Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Slaughter Ends Soon!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 6 days, 18 hours, 5 minutes, 23 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 6 days, 18 hours, 5 minutes, 24 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend April 19th-20th | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    We Meet Again, Mr. Mond! - Luis Anton - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Final scene. The Good Guy gets in your secret lair, but your henchmen catch and beat him up! His gun lies on the floor and he's weak, so it's your moment of glory! Explain him your evil plans!

    But take care: we all know that the Good Guy will try to sneak on you. Keep an eye on him!

    Complete your speech, build drama! Then throw him into a bottomless pit.

    ---

    Quite a weird idea I came up with for this Ludum Dare, and more a prototype than a game. No sounds, no decent art, and almost no game, here. Just some silly version of a game I used to play as a kid, some kind of variation of Hide&Seek. For some reason, it made sense when thinking about it :D

    View Luis Anton's journal. | View all entries by Luis Anton

    Ratings

    Coolness65%
    #10Theme4.33
    #41Humor3.70
    #69Innovation3.70
    #137Overall3.43
    #213Fun3.15
    #239Graphics3.26
    #260Mood2.97
    #629Audio1.00

    Comments

    kroltan says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 11:23pm

    Very creative!

    TomK32 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:06am

    So simplistic but very nicely drawn. Just sad there's not single wave of sound.

    deathray says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:12am

    Love your cartoon style. The concept is very original and fits the theme perfectly. I wish you had time to put in real, evil dialogue snips instead of "bla".

    Xeke_Death says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:18pm

    Somehow entertaining, given it's simple nature... I was going for the "How many times can I press the button" tactic, and made a very dramatic speech...

    goerp says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:00pm

    what 'no decent art'? It's just minimal and the expressions are excellent!
    I absolutely loved it and it goes so well with the theme.
    I understand the point about 'bla' but I'm not sure if real language would be better. Maybe icons or fake letters would be good?

    raincole says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:20pm

    It's one of the few entries related to vallian in movie. Fit the theme perfectly!

    Manest says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:36pm

    love it

    Sanguine says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:30pm

    I like the graphics and I think it is a super cool concept, but the gameplay lacked interaction.

    loren says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:56pm

    Bla! Very cool art, nice work

    arhpositive says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:58pm

    One hint at first: Replace the "https" with http in your web link. Otherwise it warns people to install Unity Web Player no matter if they have it or not.

    About the game: I laughed hard when I first saw what you came up with. :D Execution of the idea is pretty good too. :) Gets 5 stars in Theme and Humor from me, that's for sure. :)

    rasmusrn says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:16pm

    Nice experience considering the very simple setup.

    Of course, the theme is spot on here! :D

    Luis Anton says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:22pm

    Oh, THANK YOU, arhpositive!!! I had no idea that was the reason why I had to reinstall Unity. Done!

    And thank you all for your comments X)

    Gornova says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:42pm

    a cool idea!

    Harsay says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:47pm

    Just add voice acting and music and it will be more than awesome :D

    ilo says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:43am

    The take on the theme is very funny and well executed, although the mechanics need a little something to make it more fun to play.

    dekart says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:00am

    Yeah, pretty funny game :) Liked it

    amidos2006 says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:07am

    Nice idea :) like the art alot :)

    Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:16pm

    He is such a bad guy! Bla bla bla! Cheers!

    bugninja says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:08pm

    Very fun, great concept.

    Joncom says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:41am

    A pleasant, simple, clever, little game! I particularly enjoyed the art! Nice work :)

    BlockBrains says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:43am

    Super original! Super well executed!

    wccrawford says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:41pm

    Oh man, I need more than 5 points for 'innovation' now. You've broken the scale. I love this idea!

    Husky says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:00pm

    Funny peekaboo :)

    Fireblend says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:26pm

    Simple, but you absolutely nailed the theme and the art is pretty charming. Nicely done.

    HeyChinaski says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:24pm

    Great idea, very funny. A simplistic mechanic but a fun game. Wonderful drawings of the villain.

    farmergnome says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:58am

    This was pretty fantastic, good job.

    PackSciences says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:08pm

    So original
    Simple graphics.
    Easy gameplay.
    Good

    Luis Anton says ...
    Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:45pm

    Someone recommended me playing the game while listening to THIS: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8VUGVX9jbA It's just awesome XDD

    pfirsich says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:55pm

    A very cool idea! Though it doesn't have much replay value.

    Houly says ...
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 8:14pm

    Yeah, I read the first two words from the descript and knew what was going to happen. Great little game! And perfect for the theme

    DavidErosa says ...
    Jan 2, 2013 @ 12:31am

    I love those "final speech" scenes :D

    Jan 2, 2013 @ 9:56pm

    Best. Idea. Ever.

    dark_hunter says ...
    Jan 3, 2013 @ 9:11am

    Funny idea! I liked the drawings as simple as they are. Sound could help for the experience.

    Pierrec says ...
    Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:13am

    Simple idea, simple graphics, great game. I never managed to finish my speech though

    SonnyBone says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 12:09am

    AWESOME! Needs audio, though. The minimalist approach is nice and the execution is really perfect. I love the art. LOVE IT, I SAY. Great job!

    azurenimbus says ...
    Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:50pm

    Wow, this has blown me away, seriously.

    RawBits says ...
    Jan 8, 2013 @ 1:05am

    This is a unique idea I'm sure of that. And very good too! But a lot of times the guy don't go back any after I stop BLAing.

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]