Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 15 hours, 9 minutes, 45 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Get Ready for LD!) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Spy Trouble - Sos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    I wanted to make a platformer properly for once! I hope I did well!

    The instructions are in the game!

    There are 2 different endings! Can you do the right thing?

    Made using FlashPunk!

    NOTE:
    Read the instructions carefully and learn the controls!
    If you have any trouble at some point, refer to the spoiler-free speedrun video I made!

    NOTE 2:
    I hear playing with gamepad is easier! If you do so, map SPACE, X and C.

    View Sos's journal. | View all entries by Sos

    Ratings

    #8Fun4.01
    #14Humor3.95
    #16Overall4.03
    #37Audio3.62
    #41Mood3.68
    #76Graphics3.91
    #366Innovation2.86
    #376Theme3.19
    #742Coolness46%

    Comments

    Spierek says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:25am

    Really fun Metroid-esque game. You've nailed the controls nicely.

    ChainedLupine says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:38am

    Haha, very fun! Reminds me of a much more fluid Flashback.

    KhaoTom says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:05am

    Nice short platformer. I suck too much at wall jumping to win it though. Ow my fingers...

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:11am

    Nice Platformer! Love the sliding and the dust-effects. And entire game just around sliding (a runner, for example) would be awesome :D

    A few on the screen-transtitions were a tad difficult (if not outright unfair and punishing) though.

    lucars83 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:12am

    Wow, nice.

    adnzzzzZ says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:10am

    This was really fun. For some reason I found the character's animation really hilarious. The controls and features are pretty nicely implemented too! Really good job.

    RylandAlmanza says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:01am

    Awesome! Very fun and polished!

    FireSlash says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:12am

    Other than the wall jumping which hates me, the controls were really tight and the whole thing is really nice and polished. Graphics are ace, story is cute.

    SimianLogic says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:13am

    The animations are hilarious and the game looks/sounds great. I'm missing the theme, though... maybe in the ending? I kept dying, though.

    The one thing that annoyed me with the controls was the lack of headroom--jumping and hitting something sort of bounces you back down, which makes some of the jumps really hard to hit.

    jmk says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:13am

    Nice job! Clever progressive level design, and great all-around package. I love the over-the-top character animation.

    I agree that the screen transitions added some difficulty to otherwise simple moves -- if this was intentional, then it worked. :) If not, scrolling or a larger viewable area would help.

    leafo says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:14am

    Man the movement is tough to get. The gameplay was fun though, and I enjoyed the different upgrades. Great job as usual!

    Marco Jonkers says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:01am

    Haha, I like it! The game feels complete and it all fits together.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:17am

    Good stuff, as always. Got the common ending, I guess, where you go back in and disarm it. Movement was a little fast for my reflexes but mechanically it was solid.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:07am

    This is really great.

    DavidErosa says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:33am

    I had SO mucho fun with this one! Unluckily for me, I could not make it to the "final mission" so I don't know what the other ending is. Will find out later :)

    spolvid says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:42am

    Probably my favorite LD25 game so far.

    syawqy says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:28pm

    the movement is really slippery,but this game is really fun

    nate427 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:04pm

    Sos, once again you've hit the nail on the head. It's funny, the controls are natural, the mood is charming, and it's incredibly fun. 5/5 would buy.

    fr_automatik says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:37pm

    Nice game, sos!
    But I found a bug : You could launch grenades before unlocking them : you need to press X and C at the same time .

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:46pm

    So many skills but how I shoot downwards? Did I miss something? Overall good job.

    Polar says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:20pm

    Loved it :) Reminds me of all the old Metroid games :P

    pighead10 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:24pm

    Transitions are irritating. But otherwise, fun, lively and awesome!

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:35pm

    Fun game

    vrav says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:06pm

    Awesome. I'm guessing <spoilercharacterspoiler> pulls all the strings.

    Mago says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:41pm

    Great game. Impresive graphics espessaly main character.
    Litte hard I kept dying and dying.
    Great work :D

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:23pm

    Difficult, but fun! I really like the main character animations, especially the slides. I also really love the way you made it feel pretty non-linear, even though as far in as I played there weren't really branching paths.

