Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo Begins: in 8 days, 18 hours, 14 minutes, 52 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam Begins: in 8 days, 18 hours, 14 minutes, 53 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    An Evil Giant Monster - elxris - Jam Entry

    It's a quick game to crush cars with a dinosaur, or a robot crush rabbits.

    Game made by ElXris (Programming and Art) and Consalvo (Sounds and Art).

    ###Interesting points about the game.
    It has no image file.
    No external libraries was used.
    If you look at the source code you will find that the drawings are like maps of numbers. All in plain text.
    We spent over 30 hours.
    It's my second entry and my brother helped me with the sound.

    ###Post Compo version includes:
    A new stage, WITH GOATS!
    A new system to display randomly generated backgrounds.

    View elxris's journal. | View all entries by elxris

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #163Theme(Jam)3.29
    #164Humor(Jam)2.58
    #179Graphics(Jam)3.10
    #187Mood(Jam)2.74
    #213Fun(Jam)2.59
    #231Audio(Jam)2.15
    #259Overall(Jam)2.62
    #274Innovation(Jam)2.29

    Comments

    Rabbits... says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:51am

    I liked it, it wouldn't work at first, but after a while it worked fine and was somewhat fun...Good job

    elxris says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:56am

    Hope you liked the graphics. There is not a single image file in my game, all are like maps.

    atrodo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:26am

    A lot of fun, just wish it was bigger is all.

    Gazok says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:29am

    I really like the graphics

    CappaGames says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:21am

    Loved the graphics. However, it did take a while for me to realize that the robots leg was lifting then dropping. Loved crushing those cars with that dinosaur.

    kewry says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:21am

    That was fun, sound kinda broke my ears

    nickworks says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:46am

    Cool retro vibe.

    evilseanbot says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:15am

    As simple as it was, I found it oddly satisfying.

    ddionisio says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:27am

    This was kinda fun, doesn't feel like I was losing. It's got that atari feel to it. I can see this being a nice little mobile app too.

    elxris says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:32am

    Thank you all for your feedback. They are very gratifying.
    @ ddionisio: Maybe someday. It would be fun.

    sanderman says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:54am

    I like the idea of a mini-sized game like this. Seems interesting to put it into a website header or something for laughs. :)

    While crushing cars was satisfying, I found the gameplay a bit too simple. It's really more of a toy than a game.

    diggersworld says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:54pm

    Nice little game. For some reason I found playing as the robot harder than the dinosaur.

    emveyh says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:46pm

    Very retro :) I really like this artstyle. Not really challenging, though

    HeXoT says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:47pm

    I lov small games, very good work here.

    bach says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:09pm

    Enjoyable small entry. Graphics have a good vibe!

    Manest says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:11pm

    realy original

    raubana says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:30am

    The game immediately crashed.

    raubana says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:32am

    Nevermind, I got it to work the second time.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:08am

    I don't really understand your heart system but anyway it's cool to control 2 monsters.

    elxris says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:48pm

    We just released a version Compo post (post Jam), that includes goats. Hope you like it.

    Per says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:53pm

    Nice graphics!
    At first I didn't understand the second monster, but then I realized it was all about the timing :)
    I like thet fact that you do a post-compo version as well

    rvmook says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:13am

    graphics are awesome, gameplay is simple but somehow I always die in the robot level.

    Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:06am

    Fun concept for a full game. Auto-runner with giant villain crushing things with feet. So, good little 48hr prototype. Could think about extending it into a larger game now. Liked the art and general idea.

    tomc says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:26pm

    Clicking/pressing Space/R at the beginning does nothing.

    har_g says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:52pm

    Simple. effective.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]