Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 6 hours, 1 minute, 9 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Revenge of the goats - kewry - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    You have 3 endings a good, a bad and sort of neutral.

    View kewry's journal. | View all entries by kewry

    Ratings

    Coolness97%
    #315Humor2.68
    #338Audio2.50
    #495Theme2.91
    #624Mood2.26
    #681Innovation2.14
    #701Graphics1.93
    #712Overall2.23
    #727Fun1.84

    Comments

    MrEvilGuy says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:04am

    The music was great! It took me awhile to realize I could scroll around the world map. I'm going to have nightmares about goats and goat-emperors tonight.

    Datw says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:05am

    I loved the presentation and the concept. The only problem here is that there was nothing stopping me from spamming the button to generate more goats and the slaughtering everything right away.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:12am

    Quite honestly, I was just confused and clicking buttons. Eventually anytime I attacked or slaughtered I would win. I couldn't figure out the logic of it. Apparently I was a cruel and leader, since it looks like I got the bad ending. Triforce is a nice touch.

    Manuel777 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:04am

    Agree with Datw, I can make goats like a freak and be the emperor in no time.

    kewry says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:42am

    @MrEvilGuy <3 sorry about those bad dreams!
    @Datw @Manuel777 I had to cut down on the feature that would make the game lengthier which also caused the game to be extremely unloseable

    MvT says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:37am

    Maybe was it too easy, i hope you will improve it.
    Good job.

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:52am

    Original

    tim_u says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:09am

    Liked it although I never lost a battle. I'm not even sure if you can. After the second town I had 125% on slaughter.

    robashton says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:11pm

    Good concept, and I liked the idea of THE EVIL GOAT KING KILLING ALL THE HUMANS, but it was a bit too easy - could have done with some resource management mechanics or something

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:48pm

    It's neat and simple :)

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:56pm

    I am the emperor!

    WiseGAMER says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:28am

    Too simple that made it not much fun

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:58am

    The goat texture and story are pretty funny, but the gameplay is somewhat confusing (it is unclear if there are any limits to goat creation).

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:06am

    I am the goat emperor! Could make it more of a challenge, maybe add some turn based choices during the battles?

    LogGiant says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:06am

    The instructions were not helpful, but I figured it out pretty quickly. There wasn't much stopping me from just spamming goats and conquering. I did enjoy the game's humor.

    Quantumvm says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:51am

    Ugh well that was a bit easy. The sense of humor was to die for though!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:32am

    The game was pretty funny, for me at least. The audio was great though overall it took me awhile to figure out the controls.

    kewry says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:40am

    Thanks for checking out the game guys, and I'll take your feedback in account when I get to work on this again!

    boena says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:39am

    Haha loved the idea. A little bit too easy though but good fun :)

    Husky says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:02am

    Fun idea to give goat the role to emperor the world!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:06am

    haha goat empire, had some issues with the more goats button

    Will Edwards says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:07pm

    Evil Goats? Going for a 10 on the theme scale? :)

    CireNeikual says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:50pm

    I got so many goats that the sign changed!

    JaJ says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:40pm

    Nice use of theme but I wasn't really challenged.

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:49am

    Like civilization, but with goats. I could make goats a bit too easy.

    Dec 30, 2012 @ 4:56pm

    Interesting idea, the game is pretty easy though because you can just make lots of goats and slaughter everything in instant.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]