    Nik says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:43pm

    Very well executed, but I found that the character's shoes were unnecessarily slippery. Nice work though!

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:43pm

    A Fantastic game! Sweet sprite work, really polished level design which exploits the unlockable abilities throughout, atmospheric music and a great twist at the end, really REALLY enjoyed playing through this.

    BNeutral says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:47pm

    The best ending twist.

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:54pm

    This was hilarious! Great entry, but no spoilers here.

    Only problem: The controls. Very difficult :P

    joekinley says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:21am

    Awesome game as always.
    Graphics are dope, music is dope (although there is always a connection to the basic mixdown from MxPixel). The polish is awesome.
    The mood is awesome, the humor as always perfect, cool game and nice twist at the end. Overall a top game.

    ilo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:58am

    Frustrating transitions aside, this was brilliant. :)

    01010111 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:50am

    Solid platformer, and it's so funny! Great job Sos :D

    Dezzles says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:16am

    Lots of fun! One of my favourite games so far. Controls took a little bit to get used to

    Crynix says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:24am

    Really really great. Love the music, level design, graphics, humor, etc. It's all very good.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:26am

    Greate game, but some controls are really hard(i'm looking at you walljump)

    loren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:49am

    Awesome game, great character motion, music and art style. So fun! :)

    RARoadkill says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:54am

    Very cool game. Felt very complete. Upgrades made me keep wanting to play.

    soy_yuma says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:59am

    Simple and Fun. Really close to perfect! :-D

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:25am

    Good job.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:40am

    i really enjoyed the running animations

    zatyka says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:47am

    Very fun gameplay. Awesome graphics. The only gripe I have is the controls for hanging off a ledge. They felt very unnatural. Awesome as always!

    zeh says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:52am

    Very well done! Great music too.

    BenW says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:14am

    Sweet game. It's a little frustrating that its actually hardest right at the beginning before you get any abilities and while you're getting used to the controls.

    atrodo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:55am

    I thought the controls were a little loose, especially the wall jumping, but a lot of fun anyways. A good challenge.

    ddionisio says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:04am

    I love the ending, that pretty much gave this game's humor... and the Michael Jackson-esque move animations.

    Joncom says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:24am

    One of the funnest games I've played from LD25!

    Suese says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:27am

    The character animation was great. The music was enjoyable.

    Ditto says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:52am

    I wasn't able to defuse the bomb, but the story was hillarious ^^ Your game is fucking solid! Great job! 5 in all fields!

    ratking says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:09am

    Wow! Great game!

    iandioch says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:28am

    Haha. Wow.

    marudziik says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:46am

    Great music and character animations. The movement is a little bit slippery. Other than that, the story is funny and the game fun to play, but also pretty hard. Liked it.

    killmonday says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:07pm

    I loved the music! Lovely retro feel too

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:51pm

    Fun game, but the agent moved so fast! He was hard to control in almost all situations!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:58pm

    Was fun, I enjoyed this Sir/Madam!

    Lashiz121 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:05pm

    It's a great game but the truth is that I suck at platformers so its not a game for me.

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:16pm

    The level design is just perfect. I don't rate it yet just to be sure to play it again later (I'm at work right now)

    Hapistorique says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:22pm

    Nice game :)

    jujule says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:25pm

    I love the atmosphere and the whole art direction. The intro is super good. But the controls were somewhat frustrating : I felt there was a delay between pressing a key and the actual action. I'd love to play a version with better controls.

    kacperski1 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:20pm

    Great game! Not as good as McPixel, but still awesome!
    Go, Sos, Go!

    emveyh says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:26pm

    Has some kind of metroid feeling to it. The controls are really fun! The music is fitting and the graphics / animations are awesome :)

    Maristak says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:34pm

    Neatly done. Love the music, the graphics and the controls.

    YopSolo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:41pm

    wow, great game and great challenge !

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:45pm

    Pretty fun. I could not tell where I was. A minimap might have helped that. Overall very cool, stylish, great controls. Great job!

