Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 1 day, 6 hours, 1 minute, 27 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 1 day, 6 hours, 1 minute, 28 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Close My Side - DiscoFish - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This is not exactly a game. This is an interactive story.
    I hope you enjoy it.

    Control: mouse

    Thanks!

    View DiscoFish's journal. | View all entries by DiscoFish

    Ratings

    Audio4.33
    Mood4.53
    Coolness69%
    #4Graphics4.57
    #34Overall3.82
    #46Theme4.00
    #138Innovation3.40
    #162Fun3.28
    #189Humor3.06

    Comments

    Wavewash says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:30am

    So cool! Very stylish!!!

    DiscoFish says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:38am

    @Wavewash Thank you!

    tommycreo says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:20am

    Visual part is really stunning, great job

    L says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:28am

    Hmm... A bit too much pixel-hunting, considering how short the game is...

    KEFIR says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:03am

    ÐоÑÑÑÑно!

    romaniac says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:49am

    Awesome :D Are you okay, honey?

    feili says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:20pm

    Awesome stuff!

    fhoenig says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:39pm

    Hmm... How to play?

    DiscoFish says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:44pm

    @fhoenig, use mouse.

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:47pm

    Very cool style. Enjoyed it a lot.

    allinlabs says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:50pm

    More like a short interactive (not that much) story than an actual game. But what a story, man ! It's completely insane and amazing ! You fucking psychopath :D I really loved it.
    Good graphics and music too, fit well with what's happening.

    zimra says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:17pm

    Very nice (or not XD) ! Love the graphics !

    dremelofdeath says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:44pm

    This game is absolutely stunning. The music, the art, the theme. It's disturbing in such a delicious way. I would have loved to see the game branch off in multiple possible directions with different outcomes, but the mood is so good I can overlook the short gameplay. Here, have some stars.

    berkano says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:09pm

    Beautiful and completely twisted!

    mutuware says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:14pm

    Beautifully weird!

    Grouflon says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:16pm

    Wow ! this completly stunned me ! this is brilliant !

    Husky says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:16pm

    I LOVE THIS GAME!
    What a crazy story, you made the ambiemt good!
    The whole style is just right!
    Good job!

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:16pm

    you're a genius!

    DiscoFish says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:22pm

    Thank you guys for your Great comments!

    Spacehunter says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:14pm

    gave me the chills!

    Excellent job on story, music (set the mood really well)

    dek says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:33pm

    Very interesting. Well done, and beautiful style.

    GFM says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:54pm

    This was great!!!

    Everything (gfx, sfx the interaction) helped imemrse in the story!

    Casino Jack says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:18pm

    Short, but still probably gonna give me nightmares tonight :D
    Animation was really crisp, and the music/sounds really built up the atmosphere.

    Andrey Pradun says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:31pm

    Very cool and creepy game!

    wlad says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:56am

    Wouh that was entertaining! The music in the background, was it synced to the current plot of the story (up and downs)? Or was it just coincidence? Like dremelofdeath I would also like to see non-linearity. Well done!

    rubna says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:56pm

    Cool novel, but too bad you haven't really got any choices to make and change the outcome of the game :\

    RobKat says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:50pm

    Best game ive played so far, great job!

    Pierrec says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:47pm

    Is the kiss the end ?
    As you said, it's bit too less interactive
    But also a bit too short as a story
    The mood/music/graphics are so awesome that it's a bit frustrating in the end. I think this game deserve to be made!

    (Oh...and I'm in love with the circle cursors)

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:05pm

    Impressive.

    Pitoum says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:09pm

    Very impressive. Too bad you didn't put multiple endings or things like that because I would have love to try again.
    Arts, writing, and music are sooooo cool!

    Mesene says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 10:28pm

    very inmersive, I enjoyed it a lot!

    Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:17pm

    Very very immersive and very cool. Fantastic style, fantastic ambience, sound effects, everything is awesome.

    My only gripe is that once again, the one girl in the whole game dies horribly, twice. :( How can i relate to that?

    pereubu says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 9:59am

    Damnit awesome and original D:

    kibertoad says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:59pm

    Not really a game, but pretty atmospheric experience. Gorgeous art!

    Colapsydo says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:09pm

    It exudes sickness from every aspect. Really immersive !

    marudziik says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 3:29pm

    Awesome. A pity it's that short and linear, but what a great experience! Fantastic execution.

    GetFun says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 3:42pm

    this was intense

    DiscoFish says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 4:59pm

    Thank you all!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]