Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds
  • Judging Ends: in 13 days, 15 hours, 49 minutes, 28 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

    [ Play+Rate | Edit | View All Games | My Game ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    You're a Bastard! - CappaGames - Jam Entry

    You're a Bastard. You get pleasure from those words. It's your job to do whatever it takes to hear those beautiful words.

    Controls: Arrow keys to move, space key for any action

    Built using Xna/C# and Ogmo Editor.

    View CappaGames's journal. | View all entries by CappaGames

    Ratings

    Coolness75%
    #13Humor(Jam)3.83
    #80Theme(Jam)3.70
    #137Fun(Jam)2.97
    #148Mood(Jam)2.88
    #163Overall(Jam)3.00
    #204Innovation(Jam)2.66
    #209Graphics(Jam)2.92
    #269Audio(Jam)1.27

    Comments

    Gravity Games says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:17am

    Well, this game was okay. The game is pretty fun, and the multiple minigames reminds me of Wario Ware microgames. However, because of these minigames always being the same, there's no replay value. The in-game text was mildly humorous, and I chuckled at least once. Also, for some reason, it crashed at the final stage when I was replaying it (without closing the game). All in all, its good for what it is, but you really should add more minigames.

    dremelofdeath says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:16am

    I lol'd. I really enjoyed the series-of-minigames style of play, and that you're just a bastard pissing people off. I'm sad that there wasn't some sort of bastard meta-score, and the lack of audio hurt the overall game. That said, though, great game, and good work!

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:25am

    I like the variety of minigames, it was a fun idea. Was the character modeled after Guy Fieri?

    LogGiant says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:01am

    I kept thinking of the IT crowd whenever I read bastards. I liked the minigames, and thought this game was hilarious for sure!

    CappaGames says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:03am

    Hahaha, no it wasn't modeled after Guy Fieri, completely coincidental.

    dalbinblue says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:30am

    That was a funny diversion. I would make a note that the last scene didn't really fit with the rest of the game; It reminded me of "Spike: a Love Story" (http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/568517), which incidently would be a great contender for this theme, but didn't fit the rest of the overt asshole scenes that preceded it. Something like puppy punting or rolling a paraplegic into alligator infested water would fit better (wow, I am a bastard).

    Patrick64 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:09am

    You'll need this to run it: http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=20914

    This was quite chucklesome, I liked the character's big cheeky grin.

    RHY3756547 says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:55am

    hahahaha wow

    Dylan McCall says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:00am

    Made me smile, and I liked some of the visual effects.
    Would have enjoyed some kind of scoring (seemed to just kind of end happily even though I was terrible at the last minigame), but it did what it set out to do :)

    fishbrain says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:42am

    lol! I liked being a bastard :) I also liked the Options Screen.

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:47pm

    Nice idea to annoy other people in small minigames. If you make a post-compo version, you should start with the following things (in my opinion): Add sound effects and try to combine the minigames with puzzles or more diverse gameplay instead of hitting the button at the right time.

    Beerman says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:00pm

    Wow, what a bastard!
    Awesome stuff - I loved his little "victory dance" when you successfully complete an act of bastardry :D

    BrothersT says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:26am

    haha, cool. Nicely done. Didn't really get what was going on with the spikes but I won so it's all good.

    Alex Rose says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:12am

    This was pretty entertaining. I particularly enjoyed all the option menus, and switching the babies.

    You had me at the title picture, to be honest ;) .

    Nice entry.

    ddionisio says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:56am

    +1 for the options. :) I wasn't really sure what they all do. The evil lair was a bit odd with the spikes. Good humor for all the bastardness!

    char68 says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:02am

    Funny idea, I wish I could be more of a bastard in a sandbox environment. If you took any of these minigames and expanded on it I think it would be a more fulfilling play experience. Pretty funny though.

    Zelen3d says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 1:16am

    This was really fun. Reminded me a bit of McPixel...

    Jan 1, 2013 @ 11:04pm

    Wont run

    Neonlare says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 11:24pm

    Enjoyed the series of mini-games and the humour. Needed some audio though to compliment the game, but god damn was this game sadistic :).

    cardboard says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 5:51am

    I like the mini game variety, although the game is a bit short. Sound would have helped a lot, even if it was only sound effects. Other than that it was fun to play and funny at times.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]