Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 – 9 PM EST — Theme: ??? (VOTE NOW!)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 3 hours, 20 minutes, 58 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    Join us on Twitter and IRC (#ludumdare on afternet.org) for the Theme Announcement!

    FYI: This website becomes unusable for +/- 20 minutes at Theme Announcement time, because you’re awesome :D


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Goat Hate Jug Band - jerrre - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    ===============
    java required
    ===============
    Some notes:

    Obviously I have included a goat.
    Sound is very important is this game, so don't play it without.
    I already knew upfront I would only have one day, and this is my first Ludum Dare, but I am actually very satisfied with what I produced and very excited to find out how other people like it.


    ==============================================

    Goat Hate Jug Band

    Every night on Nedreck Farm three farmers come together. Billy (washboard), Bobby (banjo) and Buck (jug) play the best Jug Band music in the whole area. Every living creature enjoys a good Jug Band, except for one. You are Goat. Goat Hate Jug Band. So every time the sun sets on Nedreck Farm Goat shows op with only one goal: to get Billy, Bobby and Buck to stop before it's dark so he can get rest.



    Help:
    Before Goat can bleat he needs air. Breathe by holding SPACE. But don't breathe in for too long or Goat will choke. The more breath the more disturbing the sound. Bleating is only disturbing on the beginning of a bar.

    View jerrre's journal. | View all entries by jerrre

    Ratings

    Coolness92%
    #20Humor3.89
    #77Audio3.37
    #138Innovation3.40
    #211Mood3.08
    #358Fun2.85
    #429Overall2.85
    #481Graphics2.67
    #579Theme2.67

    Comments

    oakbox says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 1:46am

    Kind of works in Linux, though think it might be a little buggy. You cant quite it at end game either, had to kill java off.

    Funny idea, but not sure if I was playing it right, or if it was just buggy on Linux.

    Bemmu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:22am

    Somehow psychedelic and a game experience I definitely never expected to have.

    jerrre says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:29pm

    @oakbox, thanks for testing, quiting should be possible so it might run buggy on linux, do you have an other machine you can test it on to see if it is different there?

    @bemmu
    haha i will take that as a compliment!

    Atomic says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:08pm

    I like the concept and love the graphics but in the end the music annoys as much as it annoys the goat :( Couldn't finish it.

    Dadeyemi says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:16pm

    really nice concept

    ignlg says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:24pm

    I like the concept and the goat! Lvl 3 here :)

    robashton says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:38pm

    Surreal, certainly one of the more odd ones I've tried so far today

    sanderman says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:40pm

    Love the concept, but I think the implementation can be a bit improved.

    For me it was very hard to guesstimate the best time to start holding my breath for a full bar, so the game degraded in just choking continually and only releasing on a bar.

    Of course, it may also be Working as Designed... :p

    jerrre says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:20pm

    Thanks All!

    @sanderman

    I will not spoil all, but if you follow the rhythm of the music you may find the best start time easier

    CMaster says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:52pm

    Bllleerggghhhh!

    tumoxep says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:52pm

    Nice and very funny idea.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:09pm

    I got to L4 by just pressing space randomly. I loved how the lights and sun worked as timer. I don't see how a bleating goat could be a villain.
    Still I found this game pretty humorous to play.

    Gravity Games says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:29pm

    All right, this game was kinda weird, but not in a bad way. Its a nice idea I guess, but I don't like how the bar works. It took me until level 2 to realize that you can only make noise when the outside of the Breath-o-meter is green. Also, the goat doesn't really seem like a villain to me, but that might just be me. The graphics, music, and sounds go together really well, and add to the strange, trippy, early 90's Nickelodeon feel I get from this. Its really amusing, but unfortunately it wears of quickly, due to the game being repetitive. All in all, its a pretty okay game, it just doesn't really fit the theme well (even the sub-theme seems a bit forced...). If you were to continue this, you'd probably need to add more substance to it, because as of now, it feels like a Wario-Ware micro-game at best, and a cruddy flash game at worst.

    Geoege says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:45pm

    Didn't expected it but laught really hard by playing your game. Great fun !

    jujule says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:20pm

    It was quite fun, I love the humor and the overall atmosphere but it is too repetitive for my own taste.
    Congratulations for producing something playable in one day for your first LD, though.

    FrozenCow says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:29pm

    Works fine here (on Linux). Funny concept and it indeed gets annoying after a while (lvl3) :D. Good job ;)

    Beerman says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:45pm

    Amusing. I'm not sure the goat is much of a villain though, that band deserve to be interrupted!

    aare says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:07am

    I like the way this game test reflex.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:09am

    This is hilarious. Does it just go on forever? I got to the point where you have to be completely perfect every single time or you lose, so I'm guessing that's either the last level or it just ramps up in difficulty into infinity. Nice timing, too. Games like this with questionable timing are never fun, but you nailed it.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:15am

    Woooh! I played it all the way to the end :D That was fun!

    Cat Burton says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:10am

    Yay goat! :)

    amidos2006 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:42am

    LooooL :D that's hilarious I like it :)

    bach says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:53pm

    Funny little entry. I enjoyed it! Gameplay is very basic, but the humour makes up for it.

    moomoo112 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:17pm

    rather odd, controls were a bit confusing at the start
    without reading the instructions I thought the goat was blacking out from the music instead of nightfall

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:28pm

    Ridiculously funny. Somehow the higher pitch and speed of round 2 made me laugh. A "this is never going to end" feeling. Very good.

    Tate says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:58pm

    Hilarious, neat concept, and very original. Nice job

    goerp says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:44pm

    Haha funny!
    The music gets more frantic every level which I like. The goat looks seriously peeved.
    There was some graphical corruption (a blinking yellow rectangle in the center). Somehow a lot of Java programs dont work properly with me (Java 6 up to date on a wondows XP32 bits).
    I enjoyed this.

    SimianLogic says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:24pm

    Love the sound effects and the music. I wish there was more consistent feedback--it seems like the "goal" of the breath changes every breath but, but it's pretty hard to time.

    Mista Koo says ...
    Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:27am

    I couldn't understand how to play even after reading your comments.

    Infin8 says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 8:35am

    Nice concept. The instrcutions are kinda vague though, i just worked on using the bar turning green as a yardstick and managed to get to lvl 3. When it gets too dark, its almost unplayable though, since you cant seen any UI at all.

    madpew says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 6:52pm

    Wow I really didn't expect that. Made it to level 8. Needs another twist to make it more interesting. loved the voice-acting :D

    garygreen says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 10:35pm

    That was daft, but good fun. Nice idea. :-)

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]