Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 27 days, 13 hours, 49 minutes, 54 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    The townsfolk are coming! - chuck_mcnugget - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Yeah... I completely ran out of time, because I decided to waste all of my time painting a portrait of Frankenstein. Press space to dodge to villagers.

    Update:

    I FIXED IT!

    View chuck_mcnugget's journal. | View all entries by chuck_mcnugget

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #80Graphics3.87
    #110Audio3.25
    #148Mood3.22
    #423Theme3.08
    #572Humor1.95
    #609Overall2.53
    #732Fun1.82
    #737Innovation1.83

    Comments

    Spelchan says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:51am

    I really liked the way you added film scratches to give the feel of watching an old horror movie.

    mutuwarejam says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:08am

    Looks good, but needs more speed. I just get stuck at 60.

    TehSkull says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:13am

    The graphics was a very nice touch to the game. Kudos to that.

    Oreganik says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:15am

    Great look and great music. Love the old-school cinematic effect. Had a bit of difficulty understanding why I would succeed or fail when I hit spacebar, but... all told... that's a great portrait you painted. =)

    nickworks says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:35am

    Good start. At least your game has audio, which is further than I got. :)

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:38am

    The game looks great and the sound is fantastic yet, there isn't any content nor is the game feeling very complete. If you had more time though I'm sure it could of been something fantastic based off of the look and polish of the games art assets.

    epiplon says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:50am

    The portrait of the Frankenstein being bad or good, it depends on the point of view. As you can see in Shelley's book, he is a monster, but got a heart. Not just physical: he is also capable of loving another beings. So, for that, I can accept him as a villain.
    For the graphics, people above pointed out about the ambient of an old movie, which it does very well. Wished you putted more animation and polishing, the drawing of the portrait was impressive, but you should have did it another time.
    About the audio, can't imagine how you get that music. It's awesome.
    And... I found it quite easy to beat. Stopped after getting about 700 points, getting a little bored, wondering if it has an end.

    gameXcore says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:35pm

    A very nice portrait indeed, but at the cost of gameplay =[ I don't understand the following in the newgrounds description either:

    "Made in a little under 72 hours for the Ludum dare 25"

    If this game was made in 72 hours why is it posted in the 48 hour compo and not the jam?

    ix says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:38pm

    Simple concept, nice graphically. I was hoping for more difficulty ramp, but didn't notice any.

    Lidfrid says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:55pm

    the horror look is great, but it lacks of something in the starting part

    bwdevel says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:27pm

    It took me forever to figure out how to even get to the game from the link provided; you might want to update the post with instructions.

    Beyond that, I couldnt' find any controls to save my life (using Firefox); I assume you targeted a specific browser?

    Luis Anton says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:30pm

    Frankestein is a weakling XDD

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:32pm

    I like it! Was almost going to go down the black and white road myself. Cheers!

    Tavrox says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:41pm

    Nice atmosphere but the gameplay is quite missing :/

    zimra says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:48pm

    Nice rendition of an old horror movie ! Hope you'll finish the game post-compo ^^

    goulding57 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:57am

    Loved the art, and the music, and the atmosphere. Congrats.

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:02am

    The presentation is great, too bad the game is so simple.

    RosyPenguin says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:02am

    I like the grainy film effects as well, but the flashing was straining my eyes a bit. Wish there was more to the gameplay! Maybe don't cap the speed at 60, and give better feedback for when you come within range of killing a townsfolk rather than a tiny exclamation point.

    lando walters says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:06am

    lol! this is simple, but I loved the artyness.

    cdata says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:08am

    I really loved the aesthetic of this game, particularly once you get into the game. I feel like you captured the look of old-school horror flicks really well.

    csanyk says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:14am

    Visuals and audio were superb, but is there more to the game than just pressing space?

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:33am

    I quite liked the post processing. And nice portrait!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:33pm

    Loved the mood and audio :o how did u make those old movie cratches and blurr effect?

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:56am

    I didn't quite get the game - which is a pity - because the graphics, music and mood are excellent!

    Nolan C says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:37pm

    Love the old-movie style art. The gameplay seemed too easy though.

    Sestren says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:21pm

    The way the graphics and audio are put together is very effective in building a haunting mood. While I can understand capping the monster's speed to keep the shambling effect of the monster going, it would have been nice if the villagers began moving toward you at a faster and faster rate as the game progressed to produce a gently-increasing difficulty curve.

    Yakka says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:55am

    I love the art and the music!! I think the game need more surprises... New ennemies? Or increasing speed?

    eli says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 6:35am

    Haha!!! Great game. Love the visuals and sound, really well-done.

    I do have trouble with Frankenstein's monster being a villain, but we'll let that slide for now. Also playing Frankenbalt is pretty awkward.

    Excellent mood in this game, and was great overall. Good work!

    leafo says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 8:09am

    Cool music, nice graphics. Interesting gameplay idea, just needs a bit more polish. The painting of frakenstein looks really good btw!

    Neonlare says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:30am

    Looked good, but did need a little bit more speed and content like others have said.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]