Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 7 days, 19 hours, 12 minutes, 43 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 7 days, 19 hours, 12 minutes, 44 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Twist - amassingham - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This is a game of Moustache Twirling.

    You must twirl your moustache(by clicking and dragging) around the coins that appear on the screen. Avoid the police, as they will cut your precious Mo.

    Chain coins in consecutive loops to earn combo bonuses.

    Android version has some multitouch issues I will fix eventually- but I thought I'd upload it anyway :) (Only tested on a Nexus7, so - be warned!)

    --18/12/2012 Update--
    Just added a new version (see 'Updated (Web)') I tried to keep the changes as few as possible. Fixed two things.
    1) Changed the looping algorithm, so you should now find it easier to loop around coins
    and
    2) Changed the timer, so it should now end the game at the correct time, instead of 2/3 seconds after the music ends.

    I've also uploaded a gameplay video (From the compo version)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m4IAWbp30xE

    View amassingham's journal. | View all entries by amassingham

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #21Innovation4.00
    #39Audio3.59
    #41Humor3.70
    #101Overall3.53
    #123Mood3.29
    #154Fun3.30
    #245Theme3.47
    #283Graphics3.14

    Comments

    Suese says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:38am

    Wouldn't detect the latest version of Flash.

    Sam Driver says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:39am

    Just delightful!
    The visual effect of the moustache stretching out is really well done (although occasionally briefly glitches out). Took me a while to realise you need to make quite rapid movements to actually catch the coins, but that adds to the feel of rapid moustache twirling.

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:47am

    lol!.... the best!
    I KNEW a moustache had to feature in this LD (my first post is a crude villainous sketch with the word 'moustache' underlined beside it)

    aeveis says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:53am

    Not sure how clear it is when the police catch me, but very nice and clean and cool looking. Very interesting take on the theme. :)

    jhrrsn says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:57am

    Ace, really ace. Sweet aesthetic, I really like the title screen. Found it a little challenging on a trackpad to control the moustache so switched to mouse. But yeah, good stuff!

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:09am

    Thanks for all the comments chaps and chapettes!

    Suese: Sorry to hear that, you're running 11.5? What Browser might that be? Might knock up a standalone if I can.

    I also might tweak the loop-circle size as well. You really need to loop in tight, small circles to catch the coins.

    Hope you're all enjoying it! There are some great games out there in the collective!

    Bemmu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:14am

    Best take on the theme so far and an interesting twirl on the old box-filling game.

    Skyshifter says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:05am

    One of the most extraordinarily good ideas in LD I've ever entered

    (Note: this my first entry :P)

    MvT says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:11am

    Hilarious game, even if there is some bugs. I hope you'll improve it. :)

    JoeProgram says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:11am

    What a cool concept! I think the system you've got here is much more fun than its predecessors like Qix, as the reduced penalty lets me play with the mechanic much more. The logic behind which coins are considered captured and which aren't seems flakey.

    Crimsoneer says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:06am

    This is shockingly awesome. Simple and to the point, and ran perfectly on my HTC One S. Also, that is some catchy tune.

    Birchmountain says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:13am

    You can't not like this game! Hilarious!

    drakfyre says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:08am

    Fun game! Did you compose the music?

    Prelucid says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:29pm

    Not completely sure why the moustache loops or doesn't loop at times, but I see the potential

    Meep says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:59pm

    Very awesome take on the theme. :P I loved it.

    munchor says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:08pm

    Doesn't detect flash...

    mutuware says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:35pm

    Great dastardly music!

    uuav says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:50pm

    Can't be sure how did you got this idea of grabbing money from moustaches but cool game XD

    iostream says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:36pm

    "Get Adobe Flash player"
    Linux running Firefox 17.0.1 with Flash 11.2.202.258-1.

    ilo says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:59pm

    Spiffing! Great take on the theme. Only issue was not knowing why some loops worked while others didn't, but I was going so quickly it didn't matter too much.

