Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 78 days, 11 hours, 18 minutes, 6 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    CYBERQUEEN - Porpentine - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    textual interface protocols engaged

    data systems compromised | data systems stabilized

    power loss to oxygen garden

    we are experiencing a minor delay

    our transit to Waystation 12 is behind schedule

    automated systems online | integration commencing | repairs complete

    thank you for your patience

    View Porpentine's journal. | View all entries by Porpentine

    Ratings

    Coolness71%
    #6Mood4.22
    #65Overall3.65
    #66Theme3.93
    #111Innovation3.51
    #335Fun2.89
    #378Humor2.48
    #539Audio1.67
    #614Graphics2.24

    Comments

    magicdweedoo says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:48pm

    Right. Wrong/

    L says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:09am

    You keep outdoing yourself, Porpentine.

    I like how the text looks slimy - blobby links and gooey dialogue.

    I like how the large selection of guns makes it obvious that the game doesn't really care and isn't actually keeping track of which one you pick. "Serrated bayonet? Yeah, whatever."

    I like the Cyberqueen's predilection for fakeouts, for breaking the narrative arcs of previous 'evil AI' games and stories - sharply, disdainfully. I especially like the way she disposes of your gun, the implication that this virtual being has quietly, impossibly, gained omnipotence over the physical world.

    Also I like the "you are the villain" scenes a great deal. u_u

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:01am

    The use of twine is wonderful. Love the intro, the text-flashes appear at the /perfect/ speed to create emotional impact.

    mildmojo says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:50am

    Well-written and really uncomfortable. Wow.

    I liked the way a few scenes let you select the same option over and over again while the action progressed. Made it feel less like a choice/branch and more like performing an action or pursuing a goal.

    "Lantern of pain" stood out.

    rumachine says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:26pm

    Thats deep

    ananasblau says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:03pm

    Very slick take on the genre, but some music or narrative would benefit the game.

    thristhart says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:13pm

    This might be the single most atmospheric game I've ever played.

    KhaoTom says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:53pm

    Amazingly innovative. For me it was perfectly skirting the edge of disgust and eroticism, I wanted to flee, but then sometimes I wanted to give in. So good!

    Atomic says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:07pm

    Yeah, I didn't enjoy this at all. But I have to admit it's very well done... in a very fucked up way!

    evilseanbot says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:04am

    "I've drunk your waste for lightyears." is my new band

    spolvid says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:23am

    Holy shit.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:42am

    Insect!!! That was really nicely done. Also I am glad my entry is not the only one built on a foundation of discomfort. :)

    Sam Driver says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:11pm

    Just brilliant.

    angrygeometry says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:59pm

    your games just keep getting better and better. holy heck. i love this. when i die i hope it is at the hands of cyberqueen.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:49am

    Best game I've played so far. And I always start out like "is this going to be gripping? It's only text after all" and then I'm like 20 minutes later, hoping there was more. I never learn

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:47am

    Achingly well written. Congratulations.

    Gungnir says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:23am

    Uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, yeah.
    Good :P

    moonkid says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:36am

    Great stuff.

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:44pm

    What the fuck just happened here?

    Nice composition. Thrilling and dense atmosphere.

    I have no idea how to rate this ^^

    chrisamaphone says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:08pm

    just amazing, perfectly inflected transitions, so dang can't-look-away powerfully uncomfortable. lets you feel the right amount of agency to make taking it away hurt.

    Maple says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:07am

    Oh dear. You have a way of sexualising/arousing that just shouldn't come from such disturbing imagery, as with your last LD entry, but you did it better in this one.

    Text adventures are interesting as a submission, because they are pretty hard to rate, and I think a lot depends on the reader's initial interest level, and imagination. Your story was hard to follow, in terms of where things were happening, but you described happenings in a fascinating way that made me want to see through to the end, regardless. You certainly painted some pretty interesting scenes in my mind, anyway. Let's put it that way. I enjoyed this.

    If I had to try to find something to criticise, it would be that in the sections where you added bits to the text automatically, it was hard to follow at first because when the screen blacks out and gives you text, you automatically put your eyes back up to the top left, losing your place. It probably would have been better to just give all the text at once instead of trying to simulate real-time conversation.

    Though, overall, this was definitely an interesting read.

    blob says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:45pm

    Wow. You won.
    My favorite on this jam...
    And I'm going through system shock 2 right now... :)

    Chinchilla says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:20pm

    Horrific and brilliant entry! Even better than your last. I always have time for a bit of Shodan, but this is far, far darker stuff than system shock. It even had some great prometheus surgery-scene vibes. My only criticism (and I feel like a huge pedant considering the quality of the writing), is that there's a typo in aerosol!

    Porpentine says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:56pm

    the surgery scene is the only part of prometheus i liked :>

    Will Edwards says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:58pm

    The mood is excellent!

    Tobias Wehrum says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:48pm

    This was, by far, the most immersive text based game I ever played. Easily the best text-based LD entry (and there were quite a few good), and one of the games here which I enjoyed the most.

    Excellent writing. The replacing is a very nice effect.

    And the most impressive thing: Normally I think quite long about choices I make. Not here. Click read no time click read click read click read--
    I can't remember a game that ever made me do that voluntarily, without any form of timer! It somehow conveyed the feeling of urgency and flow.

    I'm very, very impressed. You did an amazing job there!

    Tobias Wehrum says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:51pm

    Oh yeah, only thing to improve on: If you add text, only make the added text blink. As Maple said, you immediately jump up to the topleft and that's a bit annoying. I wouldn't cut that one out though as s/he suggests because I think that's what added the urgency for me!

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 5:36am

    Interesting take on the old Infocom text adventures. Was a creepy read :) Well done.

    jackspinoza says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:45am

    nice, quite clever, well written, a bit masochistic but intelligently so. good work.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 11:29pm

    I jumped into this game without thinking too much, and was not prepared for what it was about to do to me. Not since your last game have I been swallowed whole and probed constantly to make painful and disturbing decisions while drifting mesmerized through a haze of ultrasensory, sensual, senseless SF stimuli.

    I feel somehow molested by this experience. And I wouldn't be able to show on a doll where you've touched me, because you did it from inside.

    It's just fucking good.

    Joseph Miller says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:54am

    Your work, as usual, is engrossing. I love that a game verb is "dribble vomit down your chin" or whatever. I'd like to see you branch out a bit, but in a 48 hour compo I know it's best to stick to what you know.

    Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:10am

    I'm not really sure how to rate this...
    I mean, I found it disturbing, and that appears to have been the point...

    Jezzamon says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:32am

    going by comments, I don't think I really want to play this game. :S

    d_m says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 5:37am

    After playing this game it was having Octavia Butler smash my head open with a robot arm. It was THAT GOOD!!

    mcc says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:04am

    apparently it didn't save my rating before so i'm rating it now! to re-iterate in person thoughts, i like it and it could be seen as a sort of metaphor for reprogramming yourself during the process of transitioning

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]