Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 18 hours, 11 minutes, 57 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 18 hours, 11 minutes, 58 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Train Splat - BipolarMike - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    A game where you play an evil man with an evil mustache, bent on tying up the world's population and dropping them in front of trains, one by one.

    Memorize the train station's schedule, and place your victims to match!
    Keep your epic evil mustache strong by making sure your victims don't get saved by the HERO!

    Note: I did not have time to make sound effects or music, as I have a full time retail job (so this was made in about 6 hours total)

    View BipolarMike's journal. | View all entries by BipolarMike

    Ratings

    Coolness65%
    #17Theme4.21
    #198Humor3.03
    #380Innovation2.82
    #387Overall2.94
    #443Fun2.68
    #587Mood2.34
    #604Audio1.20
    #646Graphics2.15

    Comments

    BipolarMike says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 6:34am

    To download from my Google Drive account, click "Windows" and then "File -> Download"

    Or you can download just the .exe file using the \/ arrow on that appears on the right when you hover your mouse over the file.

    Clavus says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:20am

    Great take on the theme :)

    pillbrain says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:42pm

    I love the premise, all villains should tie people (and by people I always imagined them as women) to train tracks.

    tompudding says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:59pm

    I admire the Heroes perseverance. They keep on going despite everyone they try to save getting splatted. Great idea, particularly the mustache mechanic, and pretty fun too!

    kevincorrigan says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:26am

    Classic, I really enjoyed this:)

    csanyk says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:35am

    It's a decent memory pattern game. Could help if you sound effects at different pitches play to reinforce the memory of where the trains are going to be. Really needs some squishy sound effects and a train horn and a diabolical snicker to make this a classic.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:35am

    Awesome! Fun memory game. It might be nice to have the traintracks colored differently or something to help tell them apart. It is kind of hard to distinguish between all the tracks when the arrows flash by quickly. The mustach length was really funny.

    BipolarMike says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:41am

    @csanyk @handCraftedRadio Yup that was all planned, just needed more time! 6 hours is not enough!!

    dalbinblue says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:58am

    Scored 5200. Not sure why I found a train consisting of the word "TRAIN" so funny.

    BipolarMike says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:01am

    /TRAIN/TRAIN/TRAIN/TRAIN/

    dcolgan says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:24am

    Excellent theme tie in. Interesting gameplay mechanic. I really like your graphics. The whole of the game is very pleasant, and I love the filler boxes with the word train on them. :) Well done for 48 hours!

    dom2d says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:13am

    Fun idea!

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:22am

    It's Simon Says for psychopaths! Obvious filler graphics are too bad but not overly distracting. I don't like Simon Says tho, so only played it for a short while :)

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:26pm

    Take that you stupid hero!

    HeXoT says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:16pm

    Nice improvement for memory games.

    JaJ says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:19pm

    Simon Says tie people to the train tracks.

    Very funny entry.

    Benjamin says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:40pm

    Fun game, I'm not sure how I can play to get this hero splat bonus, but still fun.

    BipolarMike says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:42pm

    Hero splat bonus happens when you kill every victim in a level :)

    AyCe says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:50pm

    Nice, I got 2900. This is like "I'm packing my suitcase", a german children's game, just with much more gore ^^ Some splat-sounds or animations would also have been great :)

    char68 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:50am

    Funny idea (although rather morbid :D) I agree with csanyk's comment about the change in audio to reinforce a train's location, but considering the press of time it's well done. Also, I really liked that the train is simply shown as "train" and the hero is simply shown as "hero," reminds me of VVVVVV

    moomoo112 says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 7:35am

    just like an extremely hard version of simon!

    Jan 1, 2013 @ 6:55pm

    Had a good laugh playing this, maybe try port this to a mobile device in the future?

    madpew says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 7:08pm

    nice take on a simple mechanic. too bad there was no sound. Enjoyed playing it.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]