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:23am

    drakefyre: The music is written in Jesokla's Buzz, using a free VST piano instrument I found somewhere, and is pretty heavily influenced by various Ragtime/Honkytonk tunes I found scattered around the internets.

    ilo: Yeah, I need to tweak that, at the moment it's based on segments in the circle, but I think it needs to be based on area of the polygon instead.

    iostream: Requires Flash 11.5 :)

    enfyrneaux says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:51am

    Hrmmm...SMASHING

    sclark39 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:12am

    It was very hard to "connect" the mustache. Love the integration of the theme though.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:37am

    I like the idea with the old time villain and the moustache. Good visuals and music. I had real trouble drawing and getting the moustache to complete. Seems like more work is needed there.

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:25am

    It's different but I like it :3

    Husky says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:29am

    The idea is fun, but a little hard to control.
    Still a good job!

    AyCe says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:56am

    Addicting game! Just the idea - brilliant! And very much fun, once I found out how to collect multiple coins efficiently. 29 is my record :)

    AyCe says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:46pm

    I came back and made 59 :D

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:58pm

    Most splendid, my dear fellow! Lovely, consistent style and solid gameplay. I particularly like the exclamations and the face changes :)

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:23pm

    Nice AyCe!
    My brother's girlfriend got 97 last night. 97!

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:03am

    The music goes perfectly! :D Very unique game and I'm sure it would do well on touch devices!

    zenmumbler says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:22am

    The evil moustache comes alive! And of course it wants money. Loved the little epithets and general empire-ness of it all. Is that ragtime music?

    RosyPenguin says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:10am

    Haha! Very unique mechanic, and I like the crisp, clean aesthetic. The moustache pulling and cutting effects were superbly done.

    I'm not sure if it is a bug or not, but sometimes when I pull a moustache out a mirrored moustache would appear from the same hair? Also, I can't really tell what size a loop would need to be in order to capture a coin.

    Overall, very innovative, clean, and solid gameplay.

    AyCe says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:01am

    Wohoo!! 115! :D And btw, forgot to tell you: The music is just so BRILLIANT and fits so PERFECTLY!!

    ddionisio says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:07am

    The music and sound really fits the theme! I was mostly distracted by twirling the moustache around. :P Took me a while to figure out how to capture those coins, but once I did, that's when it got fun. Really awesome game!

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:05pm

    What a cute little game ^^ I like this interpretation of the theme.

    I found the circling mechanic hard to use at times - especially with larger circles. But on the whole it's a solid fun little game.

    AyCe says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:09pm

    I don't know why I keep coming back to this ^^ I got 123 now as a record. What I forgot to tell you all the time: Graphical glitches occur often (the black areas become strange - luckily, this does not affect cutting)

    AyCe says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:22pm

    Sorry for spamming, but this is my current record now: http://imgur.com/tVqj2

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:38am

    ahah! that is an awesome score! Congratulations!

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:59am

    Cool. Concept is neat. Had a hard time controlling and getting it to do what I want. Graphics are fun.

    Dec 20, 2012 @ 1:58pm

    Diabolical!

    Arakade says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:49pm

    Spiffing, simply villainously spiffing! Highest ratings I've given so far :-) I love that you can multi-loop and that there appear to appear more coppers as you do better :-) Also loved the Android version (so nice to be able to rate some games from the tablet :-) )
    P.s. cheeky but I've fixed my game since your review and built an Android version too :-D

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:46pm

    The more Android the better! Be Cheeky!

    Thanks for all the great comments everyone! Jolly good.

    Niavlys says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:22pm

    I'm impressed! This is very fun and addictive! Good music and sounds, cool villain face too :) Played on Android (Samsung Galaxy S2), sometimes I had trouble catching the moustache, it could be improved there, but this is great already!

    Huchickut says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 10:56pm

    Sorry AyCe :P
    http://imgur.com/A3rTW
    Awesome game, very addicting!

    voidstar69 says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 8:48pm

    Interesting idea. I had difficulty controlling the moustache on my Android phone. This game shows lots of promise.

    Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:13pm

    This is great :D

    Love the eatehtic, especially in the menu-screen. Too bad the silent-film-black&white doesn't extend into the game.

    It was also a bit hard to firue out what actually to do and how to control the mustache.

    The ragtime-piano makes it awesome. Which tools did you use to compose it?

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 12:23am

    Haha what a wonderful idea :) Great fun.

    Love the music, too!

    Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:04am

    Cops hate moustaches, true story. Really fun.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]