Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 5 days, 6 hours, 34 minutes, 33 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 5 days, 6 hours, 34 minutes, 34 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Shadow Inside Of Me - SaintHeiser - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Your aim is to find your soul and return home.

    Controls:

    Right and left arrows - move
    Up - jump
    Down - shield or form change
    Z - special action (cancel growing and teleport)
    Esc - exit;

    View SaintHeiser's journal. | View all entries by SaintHeiser

    Ratings

    Coolness58%
    #7Mood4.13
    #15Graphics4.38
    #22Overall3.94
    #31Audio3.67
    #120Innovation3.48
    #123Fun3.39
    #254Theme3.45
    #499Humor2.14

    Comments

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 9:39pm

    this was really good

    feili says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:53am

    I really loved that game, the best entry I tried since yesterday. Good job!

    DeathBySnail says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:32pm

    Loved it, kept surprising me. Felt the checkpoints were a little too harsh for me.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:33pm

    wow nice work man! this is rly cool man! i love it <3

    lorancou says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:43pm

    Very nice graphic touch! A bit too hard for me though, I couldn't finish the game. So as I didn't see the ending I'm not sure this really matches the theme but maybe there's a twist :)

    karsyf says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:44pm

    Outstanding

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:54pm

    Loved the art style. I had some issues with the keys triggering (the 'shield' often wouldn't trigger immediately after jumping, for example) so died a lot and got too frustrated to get to the end - but the game itself is very pretty :)

    Madball says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:54pm

    A great game, a great atmosphere. However, when I reached the end, the game just restarted, showing the title screen. Was it on purpose?
    Suggestions: make souls reset when you die; I got stuck with a soul flying just where I respawn. Make a key to dismiss a shadow (or highlight it in case it exists.)

    tumoxep says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:22pm

    I've expected something special at the very end, but it just showed me titlescreen.
    Anyway, the game is f**king awesome!

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:42pm

    Really good but too harsh for me (can't finish it...) :)

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:22am

    @Madball & @tumoxep
    I do not have time to make an "normal" ending. I'll make it in postcompo version. Also bug with respawn point will be fixed in postcompo version.

    amidos2006 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:38am

    Its hard but its nice I like the graphics and this dark feeling :)

    Swofl says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:43pm

    Probably my favourite so far. I really like the visuals and audio. The gameplay got a little repetitive and there was no ending, but I understand how deadlines are. Nice work.

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:46am

    I used the permission to fix some bugs and I fixed up checkpoints. Now Enemies reset after the player dies, so player can't respawn on the enemy anymore.

    soupy says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:48am

    Couldn't finish and so couldn't see how it tied in with the theme. I think either the theme needs to be apparent from the beginning if the game will be hard, or the game needs to be easier/shorter if the theme only shows at the end. The graphics are beautiful and so is the sound design. The repelling mechanic is also really cool and satisfying.

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:42am

    2soupy
    Theme shows just in the middle of the game. And new mechanic appears only in second half. So repelling mechanic isn't so awesome as soul eating mechanic =)

    Is game really a game, if player can beat it from first time? I think - no. I like to give player the challenge. So my games maybe not so easy. But no hardcore at the time.

    jackspinoza says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:36pm

    nice looking game, great palate used and a pretty accomplished entry altogether. Good work.

    Robotic says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:38am

    Impressive, loved the atmosphere

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:31pm

    Very nice game overall, one small criticism, I needed to see to the baby half way through playing, so I pressed escape expecting the game to pause... is didn't =[

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:16pm

    Amazing presentation, good game mechanics, nice atmosphere.

    BlackBulletIV says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:17am

    The sound in combination with the lighting worked really well to create a dark atmosphere. Gameplay was pretty cool too; I would've given another star to the fun rating if it weren't for a scarcity checkpoints.

    The text in the game had quite a few mistakes, but I assume English isn't your native language, so that's fine.

    Jan 7, 2013 @ 5:33pm

    Very nice entry! I think the positives have been pointed out well by now. :) If I had to pick a point of improvement here it would be that the color scheme is so dark that I actually could not see the deadly lights until I fiddled with my monitor settings. I likewise tried and tried to get out of shadow mode to avoid the lights but could not find a way to do this until near the very end with the shadow teleport.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]