Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 23 days, 22 hours, 2 minutes, 3 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    This Is How It Ends - Oreganik - Jam Entry

    Solo jam entry due to extenuating social obligations. Have they no respect for the iron embrace of Ludum Dare Compo? =)

    So, this is a story game. Just want to put that out there to begin with.
    Also, the web version requires Unity plugin.

    "This Is How It Ends" features you, the villain, standing in the ruins of a world you have just finished destroying with your seventh act of destruction. You have the chance to journey back in time through each scene, watching the scenery revert to its state before each catastrophe. Re-discover your motives to realize how destroying the world could seem like the right choice. Read letters from those affected by you, and affecting you. And piece by piece, the outrageous ending becomes the natural conclusion. But if you venture too far, you risk being consumed by the darkness which taints your life.

    If you encounter any bugs, please e-mail me at ted@oreganik.com .

    Thanks for playing!

    *edit* *possible spoilers*

    1. To make progress, check both computer terminals and the letters. You can then walk into the "memory" and go back in time.
    2. You can decide to stay in an era by disabling the doomsday device and resisting the pull of memory. I didn't have time to give each era a proper ending in this situation, but if people ask for it, I'll do it post-compo.
    3. There is a tragic ending if you go far enough. If it disturbs you, I'm sorry.
    4. I added stat tracking post-compo. No other changes were made, so I used the same link. Consider this "full disclosure." =)
    5. There is sound in the first stage... but apparently only if you have nice speakers. It's all bass, apparently. :{

    View Oreganik's journal. | View all entries by Oreganik

    Ratings

    Coolness59%
    #10Mood(Jam)4.00
    #15Theme(Jam)4.12
    #55Innovation(Jam)3.45
    #117Overall(Jam)3.24
    #185Audio(Jam)2.63
    #186Graphics(Jam)3.06
    #246Fun(Jam)2.41
    #250Humor(Jam)2.00

    Comments

    SkyPirates says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:52am

    Interesting take on the theme! The controls weren't great, and there wasn't a whole lot to do, but it was certainly innovative. The environmental graphics were also quite good. I loved the letters :)

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:25am

    I really liked the mood in this game as well as the concept. It felt kind of strange having this relative discourse between being the lone survivor in a desolate wasteland (common for heroes of survival type games) and finding out through gameplay that you are the reason you are the lone survivor. Good job!

    Radiatoryang says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:47am

    interesting narrative but clipping was really buggy, I activated the explosion and it teleported me but not all the tiles synced so I was walking through walls and stuff

    Oreganik says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:04am

    I will try and reproduce it so I can fix it. Thanks for letting me know about the issue!

    Hume says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:14am

    I do love a story, even a tragedy.

    Well done, sir.

    On a replay, I trapped myself in the "burn every bridge" path. Not sure how I would have taken it if I'd done that the first time.

    I hope I never receive a letter from the Alaska Fishermen's Union.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:49am

    Interesting story of a man remembering how he became who he is at the beginning of the game.
    I like the idea of the progression and how we can modify history by disabling the machine anytime.

    DeathBySnail says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:29pm

    Nice to see a game about a villain which isn't one-dimensional. Like it.

    dcolgan says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:40pm

    Very moody and heavy. I was intrigued and wanted to keep playing to see what would happen. Nice story development, and great job overall for a weekend!

    Cake&Code says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:43pm

    Wow, that was surprisingly engaging. The narrative was great and the controls were really well done. It has an almost Saira-esque lonely feel to it, it was really shocking.

    Some more work and this could be a really, really amazing game! Please keep working on it!

    Winterblood says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:45pm

    Wow. Fantastic storytelling. Game engine and UI is a bit crude, but served it's purpose. Very thought-provoking...

    angrygeometry says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:49pm

    really excellent mood. i love the letters a lot. a cool take on the theme! i liked it.

    rylgh says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:01am

    Neat story, and I liked the interface with the hold left/hold right controls.

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:56am

    Nice graphics and a solid adventure game!

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:29pm

    Interesting take on the theme and always good to see a narrative-driven game like this. Not my kettle of fish really but still interesting.

    Milo says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:30pm

    It was fun to see the character seeming less and less evil as I went backward.

    Per says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:31pm

    Very nice storytelling.
    Not for everyone, but I though that this game had the best story yet this LD.
    The graphics and sound are really nice as well.

    BNeutral says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:46pm

    Interesting story.

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:35am

    Very moody!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]