Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 15 hours, 41 minutes, 23 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Fight the Power - TwilightFlandre - Jam Entry

    Story:
    In the near future, technology has soared far beyond what we in the 21st century expected. Leading the charge, the world wide web has grown even more expansive, encompassing almost all fields in the future era and becoming the centerpiece for development. In the process, Piracy has advanced and created an arms race between publishers and hackers as each strive to one up in the other in an effort to further their agendas. This is but one small struggle between the two, as a common pirate fights the security system for access to free goods, ask yourself, who is the hero here? A woman who enjoys the tears and labors of another without just compensation, or the greedy publisher who seeks to bleed the customers dry with draconic, inane systems within the market?

    Game:
    This game is a shoot 'em up that changes based on the music you load in. Included is one song but try it out with any mp3, ogg, etc that you have on your computer. Dodge the bullets for the entire song and win. Key to note is that the hitbox, as in most shoot 'em ups, is much smaller than the character sprite. It only takes up the small red circle on the center of her body.

    Controls:
    Mouse- Movement
    LMB- Select

    View TwilightFlandre's journal. | View all entries by TwilightFlandre

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #26Innovation(Jam)3.75
    #30Audio(Jam)3.67
    #84Fun(Jam)3.19
    #105Overall(Jam)3.32
    #143Graphics(Jam)3.32
    #155Mood(Jam)2.85
    #260Humor(Jam)1.94
    #318Theme(Jam)1.86

    Comments

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:47am

    Can't play windows games :-(

    Sim says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:05am

    Hah I had a feeling what tune this would be from the mp3 name :)

    Interesting game although really hard, I can barely last a minute let alone finish the song. The beat detection seems good, but for the sample song at least the pulsing is very strong and makes the bullets harder to dodge.

    If you move the mouse to the very left of the screen then you can't get hit, which I exploited to watch the rest of the game. I like the way the bullets dry up during a soft part in the song, although some more variation in patterns would've been nice.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:40am

    Very nice execution. I noticed, however, that with some quieter songs no bullets were being spawned.

    LucaPavone says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:44am

    I downloaded the version with music, but it doesn't seem to want to play. I press Start, it flashes to the screen but fades back to the title, even though there's music in the directory next to it.

    What do?

    OU GDA says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:46am

    rhythm based games are truly the ultimate. beat detection seems like it works a lot better on more fast-paced songs. it would be nice if i could close the game with x

    blob says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:47am

    This is really awesome. Love the concept and love that the music even affects the current speed of each bullet, giving a nice visual flow to the game. I really hope you re going to flesh this out into a complete game because there's a lot of replayability in this. I wouldnt mind refighting the same bosses over and over with different musics to see how they change.
    You could have something really good if you add some attack pattern change depending on the general mood of the music or something like that.
    My only complaint is that it doesnt really fit the theme.
    Played the game on " murderous desire at-nen mix", I find it works really well with that game. Interesting speed changes along the song. The original song was too brutal for me.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:55am

    @LucaPavone: You have to actually select the song in the directory when you hit start and the game will begin after that.

    @bitwise-constructs: Yea I'm aware that some slower songs suffer from that problem. In a later version down the road I'll probably add better bullet parameters.

    LucaPavone says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:05am

    Still not working. I've tried dragging the song onto the EXE, keeping it selected in the directory, but nothing's working.

    This should've come with clear instructions on how to get a song in, because I clearly haven't been able to figure it out by myself.

    kewry says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:27am

    Cool game

    dansludumdare says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:36am

    This is a really excellent idea. I wouldn't be surprised if music visualizations evolve into games like this.

    @LucaPavone -- it really isn't hard. It's probably some error.

    KWL_TW says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:52am

    Music generated bullet!!
    so coooool!!

    Luca Pavone! says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:14am

    @Dansludumdare: You're probably right. Oh well - I really wanted to see what F-Zero music would do to it. :<

    Digiraze says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:17pm

    Really cool idea.

    zimra says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:03pm

    Excellent idea !!

    Blodyavenger says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:29pm

    Nice idea behind the game but it was too hard for me - those beats weren't good for my movement flow :)

    Shugor says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:01am

    I really like bullet-dodging games, and I've made several songs, so this was a really entertaining game to play. It would be great if there were more bullet patterns to choose from/be randomly selected, as this one gets somewhat predictable. Also, some quieter or less percussion-heavy songs don't work very well. All that aside, though, I like this game very much~

    Cool Border of Life arrange, btw

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:46am

    There's some great gameplay when you load up Ratatat.

