Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 22 days, 9 hours, 25 minutes, 22 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Abrupt Salvation - NostraDamon - Jam Entry

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    NEW WALKTHROUGH VIDEO: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7irz_R2vLu0

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I you can, please download a Standalone version (Windows, Mac or Linux), for the best experience (improved graphics and performance).

    Left click: Bomb
    Right click: Dynamite

    R: Restart
    Escape: Quit

    "Bring misery, desolation and death to this peaceful Kingdom.
    The Princess does not deserve to live anymore. Does she?"

    Have fun and don't hesitate to feedback! Thanks :)
    - You can contact me by email: nostradamon@hotmail.fr
    - To follow my game releases on Twitter: @NostraDam0n

    --------------------------------------- Dev Info ---------------------------------------

    I'm still working on the performance problem. The game contains a LOT of colliders and rigidbodies (as you may noticed), and physics hugely affect performance.
    I already improved the framerate in many ways, but I'm not fully satisfied yet.

    ADDED: The Goat!

    View NostraDamon's journal. | View all entries by NostraDamon

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #10Fun(Jam)3.89
    #14Overall(Jam)3.89
    #31Mood(Jam)3.61
    #42Graphics(Jam)4.12
    #52Humor(Jam)3.34
    #67Innovation(Jam)3.39
    #77Audio(Jam)3.35
    #91Theme(Jam)3.63

    Comments

    Saisaith says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:17am

    Dude i absolutely enjoyed your game!

    Razion says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:18am

    Very fun! The TNT may be the most gratifying weapon I've ever used in a game. xD

    namuol says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:26am

    You may want to look for better hosting -- it's taking 10+ minutes to download a file under 20 megs. That's not a terribly long time, but when there are literally hundreds of games you want to play, people are going to try the ones that are fast-to-load first.

    I'll report back when the download finishes, and I get to play. That screenshot is enticing!

    cjgammon says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:27am

    this is really good, nice use of sigur ros as well! good job!

    AaronYip says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:33am

    Wow. There's a lot to commend on this game, but I feel the level design (especially the bridge!) and amazing aural buildup behoove special mentions.

    rftr says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:49am

    This is the most hilarious thing I've played all night. Well done!

    lur says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:06am

    The music is fantastic.

    namuol says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:11am

    Very satisfying to blow stuff up. The platforming bit at the end stumped me after trying 6 or 7 times and failing, though. Any tips?

    Also, I've been a Sigur Ros fan for years. ;)

    NostraDamon says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:20am

    Thanks for the feedbacks :)

    namuol: Thank you for the warning about the download speed. I added a new link (faster).
    About the platforming at the end, just blow up the sticks, it should be easier to jump on the blocs.

    xgeovanni says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:46am

    Fun game. Though sometimes the dynamite can blow a large hole in the ground, making that area unpassable.

    Suds says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:49am

    Wow. This was amazing. I've never used Unity at all, but is your SSAO effect shader based? or does Unity have its own spec for that stuff?

    Norgg says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:21am

    The graphics in this are lovely, I found the platforming physics to be a bit overly frustrating though.

    In the web version the right-click to place dynamite brings up the context menu, which then takes you away from the page if you click wrong.

    littleball says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:14pm

    The standalone "all platforms" was just an .exe file, but the web version worked okay for me,

    NostraDamon says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:18pm

    xgeovanni: Yes, explosives have to be used with caution :)

    Suds: The SSAO effect is Camera post-effect. The shader I used is the basic Unity "Lighted Toon" shader.

    Norgg: Yes, the right-click on the web version can be frustating. You can get rid of that if you go fullscreen though.

    littleball: Sorry for the wrong files, I was a little tired last night... It's now fixed :)

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:02pm

    That was fun, explote all the things! :) I spent like a minute trying to figure out where was the Sigur Ros music coming from :D

    Interbellum says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:05pm

    Cool graphics

    blackmagic says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:38pm

    Beautiful, interesting, could be great if not cursed by the physics "drawbacks". A little love for the ld progress curve would have made it perfect. thx ! :)

    Fonserbc says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:34pm

    That was fun! Dynamite sometimes can be game breaking :P but it looks great!

    Kharza says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:55pm

    Like the sort of lego world artstyle

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:13am

    Really good. Too bad there are spots where you can't get through if you're missing coins.

