Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
Also check out the Ludum Dare 30 results!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 76 days, 6 hours, 59 minutes, 7 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon) | Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    A Chistmas Rebel - DDDBOMBER - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    A Shoot 'Em Up platformer where you play an elf wanting to ruin Christmas by killing all the reindeer's. This is my second Ludum Dare and I am a 14 year old game developer.

    REQUIRES JAVA

    View DDDBOMBER's journal. | View all entries by DDDBOMBER

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #156Fun3.29
    #158Overall3.39
    #160Audio3.04
    #173Humor3.11
    #187Mood3.14
    #194Graphics3.43
    #271Theme3.43
    #540Innovation2.49

    Comments

    Mezzomatto says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:16am

    Very nice. Giving the names to the reindeer is the perfect touch.

    madmaw says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:57am

    I was impressed by the enemy AI i this one. They navigate the game world really well.

    tumoxep says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:58am

    I didn't expect that Rudolph will be so strong.
    Very nice game.

    MvT says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:12am

    Nice game, i enjoyed kill penguins.

    Kiyaku says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:13am

    Haha this was a fun little game. The music got a bit redundant but everything else sounded good. Really loving the graphics!

    lur says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:23am

    I have all the presents.

    Gemberkoekje says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:24am

    A fun game. I did find the jumping to be a bit overdoing it, and shooting stuff on ledges is a bit hard.

    - Graphics are good
    - Game type is a tad overdone, but at least this one is done well ;)
    - Weapon types are good
    - I found it somewhat confusing that each time I picked up a package my gun changed.

    Meep says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:29am

    I really liked the graphics and AI in this. I feel he jumped too high for a fixed-jump height design. Having the character do a shorter hop when releasing the jump button early might give it a more controllable feel. :) Great work!

    Ithildin says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:41am

    Well done! The game does a combo and fits the theme and the time of the year :)

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:18am

    I liked it having the Christmas feel and being the bad guy to it, only down side was jumping seems like it was over the top like you jumped too high but still an awesome game

    thristhart says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:15pm

    Mute button! Please! I enjoyed the music, but when I wanted to play while talking to someone, it suddenly became really irritating.

    (on a personal note, this game is good enough to stand on its own merits - don't sell yourself short by talking about your age)

    infernet89 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:45pm

    Woha, impressive amount of features for a 48hours work! And i love mix evil and christmas, i made that too!

    Felix20 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:14pm

    Nice game.
    pros
    Good graphics
    Good sound (option to turn off music maybe?)
    nice theme/mood
    cons
    jumping is very fast and high, would have been nice to be able to jump lower by tapping the jump button.
    when you are near the top, the snow gets in the way of your weapon display.

    Colapsydo says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:36pm

    I spent a nice time playing this game.
    I found the level well designed and I like the various sprites.
    The music is nice and Christmasish but a bit too repetitive.

    Theorem says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:41pm

    It was fun and looked good. I thought the jumping was hilarious. Made it different.
    I didn't like that it auto-selected the gun for you after you pick up ammo for it.
    Gun icons with ammo counter might help.

    leafo says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:34am

    cool game, the jumping is crazy. it would be nice if you weren't able to run out of ammo on one of the guns.

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:19am

    The music made me a little bit crazy. But I had a lot of fun playing this. Well done.

    jerrre says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:26am

    Good game, froze my browser (FF@OSX) for a long time when openin tho'

    barigorokarl says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:56pm

    Jumping is a little bit strange, otherwise a nice game. Cool Music!

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:29am

    Nice one! I couldn't change weapons though (on an azerty keyboard, you have to press shift to get to the numbers keys). It would have been nice to let people use the arrow keys to navigate, as WASD becomes the equivalent of ZQSD on my keyboard. Well done, though!

    Nick Cash says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:54am

    Great job! This was really fun :)

    Folis says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 10:26am

    This game was really great!

    There was nice music, good graphics, and the gameplay was fun too!

    I didn't have any particular problems with it, except being bad at platforming and shooting stuff. ;) This won't make my rating worse, though!

    Keep it up!

    Neonlare says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 6:44am

    Very slick game, damn fun and good presentation to boot! Rudolph is pretty darn powerful.

    KevinWorkman says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 2:08am

    This game was really great, and the ending made me laugh out loud. Seriously impressive work, especially for a 14 year old!

    By the way, if you want a better host than dropbox (which is blocked by many firewalls), you might consider the free Java hosting offered at http://StaticVoidGames.com. This game would have fit in great with our December holidays theme!

    OU GDA says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:22pm

    Impressive game for 48hrs. I liked how high you could jump, however, it made it difficult to hit enemies on the ledges. I ended up running out of ammo as well, so it may be helpful to have the pistol have infinite ammo like many games, since it's more random if you have enough or not (Unless you have more chance for ammo the less you have and i'm just a horrible shot). When you run out of ammo, it would also have been helpful if you automatically switched to a gun that had ammo left, so you're not frantically having to search 1-4 to find a gun you can use. Overall though, great graphics and features.

    impulse9 says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:28pm

    Very impressive. :)

    arhpositive says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 1:58pm

    I would've liked a ghost mode when I got hit by one of the enemies. This way, you can die easily when you get cornered by an enemy.

    However, every other aspect of the game is truly impressive for a 14 year old programmer. Keep up the good work. Everything is great!

    goerp says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:06pm

    Wow, one of the best looking Java games I've seen. The midi tune I liked as well (after playing for a long time it can get a bit on your nerves). It has a memory of a festive christmas tune, but a evil take on it.
    Good sprites and a lot of different guns.
    My point of critiscism would be the movement/responsiveness of the elf. But that is typically the after 48hour tweaking.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 8:04pm

    Nice little game. One It's hard to see the weapon name and ammo at the top right corner because it often overlays with snow.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]