    DaviDeMo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:48pm

    OMG beautifull! very very cool animation, graphic and gameplay =D

    ahmed.majd says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:00pm

    It's amazing not innovative , but very amazing, and i like so much your Level Design...Big up ;)

    zompi says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:25pm

    Zajebis... khem khem... I can't believe you've done it in 48h, very long and complex game! It was sometimes frustrating when I couldn't grab the edge even when he jumped to it but the fun was great.

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:50pm

    Hmmm...That was way funnier on my office computer. Mine is way too laggy. Anyway, this is awesome, and you aren't responsible of my bad hardware!

    7Soul says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:22pm

    Although really fun, it's quite buggy, and the movement seems unresponsive a lot of the time (not grabbing to ledges, etc).

    angrygeometry says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:44pm

    this is really polished, feels pretty nice to play. lasers killed me a few times (got trapped falling into them) and i'm bad at platform games but enjoyed it. nice one.

    Boiúna says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:53pm

    Realy good game, very funny and the metroidvania style is awesome.

    recursor says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:20pm

    I think the pixel style 'agent' art and the rest of the background clash with each other IMO. The agent is really well-drawn and I'd like to see the rest of the graphics done in the same style. There were a couple of places where the controls frustrated some. I think maybe he moves a bit too fast? In spite of those two things I enjoyed playing it!

    ahm99 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:30pm

    This is hilarious. "YOU IDIOT THIS IS YOUR LABORATORY!!!" haha. Pretty funny. Good job :)

    gregfagan says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:57pm

    Great job, though I found the control mechanics to be a little bit difficult at times (especially around the wall jumping and jumping off when grabbed to a ledge).

    dremelofdeath says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:48am

    awesome game!

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:43am

    Amazing art and very slick gameplay, as good as McPixel!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:09pm

    Awesome job! The controls felt very slick, and the animations were great. I kept getting huge FPS drops whenever dust particles would be created a lot, or right in the beginning when I fell down through a few screens. Not sure why that was.

    DST says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:55pm

    One of the best games I've seen thus far!

    Clodial says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:22pm

    I really liked the speed of the game. Yes, I found it hard but I it added the speed felt right, y'know?

    Kuulog says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:56pm

    Fun Medroidvania game with fluid controls.

    borso says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:58pm

    Fun! Smooth movement, intuitive controls, feels really fluid!! Kudos for the soundtrack! It's just not representig the theme enough i think.

    Per says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:28am

    Really fun game!
    The graphics is great and the overall impression is very professional.
    Personally, I think that the guy slides to far when trying to stop.

    pighead10 says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:27pm

    Also, unfortunately too laggy and small to run on my netbook!

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:52pm

    HAHAHA awesome ending! I was able to play with a gamepad and it was much easier. Definitely suited for a controller and not a keyboard. Art is great, music is great, humor is great. The last part is hard as hell, though because you're freaking out so much. But yeah... REALLY SOLID!

    char68 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:37am

    Really awesome game! It's unbelievable you got all this done in 48 hours :) The audio is awesome, the graphics are great, and even the animations are fantastic. Nice work, I hope to be playing more of your games in the near future!

    Claite says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:55am

    Really fun! The controls weren't super tight, but I think it's because I suck haha well done!!

    OrangeeZ says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:13am

    Great game! Movement is very fluid, and essence of metroidvania is nailed quite nicely!

    pythong says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:32pm

    Very slippery, really. Maybe the guy should buy different shoes :)
    Graphics are slid, love the deatil on the laser shooters. Also, I like how the bgm reminds me of McPixel

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 2:25am

    Fantastic entry! Really enjoy playing it.

    MrEvilGuy says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:19am

    Beautiful controls and game! Kind of wish I was invincible because it's funny watching him not die.

    Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:11pm

    Nice work sos. I missed one room and struggled for a while to find it. i think i got both endings... maybe. :)

    kibertoad says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:55pm

    One of the best sos games ever!

    Van Merwan says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 4:20pm

    Even my fingers are laughing, I can't comment, sorry.

    Gungnir says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 5:48am

    Terrific fun thanks to well implemented controls, balanced challenge and great level design. Great comedic tone too.

    Norgg says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:15pm

    Yes.

    Xeke_Death says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:08am

    Had some issues with wall jumping, but probably just my lack of coordination in the morning... Good work..!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]