Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 25 days, 8 hours, 31 minutes, 53 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Nosferatu - jerombd - Jam Entry

    Retro game (ZX Spectrum feeling).
    You are the Count Orlok a.k.a Nosferatu; you can change your appearance, your size and your speed if you walk on the little red skulls.

    Arrow keys to move
    X to start/skip the texts.

    View jerombd's journal. | View all entries by jerombd

    Ratings

    #12Mood(Jam)3.92
    #16Graphics(Jam)4.41
    #26Theme(Jam)4.00
    #59Overall(Jam)3.52
    #70Audio(Jam)3.38
    #79Fun(Jam)3.23
    #94Innovation(Jam)3.22
    #144Humor(Jam)2.69
    #854Coolness40%

    Comments

    loren says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:55am

    Awesome! True to its form in every way. Great music, art, gameplay. You did a great thing here.

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:12am

    stylistically its fantastic -- there's something very appealing about speccy graphics. but i was never sure i knew what i was doing, and the bad collision detection made me stop caring in a hurry. would love to see this expanded on though.

    lucky.luddite says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:15am

    Awesome visual style!

    Robotic says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:34am

    The visual appearance of this game is fantastic

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:55pm

    If this doesn't win a medal in graphics, then people are blind! I don't think working on the font was a waste of time. It sure reminds me L'abbaye des Morts de Locomalito than the ZD Spectrum games, but probably because I've never played one of those.
    The idea of adapting a movie is pretty cool too (well...I know a lot of movie a adapted to video games, but I mean "in an indie way")

    I think I went pretty far in the game, but I got stuck on a level where the guy was himself stuck and went back to the upper ladder. Didn't had enough lives to solve it out. Having a limited amount of lives is a cool way to give a retro feel, but not a pretty good way to make the players play the game to the end. I'll probably try again later, but for now, after two tries, I'm a bit discouraged. (But I'm not a hardcore gamer)

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:24am

    I agree about the bad collision, regardless, I hit all the switches and even got to my casket in the end! I got 385 point or so, yay! Though the last level with the sleeping people seemed bugged as I couldn't die from the yellow spears/arrows flying across the room.

    Really cool aesthetic! I hope that "to be continued" is accurate! I'd love to play more levels :D

    As an aside, I don't really consider Nosferatu to be a Villain, just misunderstood xD

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:58am

    WOW... flashback... old school... love it! graphics and overall style, excellent, opening tune is awesome (reminded me of "Staff of Karnath") would have liked it extended. game play is also fun.

    allinlabs says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:02pm

    I have to agree with everyone else that the game aesthetic is fantastic ! But I didn't finished it, got discouraged before the end. Probably because of the collision; the limited number of life was a cool thing, don't remove it !

    jerombd says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:15am

    Thank you all for the kind comments^^
    I don't think I'll continued this version: fisrt I really need to solve this collisions problems. That's why I 'll re-do almost the sprites/collision masks and program a new game from scratch. Then I'll add more contents too.

    blob says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:52am

    Very nice graphic style, and the game looks cool but I cant figure out what I'm supposed to do at all. I turn into a mouse and have no idea what to do next.
    Dying because you re leaving the screen is a bit frustrating too :(

    Nick Cash says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:18am

    Interesting look. Would like to play more, but getting stuck on things was very frustrating since you are required to flip switches at certain times.

    amidos2006 says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:36am

    That's fantastic my only complain is the hitboxes is very large so I sometimes got hit before doing anything :(

    ArkadyDracul says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:50pm

    Nice Entry!

    ilo says ...
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 9:42pm

    Looks great! I think the limited lives is fine so long as the player knows what they have to do in each scene, but currently it involves some trial and error. But maybe it's just me. Certainly adds to the retro feel anyway. :)

    Tommislav says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 12:07pm

    Awesome =D

    Dec 30, 2012 @ 6:17pm

    This is so amazing visually! ZX was the oldest computer I ever played games on, and this is so true to form!

    You even get a huge amount of lives, because it's so hard. I made it to Bathory Corridor, but then got frustrated with the arrows, because as a wolf I have a huge hitbox. But I will finish it, nothing wrong with a little old-school difficulty.

    Maybe make the falling door explode and disappear after a while. Because that will tell the player that you have to use the door as an attack, not as an unpassable wall (that was my impression in the beginning and I kept losing)


    This is my highest rated entry so far (5 stars everywhere). Fantastic!
    Congrats!

    Mase says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 5:49am

    This is great. The graphics are very stylish and concise.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]