Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 73 days, 12 hours, 41 minutes, 51 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    A Villain's Demise - monomanio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    **I've updated the game. You now alter time with [X], not [space-bar]! Hope this helps. (If you've played it before, you might have to delete your current browser offline data)**

    So here it is! I ended up with "A Villain's Demise", and clocked in 16 hours of work. I did everything of course, but i added an alternate version with music by a friend of mine - Sebastian Gardenhire, thus rate accordingly.

    You can restart the level by pressing "R".

    The timelapse video is also complete, and an updated link is present!

    If you like the music, check out this website - http://sebastiangardenhire.bandcamp.com/ And if you encounter any bugs or weird stuff, drop me a comment down below or tweet @FredFors!

    View monomanio's journal. | View all entries by monomanio

    Ratings

    Coolness71%
    #5Graphics4.56
    #50Mood3.61
    #82Overall3.58
    #101Audio3.30
    #186Fun3.22
    #401Humor2.38
    #437Innovation2.69
    #563Theme2.73

    Comments

    ming_tea says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:50am

    Wow, this is fantastic!

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:54am

    Very cool take on the classic platformer ieda! Amazing graphics considering the circumstances of their creation

    Zillix says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:55am

    beautiful game. very well implemented. great job!

    Geoege says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:56am

    Wow, really nice graphics, and music. Gameplay is pretty fun too.

    monomanio says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:19am

    Thanks guys!

    Manuel says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:30am

    Wow, this looks so nice. Could have used some more feedback, but hey, it really looks awesome. The parallax is inversed, isn't it?

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:36am

    Worked great on Mac OSX

    Scott McBee says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:36am

    Beautiful.

    monomanio says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:38am

    @Manuel - Thanks! Yeah its all happening on one screen, with objects, art assets and sprites being created and sent in a direction.

    @Rex Peppers - Nice! Dont have the ability to test on a Mac so :)

    Rose says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:38am

    Looks great! But when I press spacebar, my browser window scrolls down, which interferes with gameplay. An easy solution would be to allocate another key (like z or something) that could be used instead.

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:39am

    Nice work!

    rylgh says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:49am

    cool game, such slick graphics...

    thepixelbrain says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:59am

    This is great! I love the graphics and the mechanics!

    donmilham says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:04am

    The graphics were highly polished and I felt the game elements were pleasantly cohesive. The intro suggested to me the existence of some sort of boss, unfortunately I wasn't skilled enough to confirm this. I also think that the special time slowing mechanic was well done (with appropriate accompanying visuals). Nice job.

    monomanio says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:04am

    @Rose - Thanks for the feedback! Didnt think about that, have only tested on larger screens. I'll see if I can add a z input option :)

    monomanio says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:07am

    @donmilham - Thanks for the detailed feedback, appreciate it! Yes a boss was planned, but time wouldnt allow it. Instead its an "endless" game, where you can improve your score. Other short and long-term incentives were on the wishlist, but didnt make it :(

    ChainedLupine says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:09am

    I agree with Rose, spacebar causes the window to scroll for me too (Firefox on Win7-x64), making it hard to play. Very nice graphics.

    ilo says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:27am

    Same problem with the scrolling as others have mentioned so I can't rate, but it looks and sounds... wowtastic. :p

    monomanio says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:52am

    @ChainedLupine, ilo - Sorry to hear that, i should have thought about it. I've uploaded an offline .exe version, as changing the controls for that mechanic proved difficult. Go check it out :)

    Jezzamon says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:04am

    I feel as though including music is somewhat cheating, as it would add to the mood and other stuff. Even though we're not meant to rate the game based on it. But you added another version, so I guess that's ok. Maybe you should label the other one so it's obvious it's not the compo entry. It would have been nice if there was some sound, like if the wind kept going or something during the game in the no-sound version.

    Still good job w/ graphics and such.

    My only complaints are:
    It's not hard enough. Games like this should have less health, so that the game goes quickly and you can retry quickly (IMO). I can't really be bothered to play all the way until I die.

