Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014! — Join the Mailing List!
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 79 days, 21 hours, 27 minutes, 46 seconds
  • (Time might be off, we’ll have it right soon)


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Hunt - someone - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Ran out of time again. Should really spend less time prevaricating.

    Hunt is a turn based strategy game where you must send your evil minions to hunt down and kill all those pointless peasants and irritating heroes.

    You were supposed to gain life energy from killing to summon more minions, but that didn't happen.

    Just kill everyone. That always works.
    Dont know if it is actually possible to win.

    Oh - forgot to add the 'End turn' button.
    Press E to end your turn
    Press Space to cycle through units

    View someone's journal. | View all entries by someone

    Ratings

    Coolness77%
    #315Overall3.08
    #317Graphics3.05
    #358Fun2.85
    #375Audio2.39
    #435Mood2.65
    #450Theme3.00
    #469Humor2.22
    #478Innovation2.62

    Comments

    ParaPup says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:53pm

    It's got a nice classic feel to it I like it.

    suve says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:04pm

    I have a deep sentiment for tactical games (mostly because of X-COM), so I really enjoyed this one. There are a few bugs and the game lacks whatever statistics or ui one would expect. Also, the music is way to silent (had to turn my speakers almost to the max). But still, overall it is quite enjoyable.

    chribbe1 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:04pm

    Cool! Looks to be very solid made and it was fun even though it's not very unique.

    refrag says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:05pm

    HA that's awesome! Really nice gameplay. For a first level I'd recommend having the enemies start closer so combat can be triggered after only 1 move. Would be more rewarding faster.
    Great entry!

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:45pm

    Tangential comment: Cheers for teaching me the word "prevaricating" :D

    Starspell says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:00pm

    I'm amazed you got this much done in 48 hours. The graphics are really good but caused some problems. It's very difficult to select a tile behind another character.

    I don't know whether some classes are more powerful than others or are better at attacking other classes. It would need explaining if there was.

    I managed to almost kill all of them. Two were left at full health and two were running away from being almost dead.

    Could also do with better audio to tie the game together, but very impressive!

    Draknek says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:32pm

    Didn't feel like the different units were any different from one another.

    Graphics and music are pretty good.

    cwilloughby says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:19am

    Love tactical games.

    Enjoyable.

    amidos2006 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:12am

    Nice but I was hoping that all units arenot same in way it attacks and other stuffs :)

    chrismwaite says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:02pm

    Enjoyable game. Would be nice if you could group units into squads of the same creature type and move them in one go.

    Volute says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:38pm

    Nice tactical engine. You should expand this !

    YopSolo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:10pm

    great idea and nice realisation !

    mikemacdee says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:21pm

    plays all right but gets dull quickly. the units all seem the same, but wearing different costumes.

    LemonTree says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:13am

    Good work!

    CMaster says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:03pm

    Neat setup - need to know something about how the units work though before you can make any useful decisions.

    Bobrocket says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:11pm

    very good, but i personally think if you had a limit of how many you could move a round would make it better.

    haxpor says ...
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:42am

    Really nice. Screen flow into fighting between the two is really good! First game I played so far in LD25 that is turn-based. Nice work!

    h.attila says ...
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:27pm

    Congrats for making a turn-based strategy, it's not an easy genre, but unfortunately the game is very obviously unfinished.

    Joseph Miller says ...
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:42pm

    I really like how you did the individual fights. It was simple , fast, and communicated what you needed to know. I wish the tiles had been bigger so that clicking them was a little easier. Also, the distance to the other heroes outside the wall seems unnecessarily far.

    Dec 31, 2012 @ 12:04am

    Nicely done. I like it too where it costs less to walk over the path than if you walk over grass.

    stigmawall says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 11:55pm

    Damn it's adictive! Heheheh! Kinda hard, but i like it this way.

    leafo says ...
    Jan 6, 2013 @ 8:40am

    I did as you said and attempted to kill everything. It was hard and I died! haha, cool game though. Even though you didn't finish it looks and plays pretty well.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]