Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 7 days, 21 hours, 57 minutes, 23 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 7 days, 21 hours, 57 minutes, 24 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The Evil Machinations of Fluffy McSnugglebottom - refrag - Jam Entry

    CONTROLS: WASD + Mouse

    A dialog/rpg/platformer that gives a first-hand look into one of the most villainous minds known to man... the house cat. Follow Fluffy McSnugglebottom, Carnivore, and help him achieve "world domination".

    Tools used: Flash Builder 4.7, Photoshop CS5, Audacity, Garage Band, Google Docs, Chat Mapper

    Built in Actionscript 3 with Starling, NAPE, Feathers and some other odds and ends.

    View refrag's journal. | View all entries by refrag

    Ratings

    Coolness50%
    #8Humor(Jam)3.97
    #67Innovation(Jam)3.39
    #90Mood(Jam)3.21
    #92Audio(Jam)3.25
    #126Fun(Jam)3.00
    #134Overall(Jam)3.15
    #162Theme(Jam)3.30
    #237Graphics(Jam)2.70

    Comments

    Rex Peppers says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:50am

    +1 seduction FTW!

    Zillix says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:21am

    that was adorable :) nice work!

    MrEvilGuy says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:24am

    Very cute. Now I know not to give my cat squeak toys anymore as they will attack him.

    dansludumdare says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:27am

    The "ding" sound effect was really loud.

    Kix says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:38am

    LOL that was fantastic, lets be real you don't get more evil and conniving than cats

    Hazel says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:00pm

    Super cute, love the writing and application of the theme. Waiting for the text to type out is a little frustrating though.

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:19pm

    This was cute.

    Cthu says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:00pm

    That was... something new.

    BTW how come adobe premium nag scren doesn't show on your game? I kinda cannot get rid of it (also starling+nape).

    surpy says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:46am

    Cute, very very cute! I enjoyed the story and talking to those brain dead humans

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:50am

    I really enjoyed the fantastic writing and the cool stylistic choices with the dialogue boxes and stuff. Great job!

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:48am

    Liked the art and even though it didn't fit the game very well, I loved the music.

    hadesfury says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:56am

    The writing really makes this game worth the while !

    Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:12am

    As a human pawn, I enjoy this game quite a lot.

    My one suggestion would be that you should change the victory window such that the +1 buttons aren't lying directly underneath the attacking buttons. Some of us like to spam click all over buttons, and once the battle is over we end up selecting a skill we didn't mean to.

    I also liked the Earthbound-esque battle backgrounds. :)

    Jeremias says ...
    Jan 1, 2013 @ 9:10pm

    The music is really nice. Well written, too.

    I'm not sure, if the jump & run part is needed here. This game could be completely dialog based.

    PackSciences says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 11:07am

    Raaah Evil Darkness Killing Death

    Mythalore says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 9:37pm

    Fun with great graphics, a bit too like Pokemon for me but still very fleshed out!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]