Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo Begins: in 8 days, 11 hours, 23 minutes, 44 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam Begins: in 8 days, 11 hours, 23 minutes, 45 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    London Bridges - LPGhatguy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    In London Bridges, you play as a bridge near the end of its life. People are trying to cross your bridge, but you decide it's best for you if you throw them off so they fall to their death in the whirl pool below.

    All sounds (even the goats and birds) were me, and all the music is played on one of two baroque recorders.

    For platforms other than Windows, go to http://love2d.org/ and download the appropriate installation. Download the "LOVE2D" download from here and pass it as an argument to the application you installed earlier.

    View LPGhatguy's journal. | View all entries by LPGhatguy

    Ratings

    Coolness54%
    #13Audio3.82
    #17Humor3.93
    #45Fun3.68
    #86Overall3.57
    #114Innovation3.50
    #187Mood3.14
    #218Theme3.54
    #323Graphics3.04

    Comments

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:24am

    Surprisingly fun!

    ripter says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:28am

    I love the "Winning!" Fun game!

    Crowbeak says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:32am

    Very solid, nice and simple and well executed. Audially, I think it would benefit from an adjustment of volume so the narrtion stands out more. Lots of fun, though, good use of goats... and no fair with the birds! xD

    karlin says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:32am

    Really nice game. You took a simple idea and presented in a lovely way. Great voice work too!

    Got to level 10, I'm never gonna beat that one :s

    ming_tea says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:52am

    The music and voice work really added a lot to this. I had a lot of fun!

    ddionisio says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:42am

    I can tell you had a lot of fun making this game, the audio and music added a lot. :)

    TomK32 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:38am

    Brilliant game, I heard narrative and realized: that's one feature mine is missing.

    But I'm getting weary of clicking. Maybe a giant mouse pointer and no more clicking could benefit the game.

    leafo says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:25am

    This is a great game. I really enjoyed the voice acting. The last level destroyed me though :(

    Red Mike says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:00pm

    Very fun game! I enjoyed the voices and the music, as well.

    cappelnord says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:47pm

    Nice recorder playing :-D

    DaviDeMo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:43pm

    Wow, very fun! I liked the sound and your voice =D

    LogGiant says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:46pm

    Great game, music wasn't too invasive, gameplay was simple and straightforward, great concept, scaled in difficulty very well. I'm sure with more time there could have been more work put into the graphics. Great game for a 48 hour submission.

    MarekkPie says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:58pm

    Too big of a screen for my little netbook. I'll have to give it a try on my desktop to see what's up.

    MaTX says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:59pm

    Stellar premises and presentation, but not so great gameplay. It is fun although not really polished (but that's normal for a jam). Fun theme, although I am not sure how the bridge is supposed to throw people :D

    LPGhatguy says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:06am

    MarkkPie: I was really debating on whether to make it 720p or a smaller resolution. Because of technical restrictions I hadn't dealt with yet in the engine, most of the resolution stuff is hardcoded.

    psychopsam says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:36am

    It was fun because there was a goat in it :D I really enjoyed throwing people off the bridge. It was required to strategise on which floor and which good people to throw off to pace the assault. Well round and nice ending if you lose. Never won. Nice work nonetheless! I didn't like the voice though - a bit depressing. However the music was pleasant.

    jsmars says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 2:19pm

    Fun game! Well made!

    pighead10 says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:05am

    Found it repetitive after a while. Cute graphics and great voice and music.

    recursor says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:18pm

    The goat and human death sounds could use a bit more variety, but the baroque recorder music is really cool. Nice entry/

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:50am

    very cute and fun, although i wasn't too crazy about having to change views between the upper and lower level. the voice work and music really do raise this game from "neat" to "fantastic".

    debatable whether i'm really the villain, though: it's self-preservation!

    aare says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 3:16pm

    Lovely dubbing and music. Really innovative and fun concept!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]