    A shame it didn't really fit the theme. I mean, your character is a villain, but that's it, it didn't really change the gameplay in any aspect.

    Still, very polished looking game!

    Suese says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:16am

    It looks and sounds great but the controls were entirely unresponsive. I'll hold off on rating until I find a windows computer.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:56am

    Looks great, one problem I had is when I press spacebar the pages scrolls down.

    vanZeben says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:46am

    Amazing job here. Love the art of it and the whole look. Would have loved to see some different gameplay style tied to the beautiful art style, but still great nevertheless

    Birchmountain says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:17am

    Looks frikin' awesome. Couldn't play much though. Lagged so much it was unplayable. But i'll be back!

    monomanio says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:55am

    Thanks for the comments, appreciate it!

    In regards of the space bar issue - I've uploaded a offline version for Windows, which should eliminate any trouble regarding that :)

    juaxix says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:42am

    Love the colors ,animations and music

    SaintHeiser says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:09pm

    I like your graphic =)
    Gameplay is very addictive! Good work!

    loren says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:53pm

    Awesome! Giving a bonus to audio simply for having the option of a music-less build (music worked well anyway, but that was a cool option). I really liked the time mechanic too

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:15pm

    This game is BEAUTIFUL! Too bad that the audio doesn't really count for the compo because it's a great tune. Some SFX blended in would be even more awesome. I was able to get about 1,500 but I know I can do better! GREAT JOB!

    Arakade says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:31am

    Gorgeous + fun = excellent!
    Love the use of one colour with the different shades for different depths. Will have to try this some day. Ditto on theme match but perhaps you'll take it further to fulfil that part?
    p.s. I've fixed my game since your review <nudge, nudge> :-D

    grifdail says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:44am

    Yeah ! it's trully amazing! The graphic are wonderfull. The gameplay is well. Even the music is perfect!

    robashton says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:31pm

    Wow - very nice graphics, smooth gameplay and great mechanics - I got just over 1000 points :-)

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:30pm

    Nice with smooth gameplay, good art and none of the control issues of you last LD game! Well done!

    monomanio says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:26pm

    Thanks for the comments guys, appreciate it!

    @Mythalore - Thanks, and cheers for noticing! Learning by doing :)

    mutuwarejam says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:43pm

    Great art style!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:59pm

    It looks stunning and very atmospheric. Gameplay and controls are very smooth. I actually prefer the version without music, because I don't think the music fits in very well with the overall mood that the graphics are setting.

    I'm not really sure how this relates to the theme, but the giant at the start does certainly look villainous.

    What's happening with the double-jump though? At some point I seemed to have infinite-jump, which made it quite a lot easier.

    monomanio says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:13pm

    @Frozen Fractal - Thanks for the feedback! Yes, the double-jump resets whenever you hit one of the platforms (meaning, you dont have to land before you can jump again).

    In other news, I've updated the versions. You now use "X" instead of space bar to slow down time :)

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:29pm

    So, is the version with music a post-compo version?

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:34pm

    Nevermind, I see now that it was composed by someone else, meaning it shouldn't be rated as part of the entry. You might think about being more specific in the way you labeled them, since that could be a bit misleading.

    I really liked the game by the way. The visuals and wind sounds added a ton to the vibe. Great execution of a simple idea.

    pereubu says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:58pm

    a bit disturbing at the start, i finally like this concept plus the art, nice job on the sound too even if more feedbacks were maybe necessary 3:

    daredevildave says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:07pm

    Slick, very nice indeed. I can imagine you selling this on the App Store with a little work. Obviously, some kind of tutorial would help and better feedback on what's going on on-screen, but hey, it's a minor complaint. It really is a great game. Congratulations.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:36pm

    oh wow! This is fantastic! The presentation is great, the gameplay is very fun. And those cannons have eyes!! The special move is very satisfying as well!

