Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 29 days, 18 hours, 33 minutes, 48 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals (coming soon) | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    BOTWALK - namuol - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Didn't have time to make music or to add all the different types of buildings/vehicles/enemies that I wanted, but it's pretty playable. Instructions are on the site.

    View namuol's journal. | View all entries by namuol

    Ratings

    Coolness71%
    #20Theme4.18
    #29Fun3.76
    #59Overall3.68
    #65Graphics3.97
    #78Mood3.44
    #83Innovation3.65
    #157Audio3.05
    #217Humor2.97

    Comments

    Manuel says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:20am

    Wow, great polish. The bot really feels heavy, which makes the stomping fun. Controls don't totally work? Running with the bot is cool.

    Erik Price says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:41am

    Really slick graphics, nicely polished game.

    namuol says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:14am

    Post your High Scores! Mine is a shameful 194477, currently.

    Freakill says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:21am

    Good game! Sometimes collisions with light cables seem not too much consistant. But despite of that the game is really funny and keeps you wanting to try it more and more times hehehe. Really nice :)

    Manuel777 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:55am

    Awesome little game, loved the graphics and animations a LOT :D

    mamoniem says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:09am

    hahaha, funny little game, i enjoyed with the blood :)

    Meep says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:45am

    Excellent graphics! I had issues with mouse controls (LMB wouldn't work for me) but I was able to enjoy it with my keyboard, nonetheless. :)

    celeron55 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:53am

    This is an awesome little creation. Becomes boring quite fast though; extremely fun for a while. 140513.

    Casino Jack says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:34am

    I really loved the graphics in this one, and the satisfying *crunch* whenever the player moved, but I couldn't figure out how I was losing lives (or maybe I'm just bad at reading instructions!).

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:11pm

    This was fun ^_^

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:55pm

    I followed your progress on twitter and was really looking forward to see where you were going. You just floored me. Love this. Stomping never feel so good.

    supermaximo93 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:11pm

    I got 155126. Fun and inventive, great work! Love the style, but the robot looks a bit detached, if you know what I mean.

    Nice to see someone else using Impact :)

    drizzlybear says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:37pm

    Awesome. :)
    It was really hard to play the game well-- I think that if you slowed the whole thing down, pulled out the view more-- it would be a much more enjoyable experience. The tactile feel of the stomping is a really sweet mechanic and really rewarding. But-- I wanted much more to crush things, than to get really far in the level. I think an open world environment (or something closer to Super Mega Worm) would be better. :)

    loren says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:05pm

    Love those sound effects, great choice!

    namuol says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:39pm

    @drizzlybear -- totally. The game's design changed along the way and I didn't really have time to change the size of things. There's no trivial way to "zoom out" with the engine I'm using, unfortunately.

    I hope to add more to this and release it as a proper game, so I'll try to remember to let you know if/when that happens!

    robashton says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:43am

    I love the stomping and the screen-shaking - very nicely done!

    Jesse Freeman says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:28pm

    Really nice looking game. Had some trouble controlling the robot which made it less fun. I would just use the left and right click on the mouse to control him and it would handle moving left and right as well. Graphics are great!

    gnx says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:21pm

    Very polished graphics, a nice original idea, good effects work.
    Controls feel a bit buggy at times and gameplay is a bit simple for how detailed the environment is :)

    CireNeikual says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:50pm

    Gotta go fast!

    TDRGames says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:11am

    Screen shake FTW!

    Husky says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:30am

    I like the way you use the mouse right click!
    And the feeling of giant monster, awesome!

    rinaka says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:16pm

    I had a lot of fun playing this game. It's interesting how at the same time you play a giant engine of destruction and it feels like you're learning to walk. Powerful and vulnerable -- very nice! The graphics are lovely too.

    Stomping is a joy, and I would often catch myself mashing hard on the keyboard as if mimicking the weight of the robot's steps.

    laaph says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 8:48pm

    Cute, loved the skull that looks like an audio cassette from back in the day.

    Dec 29, 2012 @ 6:25am

    I think the only criticism I have here is that I wish there were a way to enforce the player to alternate between feet. Honestly, I think the game would be just as much fun without the mayhem, because there's something inherently awesome about a giant stomping robot.

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:10am

    Nothing more fun that happy stomping. So satisfying. Nice game, and very well polished.

    It reminds me of another game, from LD23. I can't remember the name now, and it's killing me.

    Jan 6, 2013 @ 6:27pm

    I really felt bad for the big stompy monster destroying the city. Nice one!

    RawBits says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 12:57am

    Now this is gaming at it's finest! I love it! :)

    I have issues where the guy stops walking forward sometimes and just keep stomping in place. I don't know if that is a bug or a feature.

    namuol says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 2:13am

    @RawBits -- Unfortunately your mouse has to be over the smallish game window. It's something I'd like to fix in a later build, but I think I'm going to be rehashing this entirely and make it more of a "smash everything as fast as you can" sort of game. Thanks for the compliments!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]