Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 29 days, 20 hours, 31 minutes, 24 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Greater of Two Evils - eli - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Hooray for board games!

    UPDATE: rewrote some of the rules for clarity. Added "acknowledgements" section. Thanks to Alan Hazelden (@draknek) for valuable feedback leading to this update.

    You are a villainous mastermind, able to leech life from the surroundings at your slightest whim. You take pleasure ruining the natural beauty of the world and the bountiful resources available to ordinary men. And yet -- you are not alone in your despicable cravings! During your travels, you encounter a rival, bent on the same unearthly desires as your own. Unable to agree on how best to divy up the land, you resort to tearing through and consuming all before your opponent can.

    Claim your place as the most cunning, ruthless, and unfeeling villain this insignificant part of the world has ever known!

    You will probably have to print this out and find a friend to play with, if you want to really experience the game.


    NOTE: Contains goats.

    View eli's journal. | View all entries by eli

    Ratings

    #13Innovation4.14
    #192Mood3.13
    #274Overall3.16
    #304Theme3.33
    #342Humor2.60
    #372Fun2.83
    #475Graphics2.68
    #742Coolness46%

    Comments

    aare says ...
    Dec 15, 2012 @ 11:22pm

    +1 for originality :D
    Too bad it doesn't come with singleplayer or camapign mode though...

    Suese says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:33am

    I can't see what strategy there is, especially if there are only two players. Regardless, the entry and rules were clear and tight.

    eli says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:07pm

    @aare: thanks! Sorry, it's a board game. Maybe I'll digitize it some day.

    @suese: sorry to hear that. In testing I found that the disintegrating board allows for some nontrivial choke strategies. But it's not chess, I suppose.... Thanks for the feedback.

    angela says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:24am

    um... well, i didn't rate it because it says "Do not score unrunnable entries." But - it's probably still better than my game :) +10 for innovation!

    alwaysinbeta says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:04pm

    Surprising and cool to see a board game entry. I like the concept of competitive wanton destruction!

    grifdail says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:25pm

    Board game ! Awesome ! I'm print it to play it tomorow ! But the rule are well explain ! It's gonna be awesome ! (I'm gonna play it with my math teacher. He love that kind of game !)

    galman says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:33pm

    Eli! Looks like a really awesome board game, I really like the graphics :) I jus't can't wait to play it on our next meetup ;)

    oldtopman says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:38pm

    Fellow review-readers, what we have here is a marvelous example of a game. eli has provided me with the best game in the entire Ludum Dare thus far. I'll cover each category separately.

    Innovation (5/5): Of all the board/card games I've played, this one manages to pack an interesting mechanic into a game without wasting hours setting it up (See: D&D, or other tabletop RPGs). The gameplay is simple, perhaps too much so, but it has a simple mechanic that captures my attention far longer than any game so far.

    Fun (5/5): The idea of becoming a villain just to destroy the environment is a captivating one. The ability to destroy tiles and watching the game become an almost maze is unique and entertaining.

    Theme (5/5): "You Are the Villain". It doesn't get much better here. Polluting oceans, burning forests, causing plagues, and enslaving people is about as villainous as you can get. Oh wait. You're competing against another villain at the same time. It's only a pity I can't double this score.

    Graphics (5/5): In four words, unbelievable. It felt like I was really on my kitchen table playing this game. Despite my slightly aging computer, I was unable to discern pixels, nor were there any graphical hiccups. 60(+)FPS, easily. A little creepy that the AI looked like my family, but such is a game. The patterns on the cards were the icing on the cake. Simple, yet informative.

    Audio (5/5): The clearest sound I've heard from a game yet. Absolutely incredible voice work from the AI as well.

    Humor (5/5): Again, the AI is a well-rounded thing, being hilarious without coming off as fake or perpetually chipper. It had me laughing at many a time.

    Mood (5/5): I rate mood as "Was I into the game". The answer here? A definitive YES! Nothing beats cackling about burning down forests while you're in a rush to go pollute an ocean

    Overall (5/5): An impossibly well done game, with some excellent cross-platform support. Works well on my AFW furniture, on my Ikea furniture, even my floor. I love board games, but hate the setup/cleanup, and you've taken all of that out.


    Notes: I love the simplicity of the game, but I made 3 additions to add a little more strategy.
    #1: Players start in opposite corners.
    #2: No sharing spaces with other players. (or jumping over them).
    #3: Add one extra turn to the time it takes for a tile to be destroyed.

    oldtopman says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:10pm

    Appendix: My tile set: http://imgur.com/a/mcJa3#0
    (glued to a cardboard backing)

    impulse9 says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 4:21pm

    Wow, this is certainly innovative. Cool entry.

    Jan 3, 2013 @ 8:14pm

    Impressive! Love the low-fi images. Gameplay looks solid too.

    Neonlare says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 10:51pm

    Superb, words can't describe how awesome the presentation of this is. Shame it doesn't come with Singleplayer but holy hell, this is something else.

    donmilham says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 3:59am

    My "box" was missing the black and red pawn. Also, hand compiling the source was somewhat time consuming. Nonetheless, you came up with a neat little board game with well written rules. The game packs away nicely into a zip-lock bag for future play. Also, nice aesthetics.

    Jan 4, 2013 @ 7:26pm

    Wow, that is really original!
    I really like the way it looks like as well.
    I really like the picture on thewse cards as well, good job!
    It is really cool that you have worked on this game together with your wife!
    Great entry!

    Msquirrel says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:37am

    I like the innovation in this and the fact it's a non digital entry :)

    Per says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 12:19pm

    I enjoy this very much :). Creative and maxed outside-the-box thinking.
    I don't own a printer though so I'll have to play some other time.
    A 3D-printable game next time perhaps? ;)

    Start_ says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 3:22pm

    I liked the destroying of the board very much, which along with solid simple rules, allows for some interesting emergence. Kudos!

    RawBits says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:09pm

    Nicely done! I'll go and beat my brother in this right now. :)

    Start_ says ...
    Jan 11, 2013 @ 1:16pm

    Having played it a bit more, I actually want to second on what oldtopman said. This was the best game I've played this time around, and I did test the one that ended up winning early on. It was very fun too, and impressive in many ways, but as far as wanting to play it, I want to play this game more. Congrats again!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]