    Tyren says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:42am

    Interesting, this is the first jam game I've played where it interacts with the music.

    goulding57 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:44am

    can't play windows. But the screenshot looks pretty nice.

    MrEvilGuy says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:29am

    Dude! So trippy and hypnotic!!! I put on Welcome to the World of the Plastic Beach by Gorillaz and it was nutty! Put on another song and when the bullets go in slow motion I know when they're going to speed up because I know the song so I can make it appear like I'm dodging bullets skillfully like in the Matrix. SOOOOO good. The music you guys included makes it really cool but shows it off well. In any case, absolutely fantastic work! :D

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:06pm

    I appreciate the effort you made to make the bullets match the music, I think for certain kind of music it plays out pretty well, and the mapping scheme is something I haven't seen before (like in Beat Hazard), but I still have to say the game itself really doesn't fit the theme IMHO.

    moomoo112 says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:28am

    certainly an interesting mechanic, but incredibly vague on the theme

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:51am

    Great take on the music-generated bullet hell mashup genre. As previously stated, the Ludum Dare theme is thinly overlayed onto the game when taking the flavor text into consideration, and is actually nonexistent when assessed strictly within the confines of the game.

    The music's affect on the gameplay is interesting and challenging, though possibly overly challenging in some cases (with the exception of the bottom-left corner exploit).

    Personally, I find that the allure of most bullet hell games comes from finding a tiny path within the dancing wave of bullets, fighting back within tiny pockets of space, and the intensity of narrowly dodging imminent death from the oncoming curtain of fire.

    In Fight The Power, because the bullet's movements adhere to the beat of the music, it can be difficult to find a visual pattern in the wave, and as a direct result, it can be difficult to plan an approach or an escape into or from these pockets of space, making the dodging mechanic more frustrating than thrilling or entertaining. If the bullets left some sort of lasting visual cue, or if the music only affected bullet generation and enemy movement, I suspect the player would be able to determine a visual pattern in the bullet's movements, or at least be given time to react (as the bullets themselves aren't moving erratically).

    Otherwise, a solid entry, and a game I would be interested in seeing further evolved. Great work.

    sclark39 says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:28am

    This is really hard, and the music reactions were very effective but I think would have worked better with me if I was less sleepy. :)

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:49am

    Full points for coming up with a reactive audio entry. Not sure why I'm the villain but that's cool. Great work!

    EdoMiyamoto says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:32pm

    Wow that's a really good game, i tried several mp3 to see if it was really working and it is ! Piano songs was a challenging boss ^^ good job !

    BlackBulletIV says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 3:16am

    Well this is a very interesting concept. I had fun testing out various songs with it. One problem for me is that it's too hard; I had a really even getting to the good bits of the songs, and when if I did get there, all hell broke lose and I lost. This could be helped by having a replay option, so I don't have to browse to my music every time. I'd love an invisibility option, just to see what it does with various tunes.

    I don't see much relation to the theme though. Yes, there's the description on this page, but nothing in the game itself.

    netgrind says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 3:04am

    That was really cool. I played to a bunch of Flying Lotus. You should add shooting/enemy waves, but even with out that I think I'll revisit this game now and then.

    Jan 2, 2013 @ 10:41pm

    I really like this! Makes my eyes hurt after a while. But other than that, it has a lot of potential for replayability.

    farmergnome says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 5:43am

    Okay, first things first, cool take on a shmup, I loved the variance based on the music I selected, very cool. I think the game could do with some more effects and prompts (when you get hit for example) to better portray what is happening in-game, I struggled with that but overall a well executed idea.

    I think you could take this well beyond your competition build and add all the bells and whistles and have a very solid game with an awesome mechanic, either way good work :)

    CoffeeOnimal says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 12:39pm

    I like the way that the bullets pulse to the beat of the music. Very interesting idea there.

    RawBits says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 3:02pm

    I love shmups but I miss shooting back badly in this. It lags a lot for me but I still think that the collision area is too small for the player. Nice misuc though. :)

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:42am

    Whoa, now that's a game with high cool effect :D

    Really great job, you guys. I'm definitely going to try messing around with some songs and recommending this!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]