Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo Begins: in 9 days, 16 hours, 57 minutes, 14 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam Begins: in 9 days, 16 hours, 57 minutes, 15 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Fearless - lekochen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    In the deep of a dungeon there is a magical treasure box.
    You have to defeat the mysterious villain to obtain it!

    Controls: Arrow keys to move, C to close eyes.

    * There are more than one endings.
    * In the later level, maybe you will find out that the screen is complete dark. It's NOT a bug. It's something you did earlier cause that happen. Just go STRAIGHT and you are able to see ending#1. And you are able to try again...in another play style?
    * If you find a door, push it!

    Engine: cocos2d-html5
    Art: GraphicsGale FreeEdition
    Other tools: Tiled, Zwoptex

    Update: Uploaded the post combo version, only change the text in ending#1.

    View lekochen's journal. | View all entries by lekochen

    Ratings

    Coolness71%
    #46Innovation3.85
    #148Mood3.22
    #225Overall3.25
    #307Fun2.95
    #434Graphics2.77
    #565Humor1.96
    #626Audio1.06
    #683Theme2.26

    Comments

    caasi says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:14am

    I like the idea behind this game.
    You can't just close your eye, someday you won't be that lucky.

    davidwparker says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:57am

    Kind of confused on the theme, but I like the game. Great tiles and gameplay mechanics.

    What did you think of Cocos2d-html5?

    arch.jslin says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:20am

    I timing of the traps are a bit tricky. :p The connection to the theme is very subtle but once you get it, it's pretty strong. I liked the overall presentation of this submissison :)

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:34am

    @caasi, @arch.jslin: Thanks. I think I get a cool concept on the theme but I didn't execute it so well. It's my first time to try to make a game that has some thoughts beyond the game mechanics. Glad you like it!

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:47am

    @davidwparker: I don't have much experience about cocos2d-html...actually I just started using it the day before ludum dare. Since what I want is to made the engine works so I can make an easy game, it's not too hard. The only thing I felt bad is that the official examples are not compatible with the current version (v2.1) so I have to find out how it works by myself.

    Wuhao says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:23pm

    Cocos2d-html5 is great

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:28pm

    @Wuhao:
    Yes it surely is! Thank you for making it!

    poga says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:12pm

    Love the idea, love the moral,
    love the way of expressing it

    Great Game :D

    Birchmountain says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:48pm

    I like the idea, but i don't get the close your eyes thing, does it just make you invincible? But overall a neat little game that really suits this "contest" perfect!

    sclark39 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:50pm

    I don't see the connection to the theme. I also think I hit a bug where my eyes always stayed closed. I love the idea of a "see no evil" power to bypass traps and the memory component of it. Wanted to see more exploration of it.

    maiev says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:56pm

    Loved the presentation and mood set by this. The fade-out text really made a difference. However I think this went over my head because I didn't understand the last level where I was defeated by the villain (the entire screen was black which i assume was intended). Also I was too dumb to figure out the connection to the theme although it seems really deep.

    Sim says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:07am

    Clever game. A bit of ambient sound is the only thing that really felt missing.

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:34am

    @poga
    thanks!

    @Birchmountain
    Yes. If you close your eyes, it will make you invincible. But it also brings some side effects.

    @sclark39
    Sorry to make it so confusing. That's because I don't want to spoil the ending and it's meaning too much. It's not a bug. I just added some description and strongly suggest you to give it a try again.

    @maiev
    You're right. I think I give too little information in the game. Maybe some description in this info page will help. Thanks.

    @Sim
    Glad you like it! You are totally right. The ambient sound is very important in this game, but I ran out of my time.

    KWL_TW says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:37am

    Great idea!

    Husky says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:45am

    I like the idea.
    "close eye is invincible"

    sclark39 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:47am

    Played through again, interesting, and far more challenging.

    lur says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:04am

    Great concept, like arch.jslin says the connection to the theme is really cool once you get it :)

    Birchmountain says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:13am

    Ahhhh, it gets darker!i like that your game carries a message, that's rare these days! I'm glad i got to play it again.

    robashton says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:51am

    I'm not sure I get the theme (I played through twice, once with 'winning' and once with 'losing')

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:59pm

    @robashton
    Thank you for letting me know. What I tried to do in this game is to tell a fable. Not sure I can correctly deliver my explanation (I'm not a native speaker) but I will give it a try:

    vil.lain: a character in a story or play who opposes the hero.

    In my game, the villain is a metaphor. We all want to use our full potential to achieve greatness in our limited life. However, we often avoid the challenges and takes short cut instead. And we feel good doing so. Once we get used to it, we would lose the ability to solve the real difficulties ahead, and this will bring us to the wrong path eventually. So, the "hero" is the will/courage to achieve greatness and the "villain" is the laziness/coward preventing us from achieving it. Depends on our decisions, we can be our own hero or villain.

    Above is one of my explanation, but I think people can have different feelings playing it.

    Cosmologicon says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:19pm

    Really creative. I just think it would have been good if you could have hinted at the "twist" within the game itself, so that you wouldn't have to give hints on the description page.

    Ludonaut says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:01pm

    Cool idea. Good work!

    loren says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:49pm

    That was awesome, amazing mood and dialogue! I liked the lack of music, really added to the mood

    timtipgames says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:19pm

    This was awesome. Very nice and innovative game-mechanics. Loved that there are at least two ways to play the game (maybe more, but I found two endings). Really well done!

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:25am

    Smart. It could've used some sound effects.

    SamoojaMies says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:47am

    Sympathy for using Cocos2d-html5 ;). I really love the pixel art of this. Reminds me of the old win95 games.

    jfroco says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:31am

    Nice idea... it really needs some music to set the mood. Liked the gfx. Unfortunately, I didn't understand the side effects or the ending. Congrats.

    Jan 1, 2013 @ 3:03pm

    Nice game. When I saw the hints in the comments, I managed to get the other ending. Could use some music and hints in the game itself.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]