Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th 2014 — Theme: ??? (Suggest a Theme)
  • Ludum Dare 30 Begins: in 21 days, 13 hours, 6 minutes, 33 seconds
  • [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | MiniLD #53 ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Slab Judgment - Mysterarts - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Hey,
    This is my second entry!
    (Sorry in advance for my english)

    This tiny game is an opportunity for me to play for the first time with the particles in flash. (so yeah, they are everywhere ^^'). I wanted to make a game with a crowd, so I spent some time on this behavior.

    Technologies:
    - Flash / As3
    - Flint (particules system)
    - Illustrator
    - GarageBand and my mouth for fx :p

    How to play: kill with mouse and hit souls with the keyboard (A (or Q) and D). Souls arrived in paradise respawn into saints, who can not be sent to hell. You lose if you have more than half of the population has become saint (in white).

    Todo:
    - Balancing to improve challenge
    - Add different powers and bonuses
    - Better tutorial
    - Smoother transitions
    ...

    Thank you for reading and I hope you test Slab Judgment :)

    View Mysterarts's journal. | View all entries by Mysterarts

    Ratings

    Coolness64%
    #46Innovation3.85
    #97Theme3.82
    #108Fun3.42
    #108Audio3.27
    #115Overall3.50
    #142Humor3.21
    #154Graphics3.56
    #218Mood3.07

    Comments

    EndGameXXX says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:29am

    Great Game! I like the idea a lot. well executed.

    Manuel777 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:36am

    Nice one!

    kannas says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:28am

    what a cool game! i like it! :D

    bentog says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:26pm

    Really cool game! I like the art and the gameplay a lot! c:

    Winterblood says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:34pm

    Great idea, lovely presentation. Burning figures with the flame felt a bit random, but catching souls with the cloud was immensely satisfying - great visual and audio feedback. Good job!

    soupy says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:53pm

    I got 316. I wish the fire moved a little faster, but overall the game was great. Felt a bit like a DS game, almost having two separate gameplay components simultaneously. I really liked the tilted plane to represent mortal life.

    Casino Jack says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:26pm

    Might just be my laggy computer, but it felt a bit too much like luck with the fast speed of the people compared to slow update rate of the fire (always several seconds behind my mouse). Nice concept though.

    Mysterarts says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:04am

    Thank you for the compliments!
    Sorry for the lags, I slightly abused on the particles ^^
    The fire was deliberately slowed compared with the mouse to create a little challenge but yeah, it's a bit frustrating;)

    (For info: there is a leaderboard below the game!)

    haxpor says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:28am

    It's way very fun man! Love the sound of "blub blub" when burning them.
    The process of sending them to hell is the most incredible feature.

    chambers says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:34am

    Wow... very very nice game. Cool idea and the presentation is very unique.

    My score was 113 in the first attempt and 513 in the second one.

    In the second attempt I experienced a little bit of lag whenever I tried sending too many souls to hell at the same time.

    chaosBrick says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:45am

    Neat little game!
    I like how you also cared about the small things such as the smoothed fire or the little animation for the people.

    DTG says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:27am

    The splitting of focus between the crowd at the bottom and catching the souls is a really great concept brilliantly executed.
    Thematically its the first game I've seen you play a villian and always lose eventually, really smart idea and some great dynamics fencing in those souls.

    GFM says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:16pm

    Nice game!
    The mechanics kinda remind me of "The world ends with you", since you are controling two differents players. (though that's where similarities ends... I think xD)

    michax says ...
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:48pm

    Nice graphics style and gameplay. Smart use of particles. Would love to get some super awesome powers, like total anihilation :P But i see that it's on the todo list so good luck!

    numpad says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:34am

    I really enjoyed playing this unique game! Nice sounds and graphics. Another awesome thing is getting some extra forces after a special amount of souls sent to hell.

    Patrick64 says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:36am

    Nice looking game, the graphics look very professional. It's a little choppy on my crappy PC unfortunately.

    Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:02am

    Great game! Graphics look very well, and I personally like all of the SFX as well.

    Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:17pm

    I like the graphics a lot!

    Jack says ...
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:59pm

    fantastic game, I love the kinda subversion of the catch-the-stuff genre that you've got going on

    zenmumbler says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 9:07pm

    I didn't see the very faint ghosts going up first so I didn't know what I needed to do. Once that was cleared up it was a fun little game, bit disorienting as the mouse and left-right controls seem to be conflicting in my brain :)

    Dioiminik says ...
    Jan 5, 2013 @ 11:20pm

    One of my favorite ideas so far ;)

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]