Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 6 minutes, 1 second
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Killer Crusade - LogGiant - Jam Entry

    **Another Update** After seeing the couple mac problems, I realized I did not include the natives for Linux or Mac in the jar. I am very sorry, and they are now included

    Also, be sure to not rate the post-compo, because that would be bad. Feel free to play it if you want.

    ***UPDATE*** we managed to convert our .WAV files to .OGG, which will cut the filesize by around 50 MB. Sorry it took so long to compress it!

    I used NinjaCave's JarSplice to make it executable, and I included the natives for Windows Linux and Mac, so it should work on those 3 platforms.

    Destroy the humans, because you can!

    The combat is a little imbalanced, so its pretty easy to not die.

    Important note: There is NO story mode.

    Find the (not so) secret goat!

    View LogGiant's journal. | View all entries by LogGiant

    Ratings

    Coolness65%
    #137Graphics(Jam)3.35
    #148Audio(Jam)2.88
    #202Theme(Jam)3.07
    #204Mood(Jam)2.68
    #220Humor(Jam)2.18
    #246Innovation(Jam)2.50
    #263Overall(Jam)2.61
    #282Fun(Jam)2.19

    Comments

    Quantumvm says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:56am

    For some reason the menu would stick in the beginning and I wasn't able to select all the choices. The game was also a bit too easy. Other than that it was awesome :D I mean the visuals were really quite nice.

    LogGiant says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:00am

    Well thanks! The Endless Mode and Credits buttons should work. We were going to make a Story where you got a certain distance and just murdered everyone, but we had to cut out due to time. Glad you liked it! :D

    ENDESGA says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:04am

    Thanks for rating my game!
    Awesome game btw

    DaGamesta says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:48am

    Good graphics, decent music, and it's an interesting concept, but all there is is Endless mode, and so it lacks depth. Nonetheless, this is pretty good, at least in comparison to many of the Jam entries I've played so far. Why does it have to be 80 MB though?

    valeroth says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:50am

    A little bit too easy to survive but nice concept

    Gazok says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:09am

    Nice idea, and a very nice style. As you said, it's way too easy, and it could do with a little more strategy, but yeah. Nice game.

    LogGiant says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:16am

    We had a compression issue for the size... The WAV files for the music were all ~15 MB each. I might try converting them to OGG or compressing them more to get the size down to a manageable amount.

    kevincorrigan says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:03pm

    Nice graphics, very easy game though

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:08pm

    I don't seem to be able to play this. I get nothing when I click on the file. When I run it from command line I get this error:

    java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError : coreLogic/Driver : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

    Will try again to play on a different computer later in the week.

    LogGiant says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:18pm

    The game runs on Java 7, so I would make sure you have the most updated version from oracle, I suspect unsupported major.minor means you are running java 6 or earlier.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:06pm

    The game is incredibly easy but the art style is good and the concept is great. A story mode would of been great.

    Alex Rose says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:35pm

    Visually very pleasing. It feels like there should be a limit to your power though. You can just go to the right of the screen and hold shift and watch the souls rack up.

    Plus, once you get to the ~100 mark, souls occasionally go up and then down again? That was slightly confusing.

    But, yeah, in all, it's extremely aesthetically pleasing, the animation's great for such a limited time and number of possible frames and the music is pretty good.

    LogGiant says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:09pm

    Thanks for all the great comments so far, we were going to add more features but real life got in the way during the jam. If there is anything you think would make it even more fun leave it in a comment and I'll definitely consider adding it and uploading a post-compo version.

    ripter says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:01am

    OSX Mountain Lion, nothing happens when I double click on the jar. Running from the command line give this:

    Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: //KillerCrusade/jar
    Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: ..KillerCrusade.jar
    at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:202)
    at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
    at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
    at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)

    singpolyma says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:55pm

    Will try this when I get to a more powerful computer. It doesn't not even load up on my laptop.

    LogGiant says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:41pm

    For some reason changing the sound format dropped the size but raised the load time. I takes my computer almost 10 seconds to load the game from startup i'd say.

    galman says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:26pm

    Amazing graphics and music! Some more gameplay and content would make this game gold :)

    Birchmountain says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:24pm

    Couldn't open it :( I'm on a Mac.

    Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:52pm

    Love the music!

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:58pm

    Very nice concept ! Funny goat ^^ Good work :)

    Van Merwan says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 8:54pm

    I didn't realized at the first play the purpose of Shift and Space.
    Easy game. I really enjoyed the credits music.

    RawBits says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 12:00am

    I can not see fow could you play in this game. There is no tactics or action. I've just made 865 points - 328 kill, 128 souls and 40.04 distance - only by starting them and holding down SHIFT.

    The gfx are nice and the music is somewhat listenable - not my taste though.

    You need to add some explanation other than just the buttons to use - maybe telling 'for what' is a good start.

    Jan 7, 2013 @ 4:04am

    Cool game :D i also like the images of the soldiers and the skeletons :D they are nice :D

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]