. It's challenging enough to keep me playing it :) (not sure this is correct english, sorry) It's a shame there is no sound, and animations would have been nice too.
    At first I sometimes didn't understand why I would lose, but I hadn't read entirely the Readme.txt or the presentation text :)

    Well done!

    AtkinsSJ says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:12pm

    This is brilliant! I love it. :D 12101 points on my second attempt.

    Fun story: My parents found a cat poop in their wardrobe several years after we had to have our cats put down... Yum.

    uuav says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:52pm

    Could be even funnier if the people react to poop!

    Harsay says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:33pm

    Love the graphics and when cat shakes :D

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:13pm

    this game is adorable and really funny.

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:21pm

    Really liked it!
    The graphical style is super cute and the gameplay is really solid! Very high humor mark!

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:10am

    The bed was my favorite spot :3

    iandioch says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:06pm

    Excellent game! Kind of stealthy, kind of action-y, but overall hilarious and fun. Easily a highlight of the compo for me. My only problem was when I was caught because the old man pushed me into the green circle...

    Xavier says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:15pm

    Lol! really funny game!

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 10:55am

    Original concept, great graphics!

    Joozey says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 3:49pm

    i really liked the gameplay, very original idea. i was all excited not to get caught poopin' on the sofa xD

    Freakill says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 7:56pm

    Really funny entry! Laughing a lot thinking on my parents cat when I used to live with them, it liked to poop on my bathtub! hahaha. Really fluent mechanics ;) And AMAZING graphics, really lovely.

    eli says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 1:41pm

    Best stealth game ever. Loved it. Loved the Game Over screen, played again and won with 12,158 points!! Could have done better. I didn't read the part about the "suspicion" mechanic, so I didn't understand why the flatmates were giving me red gazes...

    Excellent graphics (I don't think they were incongruous at all!), excellent "AI". Humor+. My cat used the cat-box while I was playing so that's another point.

    Definitely, definitely could have used sound to great effect -- I'm thinking for flatmate reactions...

    Good work!

    mcc says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 8:03am

    very cute! this brings back many memories. you can just stand in one corner and poop until you win, but i noticed your score won't be as high, so you at least have one way to compensate for that.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]