Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo Begins: in 8 days, 11 hours, 22 minutes, 40 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam Begins: in 8 days, 11 hours, 22 minutes, 41 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Cookie Caper - commanderstitch - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This was an amazing effort. I was able to do things faster this time around. Balancing the game was much harder this time, considering last time it was almost impossible. I think it's a sweet little game! I solved problems faster kind of impromptu which is one of the best things about the compo of the ludumdare. :) happy daring!

    This story is about a boy who is going to steal some cookies!

    View commanderstitch's journal. | View all entries by commanderstitch

    Ratings

    Coolness50%
    #194Humor3.04
    #230Audio2.83
    #269Mood2.96
    #352Fun2.87
    #404Graphics2.83
    #422Overall2.87
    #430Innovation2.70
    #621Theme2.53

    Comments

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:54am

    Love the sound effects. I couldn't figure out how to leave the first room, any hints?

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:56am

    walk out of the room. :D

    sclark39 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:46pm

    Not seeing much of the theme here. Sounds more like you're the heroic kid stealing the cookies from the oppressive parental unit that wants you to starve.

    Casino Jack says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:59pm

    The music, sound effects and limited vision really creeped me out for some reason. Good effort though!

    31eee384 says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:38pm

    Wow, somehow the atmosphere was really creepy. Good music and sound. Graphics probably contributed to that feel as well--retro-looking, not just low-fi. Stomping on bubbled enemies to turn them into drinkable potions was kind of bizarrely surreal, too.

    Getting the cookies back to the room was a little challenging at first, since the enemies move in a strange pattern towards it whenever I put it down. I just ran for it on my second and third tries, and succeeded then. I would have liked to use my weapon more rather than relying on my built-up health, but it didn't seem balanced this way.

    Cool (and ominous) little game!

    ddionisio says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:38am

    Cute game. I like the lighting.

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:12am

    Very hard.
    I like the lighting effect.

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:05am

    not bad, has a nice bizarro vibe to it, and the bubble attack is pretty sweet. but could be a lot better. random enemy placement is terrible: they either bunch together in wads of death or start off stuck inside walls. and the minute i got a cookie i was killed by a bullshit stampede of angry cats.

    Toadpud says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:20pm

    It would have fit the theme better if the thief hadn't been portrayed as a hero.

    Rabbits... says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:35pm

    took a while to load but that was most likely my internet speeds problem and not yours, I liked when the flies got caught in the bubbles...

    ratking says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:01pm

    5/5 for audio! :-) Didn't know what to do after my cookie got eaten by vermins, so hmmmm ... Nice game overall!

    Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:54pm

    The bubbles are a great idea :D

    sPe says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:43pm

    Interesting interpretation of the theme and nice game atmosphere.

    Tom 7 says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 6:36pm

    The sound and music was good; really made me uncomfortable! The game is mostly about getting speed powerups and collecting health, it seems, though I died as soon as I reached the mom. :( I didn't have the patience to start over after all that walking! It's possible for dropped cookies to get stuck in walls, which makes the game unwinnable. Fun and weird.

    ghotifrye says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:34am

    Nice job. Really liked the art and sound. Could use a bit clearer sense of what to do (Took me really long to find out to put the cookies down on the desk in the room). Made it up to where the Mom boss spawns in and brutally murders you. :)

    Dec 31, 2012 @ 8:52pm

    Thanks for all the comments guys! Really makes me smile. :) i'm glad someone discovered the unwinnable wall placement of cookie error. There is also one where you put it on the ground in the bed room and leave the room. that makes it unwinnable. Also, has anyone discovered the secret bug where you get dev settings? ;) My sister found it. I think it's hilarious that those settings are in the game! :O

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]