Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • October Ends: in 29 days, 11 hours, 41 minutes, 51 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 64 days, 12 hours, 29 minutes, 51 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Young Villain - Rubsrub - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    "You are the Young Villain"

    Use cursors "left" and "right" for move and clicking mouse for action.


    Instruments:

    - FlashDevelop (AS3), Flashpunk, flod
    - Graphics Gale, Paint, GameMaker Image Editor
    - ModPlugTracker, Audacity, sfxr

    Used NES palette, size: 143kb.

    View Rubsrub's journal. | View all entries by Rubsrub

    Ratings

    Coolness73%
    #16Humor3.94
    #20Audio3.77
    #21Theme4.17
    #36Fun3.72
    #36Overall3.81
    #37Mood3.74
    #50Graphics4.06
    #98Innovation3.57

    Comments

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:18am

    Really enjoying this game. Its pretty funny. Thanks for this. Look forward to giving it a rating :-)

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:26am

    HAHAHA! Made me laugh!

    01010111 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:19am

    Man! This is my favorite game so far! The spirit of being a young villain is 100%! Also, it's cool to see another AS3 dev using Flod - cool tunes!

    Nolan C says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:06am

    Great old-school vibe, the art was great! At first I wasn't sure what to do, that's my only complaint.

    Husky says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:58am

    Cute and fun!!
    I do like the overall feeling!
    Short but several kinds of gameplay, great work!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:22am

    Really well done for only having 48 hours. Everyone knew one those kids growing up. haha

    hissssssssss says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:29am

    I loved the sneaking and running mechanics. Tapping the buttons left and right made it feel way more sneaky than holding down a button to move.

    tim_u says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:43am

    This is extremely impressive for the 48 hour limit. My only complaint was the seeming lack of a way to restart. Had to reload a few times before I could really enjoy it since I lost... got caught early while learning. Thank you.

    goerp says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:59am

    Wow impressive and fun. Scores good on mood as well. The music graphics and gameplay blend well.
    A real Eric Cartman, love it.

    CappaGames says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:21am

    I liked the snowball controls...its fun to try and get it just right. There's something I find really charming about this game, kinda reminded me of having snow ball fights and making snowman as a kid. Well done.

    dek says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:20am

    haha! Very cute and funny. Loved the idea , especially with the running away. The throwing against the window was a bit hard.

    PapyGaragos says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:37pm

    Pure awesomeness!

    Per says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:17pm

    Spot on for the theme!
    That kid has a kickass mom. The smile on his face is priceless :)
    A really great entry!

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:19am

    This is great! I love the ending! And the graphics are so well done!
    Music matches very well, I love this game!

    Logun says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:49am

    A very good game ! I had a lot of fun.

    Andrey Krivko says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:21am

    Very nice game! :)

    Claite says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:07am

    hahaha I felt like such a douche. Great game.

    doos says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:41pm

    It's funny cause its true...

    Houly says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:52pm

    A plus point for the nes colors :) And a nice game on top of that, cool.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:43pm

    A refreshing game. It will force you to remember your childhood :) Very funny and well designed. Too bad, it's too short ;)

    rasmusrn says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 3:17pm

    Pure fun. A little hard though. And please let throw snowball at the other guy?

    Xavier says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 5:18pm

    Terrific! I love it!

    jhrrsn says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 10:43am

    Really entertaining and well-polished. Well done!

    SonnyBone says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 12:18am

    OH MAN. One of my favorite games. This is so amazing. Everything about it is brilliant. The ending when you get game over is genius. UGH. I knew this kid growing up. AMAZING WORK!!!

    angrygeometry says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 4:57pm

    ha, that was cute! very nice.

    ilo says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:21pm

    Absolutely love the endings! Great presentation and humour. Well done! :)

    dj_pale says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:56pm

    Very nice storytelling and graphics. A bit hard to throw snowballs and figure out how to bother the other kids at first.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]