    Kudos!

    gre says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:40pm

    Awesome graphics and music! Good job. and great slow motion feature!

    Ludonaut says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:32pm

    Very cool and fun. Great work!

    raincole says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:51pm

    Amazingly high quality. It should be ported to Android/iOS and put a price tag on.

    zatyka says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:53pm

    Very nice job. Awesome graphics, fun gameplay. It doesn't get much better than this.

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:57pm

    I thought this was a great game! It was fun, and not too high-stress since there were a lot of power ups flying down if I happened to mess up here and there. After a few minutes of playing I sort of lost the purpose of what I was doing, but I still thought it was fun. :) Great work! + Your timelapse was fun to watch too!

    bompo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:10pm

    Nice music and art style!

    timtipgames says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:32pm

    I really dig this game. It's so - complete :)

    zompi says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:01pm

    The artwork is fantastic, the music is pro, but the gameplay is just fine. Anyway, I'm impressed you've managed to create such a lot of content during so little time. Respect.

    killmonday says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:42pm

    Cool! Liked the slow-mo thingy and the music. Art work fantastic!

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:49pm

    Great art style and music! You really set the mood well! The gameplay and controls were also very solid :D Awesome job!

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:29pm

    A very, very good game, well polished and really pretty art.

    Volute says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:41pm

    Great game ! Amazing graphics and animation. I love the design of the character and how his eyes glow in the dark.

    The only thing that bothered me is that the structures falling on the background are too dark and made the position of the platforms hard to read. It made me lose focus on several occasions.

    gnx says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:28pm

    Excellent visuals as I'm sure has been stated many times before.

    Gameplay is quite punishing and the jumping feels a bit inprecise either due to physics or gfx not cueing exactly where the platforms should be.

    Per rules didn't rate music, but I'm fine with the minimalist wind, suits the game. Bigger minus is the lack of any sound effects.

    lucky.luddite says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:08am

    Awesome blurring effects with the background. Great presentation!

    LTyrosine says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:38am

    Nice graphics, nice music but gameplay is a bit repetitive.

    ahmed.majd says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:59pm

    I like, the slow motion mechanics but, and the graphics are so cool.
    nice work

    hypp says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:57pm

    Excellent work!

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:19pm

    Fantastic, incredible work for 48 hours!

    marudziik says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:25am

    A very nice graphical effect, and the music is really good. The gameplay is simple, but it's great for casual players. Well done!

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:15pm

    It's nice :)

    Puzzlem00n says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:02pm

    To be honest, I found the whole experience just uninteresting. I'm not trying to be mean here, so know that as you read this.

    Bad:
    -The collision is off in some areas.
    -The slowdown mechanic isn't strong enough to give the game anything- you may as well play without it.
    -It doesn't make you feel any attachment to the game or what it has to offer. It's just blegh.

    Good:
    +The graphics are amazing, which I believe everyone can agree on.
    +Besides the collision, the thing seems pretty solid.
    +You have an intro. Intros make all the difference. ;)

    monomanio says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:16pm

    Thanks for the feedback :)

    Yeah the collisions are a bit off. The slow-down mechanic isnt properly tuned at all, as i find myself playing without using it myself - a result of far to little playtesting.

    If i were to change it, i would increase the difficulty, and remove/adjust limitations regarding the use of that mechanic. Some proper animation work or introductional narrative could easily make the mechanic more connected to the game itself :D

    recursor says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:52pm

    Very nice graphics!

    DavidErosa says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 3:41pm

    Nice one! I found that just getting near a platform allows me to double-jump again, so that was easy :)

    Jacob says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 9:12pm

    Slick graphics and nice feel. Reminds me a lot of the shinobi III level with the falling boulders.

    Well done jam game!

    Mago says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 1:22pm

    Great game with amazing music and beautiful graphics. Also the idea is simple but really fun. Great job!

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 4:48am

    Really good atmospheric graphics, love the way the game plays. Was pretty surprised.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]