Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 8 hours, 2 minutes, 9 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Cards Never Lie - saguaro - Jam Entry

    The Cards Never Lie is a mystery predicated by lies and sustained by them. Solve the crime using your fake psychic powers and some old-fashioned snooping.

    View saguaro's journal. | View all entries by saguaro

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    Mood(Jam)4.35
    #7Audio(Jam)4.02
    #8Overall(Jam)3.98
    #35Humor(Jam)3.50
    #50Graphics(Jam)4.04
    #64Fun(Jam)3.33
    #84Innovation(Jam)3.27
    #150Theme(Jam)3.36

    Comments

    awppy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:11am

    Very nice mood to this game. The aesthetic was nice, too. A bit straightforward, but held my attention.

    spolvid says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:28am

    Really great! Would love to see this setting and theme expanded into something a little longer.

    Tyren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:31am

    Having problems with MediaFire. Just won't download.

    evilseanbot says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:45am

    Writing was excellent, as was the audio. A little bit more skipping through text without interactive elements than I would've liked, but it did hold my interest through the end.

    TeamQuadratic says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:05am

    This is honestly one of the greatest games I've ever played. The mood was fantastic and I was in suspense the entire time. Mixed in with some comedy it was fantastic!

    Static_boy123 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:35am

    Very fun, although after a while the music got repetitive, and I got a little of all of the dialogue. Overall it was very fun!

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:27am

    This was very good ^.^

    tcql says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:28am

    Really cool idea! I really liked the setting and mood

    dwrensha says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:36am

    Nice story!

    xandy says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:38am

    a bit much clicking in the beginning but the rest was very cool!

    heloheu says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:13am

    Wow, best game I've played so far, please continue to develop this game!!

    bushmango says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:47pm

    I really liked it!

    MarekkPie says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:19am

    Excellent atmosphere. Probably should throw a age warning or something at the front, just so people know what they are in for.

    VDZ says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:33am

    For a Jam entry, my only remark is that it doesn't really fit the theme very well (the protagonist is more gray area and acts like the 'good guy'). Other than that, top marks for everything. I did not expect to see something like this as an LD entry.

    Due to its quality, I'll critique it as a normal visual novel instead of a jam game.

    The writing is really, really good. Seriously, I don't think I've ever read such good writing in an OELVN before. It was really interesting to read and had a lot of charm. The style and atmosphere were also fantastic, using limited resources to great effect.

    However, while the plot starts off promising, it ends up being incredibly shallow and disappointing. The detective work is limited to reading each person's profile, having a single conversation with each person and getting a couple of lines of information from Archie. While in a mystery you'd expect some hints, foreshadowing, red herrings and the like to keep you guessing for a bit until the answer is revealed, The Cards Never Lie presents all information so clearly you make an immediate correct guess as to who the culprit is, and the story never adds anything to it - in the end, you have to 'solve' the mystery with the vague guess you get as soon as you have the relevant information. There are no suspicious people and there are no misunderstandings - there's some information implicating someone (the kind that usually is either a misunderstanding or a part of a larger whole), and all of that information turns out 100% accurate and can be taken at face value.

    For that matter, none of the other suspects matter to the story, only serving as a distraction. Nothing of what they say or do has anything to do with the case, their backstories not only never become relevant but are never really revealed (why waste the reader's time with something that both isn't relevant and will never become interesting?), and they don't even serve as convincing suspects. With the little character interaction you have with each character, most feel very shallow as well - their personalities are limited to the things that happened in their backstories, and they don't really feel like more than walking plot devices.

    Still, I again have to commend your writing skills - with a better plot and characters (probably more likely when you aren't on a strict time limit) you'd probably be capable of making a masterpiece. I'll definitely have to check out your other works. (Though it may be a while until I do, since the next translation patch for Rewrite is just around the corner and that will probably eat up a LOT of my time.)

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:08am

    I liked your game.
    Graphically, it's really good (except Collen who scared me with her deadly smile....)
    Music and sounds are coherent with the mood.
    The story is well written but there is no really puzzle to find the culprit. Also, your character is not really a villain. She lies/tricks people to make money but she doesn't have a morally questionable goal.

    Anyway, good job :)

    SFX says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:28am

    Besides the fact that Claire isn't really that villainous, I liked it.

    chambers says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:11pm

    This is the best game I've played so far, I really hope this wins in the Overall Jam category. You could make a bigger game out of this, I'd definitely pay for it.

    The writing kept me very interested from the beginning to the end and the last part with the misunderstanding was genius.

    Also, I really liked the font you used and the "card" theme in the visuals.

    I only didn't give a 5/5 for everything because Claire isn't very villainous.

    dark_hunter says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:00pm

    Incredible game! I love it!

    blob says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:34am

    Very daring to try this kind of game for a jam ! great writing, nice UI and all. Only complaint is that in the end, your question dont matter that much since its kind of all solved by the final hint alone.

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:28am

    Excellently crafted visual novel for such a short period of time. There's some well written dialogue and an intriguing atmosphere; it's immediately evident that this is a genre that you and/or your team is comfortable with.

    I'll admit, I found myself reaching for the Load function more than I probably should have. Take that as you will.

    MrEvilGuy says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:48am

    Amazingly well-done game. Absolutely love it. The writing was superb. :D :D :D

    SuperDisk says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 10:08pm

    Was a great mood game, but after a long while of text and reading, I did get a bit bored. I didn't really know what to do once I got control so I grabbed the phone, called Anderson and reported Richard as the killer. An exception occured, then Anderson said that Richard WAS the killer and the game ended...???

    Gungnir says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:59am

    Excellent application of the noir motif, with some nice little subversive twists on the formula. A very compellingly written protagonist - a joy to play. Great work!

    hissssssssss says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 10:51am

    This was really polished for a Jam entry! I wish it was possible to see each of the clients more than once and get to know them a bit more, but I was impressed with the amount of content you had anyways.

    Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:00pm

    Very intresting experience, but I feel it needed a bit more interactivity and "game" to it to be truly excelent.
    Nevertheless, one of the best entries I've played yet.
    Good Job!

    RawBits says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:33am

    Sorry I don't have the patience for this and for the long long long ass intro. Gfx looks decent and the mood is perfectly set in the begining scenes though.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]