    PIXEL^3 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:34am

    This may have been the first five stars I've ever given an LD game. With a doubt the funnest I've played thus far, the music was great, and the explosions where extremely gratifying. My only problem was that lag that can get in the way when platforming is necessary, for example the bridge, and the pole jumps (Which I swear was made to kill you) at the end of the hallway thing. Fix the lag and this game isn't gold, it's platinum.

    ~AlucardX60

    Lapinou says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:44pm

    So cool, the music and graph are perfect, I just wanted more checkpoints :/. But very very nice game !

    NostraDamon says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:58pm

    Thanks for the nice comments :)

    PIXEL^3: I tried to play the game on many computers (fast and less fast), and I can't reproduce the lag thing, or the problem with the platforms (at the end, do you destroy the poles with your bombs?). Can you be more specific about the platforming problem you encounter (you are not jumping far enough?), and what version you played (Web or Standalone)?

    emveyh says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:53pm

    Cool game, interesting bomb meachanic. couldn't get past the princess (where the zelda song plays), but i honestly enjoyed it :)

    DST says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:00pm

    TOP SCORE!

    Fireblend says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:05pm

    Hahaha, this game is amazing. Lots of fun! The visuals and effects are absolutely top notch and the music even though it wasn't made by you it fits the whole thing perfectly. Great job, thoroughly enjoyed this.

    CireNeikual says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:39pm

    My favorite LD game so far! Nice graphics, and of course awesome physics! However, it would be nice if the bottom-most layer would always be indestructible, since the TNT makes me fall through the floor otherwise.

    TheSheep says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:56pm

    Awesome :D I want more! -- Makdaam

    DavidErosa says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:19pm

    @NostraDamon: Take a look at this: http://docs.unity3d.com/Documentation/Manual/WebPlayerBehaviorTags.html I has the same problem with the popup menu and got to disable it adding the correct option.

    DavidErosa says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:40pm

    I LOVE the game! Had tons of fun throwing bombs everywhere! But then I found myself in this situation :D

    http://img703.imageshack.us/img703/1769/capturadepantallade2012q.png

    Great game, thanks for making it!

    Floko says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:58pm

    The game looks really pretty =] but It`s kinda frustrating that sometimes the floor gets blown up and you just jave to start all over =/ the character's movespeed is also a bit slow, but nothing that actually bothers me. Overall the game is pretty nice =]

    jayhC says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:43pm

    just perfect...

    luke161 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:05pm

    Great stuff, probably my favourite of what I've played so far! The soundtrack adds so much :P It's really slow though, I'd suggest losing all the post processing effects or at least add an option to turn them off, I'm sure it would look great just with a little anti-aliasing and the clean colours :)

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:00am

    Good job. The light rays give a nice touch.

    NostraDamon says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:11am

    luke161: I ran some tests on my computer, with and without the post effects and I only earn 2-3 FPS (but my computer is pretty fast, so it could be biased). The true problem here is the HUGE number of rigidbodies, and collisions calculations at one time.

    I decreased the FixedUpdate framerate for better performances, that's why the physic bodies seem a little jerky sometimes.

    However, I will include some options to activate/deactivate the different camera effects to add some fluidity.

    Note: if you try the Standalone version, the framerate should be better, and the AA quality increased.

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:20am

    Ah yeah, this is wonderful.
    That Dynamite is so rad.

    Meep says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:25am

    Very aesthetically pleasing game. Set the mood very well with the music too. Great work! :)

    Komradus says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:50am

    Amazing, so much much and so simple. The graphics are great and the audio really gives the game some flavor. But for future reference, if your unity game has a right click ability and you build for a web player, choose "no context menu" in the build settings.

    Ariake81 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:15am

    great game but a bit cheeky putting Sigur Ros on it....

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:22am

    Great job! I enjoyed the simplistic art style and you really know how to set the mood! The music, explosions, and the screams tied together well :D

    PIXEL^3 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:31am

    Sorry for the late reply. I was playing the standalone on the fastest setting, and I think 640x480. But to be fair I had other things open which are probably to blame. I didn't try blowing up the poles so that was the problem there.
    With the lag I wasn't able to tell how far I was jumping so I ended up going too short but eventually the lag did clear up long enough for me to pass the bridge.

    ~AlucardX60

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:31am

    Oh my lord. Ahhahah. The dissonance of blowing screaming people up while a triumphant Sigur Rós song is playing is some of the best humor I've seen this LD. And blowing things up is, as we all know, amusing in itself. The low framerate on my puny laptop made some of the platforming parts more frustrating than they should be, even on low resolution and quality, but that's not the game's problem.

