Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 5 days, 16 hours, 36 minutes, 11 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 5 days, 16 hours, 36 minutes, 12 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Terminal - BenW - Jam Entry

    Created by St0ven and BenW.

    Description - Control a virus as you take over your victims body. Deprive them of their precious blood cells and avoid their immune system.

    Instructions - Mouse controls only, viruses will move towards your cursor. Kill all of the red blood cells to progress to the next level. White blood cells are lethal.

    View BenW's journal. | View all entries by BenW

    Ratings

    #5Mood(Jam)4.07
    #16Audio(Jam)3.93
    #25Graphics(Jam)4.30
    #34Overall(Jam)3.73
    #43Theme(Jam)3.90
    #61Fun(Jam)3.37
    #65Innovation(Jam)3.40
    #260Humor(Jam)1.94
    #898Coolness36%

    Comments

    cardboard says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:46am

    At first I didn't know what to do so I started attacking the white blood cells, but then I realized I was an idiot and a virus so I started infecting crap. Fun game, I will try again to beat it when I have some free time.

    Darkfrost says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:11am

    Pretty good game, I really like the visual style :D
    Seems pretty hard to escape the white blood cells though, and it going back to the first level on death kinda sucked :(

    31eee384 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:21am

    Neat! Very tense game. Took a death to understand the mechanics, but from there it was straight to the brain! Solid controls, fluid graphics, and great sound. Maybe it could be made clear how many viruses are in the blood cells, but other than that the game was clear and fun.

    barret907k says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:39am

    Liked it. Very cool. Pretty hard when starting out.

    lotusgame says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:39pm

    I like the sensation of being bad by infecting cells. I like graphics too (beautiful paintings) ^^

    Eelfroth says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:45pm

    Great game! The art is just fantastic. I especially like the backgrounds. Gameplay and sound are nice too. It runs a little slow on my computer (~10 fps), but that's probably due to my outdated hardware.
    I haven't been able to kill the patient yet...

    iamorim says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:49pm

    It's a little hard to understand how it works, but that's a great game. Congratulations! :)

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:12pm

    The first playthrough I died 1 second after loading. Then I lost inside the brain.
    Interesting game idea, great setting and graphics.
    The only thing I didn't like is when an infected red cell pops under a white one, actually wiping all the viruses.

    emveyh says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:47pm

    Great work! It took my a while to realize how to play. Great music and art. It's quite relaxing :)

    AtkinsSJ says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:51pm

    Very nicely done. It did confuse me the first couple of attempts, though, because I didn't realise you needed several viruses in each cell - I kept trying to only use one, to be less wasteful. Whoops!

    Otherwise, really nice graphics and atmosphere.

    pighead10 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:27pm

    Veeery slow paced. Gameplay was repetitive, but wonderful sounds and art.

    SonnyBone says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:31pm

    This is a really awesome take on the theme. The mood and atmosphere created by the slow pace and the music puts you in a trance. This was a very refreshing experience. Thanks for suggesting it in the chat! The virus sometimes doesn't act as a full group, and a large chunk becomes unresponsive to the mouse until after a bunch of them get wiped out. My suggestions: Fix that and make the first few waves go by a bit faster (less cells, maybe) to get the player into a decent pace.

    BenW says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:39pm

    SonnyBone - I completely agree with the suggestions, those things were immediately obvious once I saw other people playing our game in person. If we update it we'll definitely address those.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:43pm

    Love the mood; very good at creating a relaxing trance.

    vrav says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:26pm

    Wow, very mordid game. It's pretty hard. I got to the heart and lost, wish it let you continue where you left off. Very stressful and aggravating to play, but still a really well executed concept.

    dremelofdeath says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:14pm

    This game is awesome. The music and the art are fantastic! Great concept.

    mrspeaker says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:09pm

    Music gave it an awesome feel!

    Eniko says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:28pm

    Really like the visuals and sound, and the game isn't as straight forward as it appears since the cells only follow properly when the cursor is near, though that could've been advertised better. The lack of a proper ending and the camera twitching was a bit sad though.

    BenW says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:31pm

    Camera only twitches if you go outside the play area. The mouse movement does need work though.

    Udrian says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:44pm

    I like the concept of the game very much. Very cool to play a virus spreading in a body! Visually it was very good and the music was great! It is though lacking a bit in content, progression and challenge.

    fishbrain says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 1:19pm

    This was really cool!... Restarting at each level would be nice. Great graphics, mood, concept and game mechanics. It felt very tranquil, even though I was a nasty virus.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]