Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 8 hours, 0 minutes, 43 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Prison Break! - tnch4_ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    John Redneck, mass serial killer, decides to break out of prison. He decides he wants to get out in style so he wants to kill a 100 guards and collect their caps as proof (so he can boast to his serial killer bros). Anyway, with infinite ammo he sets out through the holding cells, cafeteria and finally the courtyard to escape.

    Controls:
    Arrow Keys - Move
    Down Arrow - Stand back
    Z - Jump
    X - Shoot

    Made in Flash AS3 with Flashpunk library.

    View tnch4_'s journal. | View all entries by tnch4_

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #338Graphics3.00
    #346Theme3.26
    #505Humor2.11
    #523Audio1.80
    #524Fun2.51
    #564Mood2.40
    #572Overall2.62
    #709Innovation2.00

    Comments

    chrismwaite says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 9:14pm

    Enjoyable game and I really like your graphics

    tnch4_ says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 10:58pm

    Thanks :)

    namuol says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:23am

    I like the pixels, but they really need some animation to come to life. I like how the "stand-back" mechanic feels.

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:29am

    Stand Back mechanic has a fun little bug where you can start moving before standing back, and slide along the wall all mysterious-like.

    Neat little game, add in some smooth animations ala Superbrothers Sword+Sworc. and you'd have a really beautiful looking game on your hands.

    LucaPavone says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:35am

    It was enjoyable, but I didn't find myself making that much use of the stand-back mechanic since I'm too used to playing Super Crate Box.

    tumoxep says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:56am

    Nice.

    tim_u says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:26am

    I really liked the "stand-back" feature. The levels and the fact that the guards don't shoot means that you can just find a spot and hold space until your quota is sitting on the ground.

    adnzzzzZ says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:47am

    Pretty solid and it sort of reminds me of Super Crate Box.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:23am

    Like the stand-back mechanic, and the jumping around is pretty slick.

    tompudding says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:37am

    The graphics are lovely, nicely minimilast. The gameplay is pretty basic though, and I wished my gun had been a bit more reliably in terms of when it would shoot!

    Meep says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:46am

    I like the graphics, but they could have used some animation. The stand-back mechanic is a neat idea, but I feel it needs some limitations (not sure what, though).

    munchor says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:57am

    Very good game designing skills, well-drawn levels, the standing back is a great features, it's also super fun (5/5 fun).

    jmk says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:13am

    As others have said, the stand-back mechanic is really nifty. But since it was too easy to stand in one place and mow the guards down, I didn't really get to use it.

    I think some improved guard AI could go a long way toward forcing me to use it -- but of course there ought to be some cost to it, as well.

    Also, this must be a pretty nasty prison if every room has a bottomless pit! I kid, I kid. ;)

    Drabiter says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:39am

    Like the graphics. Lot easier than SCB because there're hotspots (stand there and just spam the shoot).

    Peltast says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:52am

    Surprisingly interesting. Generally you can find a place where you just hold 'shoot' and are invulnerable, but the catch is that you then have to go over and collect the hats while avoiding incoming guards.

    I think there's way more room to explore in terms of the level design.

    syawqy says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:27pm

    remind me of supercrate box

    Tifu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:41pm

    Too easy to just stand in one place and slaughter everyone, do the cops even shoot? They didn't seem to be in my play. Am added difficulty that I was almost expecting to happen, is if the cops could have picked up the hats they ran over on their way through the level, would have added some incentive to run around the level and not just spam one hiding spot perhaps.

    ananasblau says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:12pm

    Yay, prison break. I got one of those in the workings as well (branched from a cross country running game).

    You're loosing on the mood, with no "we want out" shouts as background music. And I think much too often in a prison break story, movie etc. the prisoner is the good guy, no?

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:18pm

    Nice graphics, I liked the stand-back mechanic

    Casino Jack says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:51pm

    Looks great, pretty fun, but the enemies move a little too fast.

    Komradus says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:34am

    Cool graphics but pretty easy once you learn the guards movement paths + the best spots to stand.

    Houly says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:57pm

    Very Super Crate Box'ish. But a little bit easy. I like how the prisoner looks.

    Tobias Wehrum says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:19pm

    Nice idea. I especially like the stand back mechanic. I didn't need to use it though: There is no need to move through a level, and I can easily just stand at a safe spot, shoot everybody, and once I've shot enough, instantly collect all the caps I need to win the level.

    The graphics are simple, but I quite like them. Regarding the audio: Good thing you've included at least the shooting sound effect! (I'm always amazed when somebody makes a shooter and doesn't include it.)

    Good job all in all for 48 hours.

    zenmumbler says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 5:10pm

    Why don't the guards shoot back? I had no need for the stand back. Stand in sweet spot, hold fire, wait, collect, win.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]