    Good game, good use of Unity, everyone gets a present.

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:44am

    Nicely done. I especially enjoyed the physics engine.

    Faust says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:58am

    The game is really really good, except the performance issue. You should earn a high narrative rating!

    caasi says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:54am

    I like your light, your character, and your bomb.
    Need moar bombs!

    ananasblau says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:12am

    Set aside the performance it is a fantastic game, please keep working on it.

    Maybe your landscape blocks are too tight together causing collisions all the time thus the performance drop?

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:45am

    Very nice graphic style and cool destruction physics.

    allinlabs says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:08am

    You did an amazing job, the game is very fun !

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:27pm

    Very good !

    har_g says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:50pm

    Damn, loading is slow.. (free is not good)
    But, WTH it worth it ! first, i give a top rank. second i will spam my friend to show them.

    Husky says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:24pm

    I like the material. light and shadow!
    Very Beautiful.

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:45pm

    Good fun (as physics based games often are)! Got stuck at a few points and had to restart. Can you reach the princess at the end? (are you meant to?)

    singpolyma says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:35pm

    I will try to remember to try this one when I'm at a more powerful computer. It does not run fast enough on my laptop.

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:53pm

    It's always great to explode cubes! But I admit I didn't get the point very precisely. :p Excellent graphic & audio presentation by the way.

    NostraDamon says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:11pm

    Thanks for all the comments :)
    I hear you about the performance problem, and it will be better in the next versions.

    About the princess at the end: you CAN kill her, in several ways!
    -The regular way is to launch a dynamite on the second floor, through the window. The tower will then collapse.
    - You can use bombs to reach her. Just throw a lot of bombs in the sky, they eventually push each other and reach the princess.
    - My favorite method: the Dynamite Jump. Put a dynamite on the floor, and just sit on it. You character will make a super jump, usually higher than the tower, allowing you to go on the roof.

    I'll certainly submit a walkthrough video in the next days.

    Andrey Pradun says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:17pm

    Awesome game!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:47pm

    Nice! God, I love unity.

    michax says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:51pm

    Wow, had fun playing it! Sadly got checkpoint over hole in the ground :P But i deserved it for being evil! In addition great motivational soundtrack :P

    Cyboot says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:58pm

    pretty cool game and fun to play if I would not have huge lags which makes it almost unplayable for me :(
    I am on my Laptop right now (but it can also run Crysis 3, so...) but i will definitly try to play it on my PC soon.

    The graphics and physics are amazing!
    Great job!

    Per says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:11pm

    I really like that you used the physics engine for everything :).
    The graphics was really nice. Good use of shaders.
    The music was high quality work.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:25pm

    The right-click needs to be enabled for the web build. Fun with physics!

    olkeencole says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:54pm

    Really good game, level is for the most part designed well, sometimes I feel like my bombs can't reach and for the princess I used dynamite but it didn't do enough?
    Overall I'd want to feel more mobile and more powerful, sometimes I feel like I'm only slightly shifting blocks. Well done however, you did a lot of good stuff for this game.

    Darkfrost says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:52am

    Really good, nice everything overall and funny ^^

    dremelofdeath says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:41am

    Props for the use of Sigur Ros as the background music. I really enjoyed the TNT, although I several times made a hole I couldn't cross :P Good work, hope to see more!

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:19am

    This was very awesome. I loved the lighting, the graphics. My favorite was how the ground bumped when it was blown up - nice touch.

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:16am

    I would rather listen some original music and audio effects :(. Maybe you could disable some rigidbodies for better performance, don't know. I was a bit annoyed because I made a huge hole to the platform with the dynamite like three times and had to restart. But I finished the game because it was quite fun :). The idea was good.

    NostraDamon says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:51pm

    I pusblished a walkthrough video, please take a look! :)
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7irz_R2vLu0

    Dew says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:29am

    Very nice game, emotional ending. I want to kill the princess :S

    radmars says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:57pm

    Very awesome visual style! Controls were a bit clunky though. Rightclick was kinda wonky in the web version as well, It brings up the right-click prompt most of the time *_*. Overall pretty awesome though :D

    Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:33am

    Great little experience! The silly physics and explosions (who doesn't love 'em?) make for some funny gameplay, all wrapped in an overdramatic narrative wherein a man discovers himself through acceptance, love, heartbreak, betrayal, and forgiveness.

    ... Or maybe not.

