Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 0 hours, 16 minutes, 26 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 0 hours, 16 minutes, 27 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Adventures of Tim Burr - Sgt Squirrelly - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    My second Ludum Dare Entry! A stealth based logging game (the first ever?) where you avoid the hippies while destroying the forest from beneath them. Enjoy!

    Move with WASD or Arrow Keys
    Pause with P
    Use Space Bar and Enter to navigate menus

    Note: Due to an accidental Trademark Infringement, the name of the game has changed. The guys (and girls) at Owlchemy Labs were super cool about it, and you should definitely check out their games!

    View Sgt Squirrelly's journal. | View all entries by Sgt Squirrelly

    Ratings

    Coolness59%
    #131Fun3.36
    #176Overall3.35
    #181Humor3.09
    #305Audio2.59
    #321Mood2.87
    #346Theme3.26
    #390Graphics2.86
    #421Innovation2.72

    Comments

    TylerC says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:28am

    There is just something about that sound when you get caught...

    jcvsmc says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:39am

    This is really great! Good example of simple but fun concept done really well :)

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:53am

    I like it. Reminds me of Metal Gear Solid with trees. really picks up about 6-7 levels in and gets challenging. Good puzzle game here especially if you introduce more and more mechanics.

    Manuel777 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:07am

    First time I see hippies in a game haha, good use of the theme :D

    dalbinblue says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:30am

    There's something funky going on with the detection logic on the last level. I got caught many times when I was nowhere near a hippies line of sight. Did finish it though.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:34am

    @dalbinblue That may have something to do with a weird bug I wasn't able to find that sometimes hides the enemy sightlines when they're close to the bottom of the screen. I'll take another look at it. The only other thing I can think of is it may not work properly on a zoomed in browser, never really tested it. Thanks for playing all the way through!

    CappaGames says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:08am

    Stealth based logging where you avoid hippies...that's an awesome idea, just wish there was some story to capitalize on this funny idea. Good game though. Reminds my a lot of our LD 23 game Honey Heist.

    rujo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:36am

    wow we nearly had the same idea! :)
    nice design!

    bach says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:06pm

    I really enjoyed this, great job. And I think hacking down trees does make you a terrible villain. Good job! :)

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:07pm

    Pretty nice and somewhat hard too :)

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:12pm

    Nice take on the can't seen stealth genre, but doesn't really relate to the theme.

    FinalMirage says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:21pm

    Cool idea, the remark about loud music and being deaf was pretty funny. :)

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:36pm

    What a nice sweet game. The game is lovely and a great idea. The graphics are lovely and the controls are fine.

    The only problem I had with the game was the caught audio. It burns the ears! :D

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:43pm

    Man, why do people gotta stop me from getting wood? Haha, I'm not sure if that joke was intended, but I laughed nonetheless. Pretty cool game, though I didn't realize I was a villain until I read in the comment below that the people on the lookout for you are hippies. Missed that somehow!

    Oreganik says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:13am

    Top marks! I love how you justified their inability to hear the chopping. =) This is the greatest stealth logging game ever made.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:47pm

    Loved the humor in this one, the game's description made me laugh! The game is pretty good too, stealthy wood chopping action! Nice job!

    Gazok says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:19am

    Couldn't get the Windows version to work: "There should be '12.16.12.2637PCNEWNAME_Data'
    folder next to the executable". Really nice game, though. I got to the end, and then my major complaint stopped me: it's too easy, when you die, to accidentally keep hitting S and select Main Menu instead of retry. I really liked how well the difficulty scaled, and the jokes were good.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:39am

    Thanks for the feedback Gazok. I think I broke the Windows link when I had to go in and change the name, should be fixed now. Also, I also hate the problem with the menus you mentioned, its probably the thing I dislike the most about the game. Am I able to apply a fix to that within the rules?

    Gazok says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:53am

    You're welcome. Personally, I wouldn't object, because I didn't take it into account when rating your game. I saw the thing about your name change: that was a bit of bad luck :P

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:21pm

    I love stealth games, so sneaking past guards always is a win in my book. Its a very simple concept which works well.

    Blodyavenger says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:36pm

    Game may not be the most innovative but it's really fun to play it. Simple timing puzzle game with cute graphics and nice amount of levels - I had fun, well done! :)

    Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:43pm

    Nice littl stealth-game! Music fits weirdly wel.

    sPe says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 4:03pm

    Interesting and solid gameplay. Simple but consistent graphics and audio. The hippie direction changes can be a bit too surprising at times.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]