Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 20 hours, 55 minutes, 0 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Dungeon Overlord: Master of the Queue - bwdevel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    This is my 2nd official entry into an Ludum Dare Compo.

    The game is simple and far from complete, but I think the foundation exists here for something really fun.

    Big thanks to Squidi for the idea via his "300 Mechanics" site.

    The only thing I didn't get a chance to attempt to tackle was music. Maybe next time!.

    Post Mortem and Timelapse coming soon...

    View bwdevel's journal. | View all entries by bwdevel

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #218Theme3.54
    #380Innovation2.82
    #381Overall2.95
    #394Graphics2.85
    #398Mood2.71
    #437Audio2.19
    #446Humor2.27
    #461Fun2.64

    Comments

    Tate says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:36am

    I really like the mechanics of this and think it could turn into something so much greater. Totally see where you are going with it. Great job.

    jahlgren says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:50am

    This was fun untill I ralised that it did not get any harder?

    odrega says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:55am

    Very nice! And I for some reason especially liked the tutorials screen

    svenardo says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:56am

    Good concept!

    madmaw says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:58am

    Could do with some more monster types and increasing difficulty, but I'm a sucker for the dungeon-keeper genre

    kroltan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:26am

    Definitively bring it outside Compo! More monsters and knights over time and different types of defenders would make this game better. Maybe traps too?

    GameRespect says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:55am

    The concept is awesome, more levels/enemies/traps and some light music would definitely make it shine!

    patricklorio says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:00am

    The game needs more options. Otherwise it's pretty good.

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:12am

    Nice concept! I'd love to see this fleshed out a bit after the compo :)
    Right now it's real easy to just endlessly keep spawning skeletons without one knight ever reaching your treasure, so some more balancing would be cool :P
    Oh, and I ADORE the help screen! :D

    xgeovanni says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:13am

    It's quite easy once you have the hang of it. Would be nice if there was some way to win, since I see no end in sight.

    Meep says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:33am

    Very nice concept! Not too much to do in its current state, but it has a lot of potential to be expanded on. :)

    kannas says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:01pm

    i like the graphics and the concept, even if adding a bit more difficulty could have been a good choice. i agree with the others. youy should upgrade this game outside of the compos :D

    TheCze says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:06pm

    Really liked the "not win" splash screen

    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:22pm

    The game itself was fun in the first minute, then when you have 2 skeletons in the same place heroes can't get any further. Eventually I unlocked all 3 spots and filled them with skeletons.
    Add more powerful enemies/defenders, and maybe a score, and you will get an awesome game.

    Azlen says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:06pm

    Very fun.

    Edocentrique says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:35pm

    It's good !

    sclark39 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:06pm

    Good work. Similar idea to my entry. Yours is more of a tower-defense approach, mine more of an RTS. I played until I had 3 skeletons in reserve behind each door. :)

    robashton says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:47pm

    Good idea, it's a bit easy though.

    I've fixed my game in the same way you fixed yours, which is to have two code paths for Chrome vs Everything else btw :-)

    AlexFili says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:47pm

    Wow, I like this very much. The only problem is that it gets a bit too easy later on when you've got the hang of it. If the enemy difficulty scaled more then it would be more of a challenge. Also need more monster types. But the system is great, please make a sequel!

    Manest says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:33pm

    cool game

    Tapestry says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:34pm

    Even though it's simple and easy, great job, really like your take on the theme and on the tower defense games gerne!

    lucky.luddite says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:01pm

    Great help screen.

    Gornova says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:36pm

    too easy, but I like it, well done in 48 hours!

    Zazibar says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:51pm

    Nice concept, could be developed further into something very interesting.

    loren says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:13pm

    cool game, dig the art and sound effects. I also like the queued minion system. Nice work!

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:17pm

    Fresh if a bit basic gameplay with a nice art style.

    enfyrneaux says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:11am

    Deceptively simple. I like it.

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:26am

    Nice, fun, simple.
    Maybe consider giving the players on skeleton to start?

    Faust says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:28am

    Simple but well executed game. It'll be even better with more variation.

    EatenAlive3 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:45am

    Very nice -- I can see a potential for so much more, though! It needs to have a score at least, and a difficulty scale =p

    KunoNoOni says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:10am

    Very interesting game. I hope you make it bigger outside of the compo. Good Job on the foundation though! :)

    rylgh says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:10am

    very cool idea.

    ethankennerly says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:03am

    I quickly understood I was buying skeletons to stop the hero from getting to the gold. The layout was simple. Perhaps a twist at an advanced level to mix up the action would engage further.

    boena says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:32am

    Love the concept. Good job!

    Husky says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:44pm

    Win!
    Simple but fun.

    Blodyavenger says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:39pm

    Pretty good concept. Too bad you didn't have time to take it further.

    bigbadwofl says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:32am

    Could use some more content but what is there works well and is fun.

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:12pm

    Nice concept, perhaps needs a bit of tweaking with the balancing? (I think I hit a saturation point where I was just adding to the first factory after a while). Nicely done though, good stuff!

    GreenPixelDev says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:53am

    Very cool concept and gameplay! You have something here with a lot of potential and I hope you continue building on it! :D

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:33am

    Mechanics are cool. Like the style. Like the sound. Like the graphics. More depth would be cool.

    dekart says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:26pm

    Nice one, especially the art is lovely

    davidwparker says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:40pm

    I died the first time not realizing what was going on, but other than that, great intro mechanics. It would be cool to introduce harder and harder opponents, upgrades, etc.

    leafo says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:20am

    It's a good idea, it's just that the game didn't seem to change. Enemies kept spawning at same rate, and I could keep them off forever.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]