    I tried to dynamite the goat. I payed the ultimate price.

    illugion says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:54am

    Great graphics and smooth gameplay, i loved that, and the song is really cool too!

    pereubu says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:10pm

    omfg, this is absolutely THE best game i've played so far. The music makes an insane and immersive ambiance, the graphics are absolutely great with all the light effects you've added and the humor contributes to make an great game, great job, naow i want more of this game D:

    ENDESGA says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:33pm

    nice!

    Gungnir says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:23am

    Clever! At first appears linear, but soon provides enough player choice to really engage. And blowing stuff up never gets old. The little bit of platforming was well handled.

    Yakka says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:19am

    Very fun game. Hard to use the dynamite in a web app because of right click.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 4:25pm

    Excellent ! I had a lot of fun. It makes me realize that i'm a villain cause i like to destroy everything :) Your game really fits the theme. Excellent !

    SimianLogic says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:49pm

    Great art, liked the physics and the soundscape (not sure about using unlicensed music, though...) -- but I thought the game itself was pretty dumb. No substance to "run in a straight line and kill people."

    Then again, more time was clearly put into the visuals and was probably worth it.

    Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:17pm

    This is beautiful. The graphics, the screams, the fitting music... nice work!

    I like the effects on the ground-floor, when the tiles rise. Also laughed when I got hit straight in the fac with a giant bomb from te right.

    Right-clicking produces a popup. You can disable that in the player-setting, wo this doesn't happen. Alo, the windows-download links to your file-hosting-service, not the download. You can actually change that, it's within the rules.

    juaxix says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:18pm

    I love to destroy things with dynamite, didnt expect to go down the floor XD

    madmaw says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:39pm

    Performance was pretty bad on my machine so I can't give a rating, but I think you're supposed to create your own music for LD. Looks like a really cool game though

    Xavier says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:52pm

    Very fun! but Sigur Ros as a background music here is kind of weird ;-)

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:06pm

    Foamy physics is fun!

    Jiddo says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 5:42pm

    Annoyingly slow download speed from the "cubyworld.free.fr" host. It's great of you to provide a Linux version as well btw. Kudos! Unfortunately the game seems to crash for me as soon as an explosion goes off. It just says "Aborted (core dumped)". The Windows version runs fine in Wine tho.

    Really cool physics based game. The graphics look amazing and the sound is truly great. Controls and movement is a tad bit awkward when trying to traverse uneven terrain, but it's not too bad.

    There is actually a whole lot of content in this game. More than I would have guessed. I'm amazed by how you managed to make it feel like a complete game. It certainly feels much more complete than most other entries I've seen so far.

    Awesome work!

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:15pm

    Finally got that Princess! Rather satisfying too. First dyna-jumped to the 2nd floor and then planted another one which collapsed the whole structure. WUHAHA. Definitely high marks in the fun factor. Excellent styling and music choices too.

    Chinchilla says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:47am

    The game looks great, and the explosions effects are awesome. I don't think its really fair to use a ripped sigur ros track as your music, but it does give the game a nice feel, so I ranked you high on mood instead of audio.

    If you optimized the physics code, and had your own music and sound effects this game would probably be all 5*'s from me!

    Hatscat says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:08pm

    Very fun ! Beautifull, interesting and good sounds, in particulary : "You shouldn't pass!"

    Beanalby says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:34pm

    I didn't see a Source link, where is it available?

    Aslai says ...
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 4:38pm

    Once you get past the framerate issue, it's pretty fun to destroy everything.

    nilstastic says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 7:29pm

    Good: Nice graphics! Fun gameplay aswell =)
    Improve: perhaps some original music next time? =)

    Jan 1, 2013 @ 8:54pm

    Waited roughly 15 minutes for the download that never happened. Not sure what the issue was, but I may try again later, this looks really good.

    rasmusrn says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 12:39pm

    Wow. Great! But it ran a little laggy on my Macbook Air though :(

    Mago says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 6:45pm

    Awesome job. I really enjoyed playing this game. "You shall not pass" was the best :D

    feili says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 11:13pm

    nice!

    Teejay5 says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 8:15am

    It's really fun, great use of physics! Hilarious and artful.

    Zed says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 11:49am

    Interesting choice of music. Very fun!

    deathray says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 8:20am

    Very fun! I made it to the end but how do you kill the princess??

    leafo says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 6:32am

    What a pretty game. Very fun throwing TNT around. Great job! I got stuck in the floor though and had to restart all the way from the beginning :(

    SonnyBone says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:04pm

    Great fun with a very nice ending!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]