Home | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post | Reddit | #LD48 | #ludumdare on irc.afternet.org (Info)

Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend [9 PM EST] — Theme: ??? (Theme Voting!)
  • Ludum Dare 29 Compo (48 Hour+Solo+Scratch+Src) Begins: in 2 days, 18 hours, 13 minutes, 41 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 29 Jam (72 Hour+Teams OK+Relaxed) Begins: in 2 days, 18 hours, 13 minutes, 42 seconds
  • [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]


    Ludum Dare 25

    December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

    Back to Browse Entries

    Dark Dream - eShredder - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Trapped in a dark world of nightmares you decide to collect all of the nightmare spirits to unleash their horrible power upon the overworld, our world.


    Controls:
    Move - Right/Left
    Jump - Z


    Post Compo version:
    *Updates:
    > Background ever so slightly brighter.
    > Added progress bar.
    *Fixes:
    > Size of background light did not update correctly.

    View eShredder's journal. | View all entries by eShredder

    Ratings

    Coolness83%
    #9Mood4.05
    #43Overall3.75
    #45Graphics4.11
    #56Audio3.49
    #162Fun3.28
    #423Theme3.08
    #504Innovation2.57
    #572Humor1.95

    Comments

    theanprocks says ...
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 10:23pm

    I like all the sounds and the graphics are ok but they could be better. The concept is good. Overall I give a 5/5

    Manuel says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:53am

    Very nice atmosphere

    SimianLogic says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:11am

    I like the graphics and sound--constricting the viewport was a nice touch, but once I got down to a small circle I found it almost impossible to play (or even find another light to commit suicide on and see what happens when you die).

    zompi says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:26am

    Graphics is cool and atmospheric, sounds too. Only thing, there should be some progress bar, because I have no idea if I'm getting any closer to goal. Anyway, good job :)

    Peltast says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:35am

    Great aesthetics, clever way of demonstrating health. I finished the game, but wished there was some way of measuring progress; perhaps when you return to the altar you would be shown the percentage of collectables left.

    patricklorio says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:52pm

    I'm a fan of the graphics.

    Datw says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:03pm

    Very good one. You made a really simple concept shine. (But you could have added a progress bar)

    mutuware says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:03pm

    Nice! Good atmosphere. Although the white noise is a bit grating after a while

    gilesa says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:00pm

    Very fluid controls!

    zazery says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:01pm

    It's hard to tell which areas will lead you to your doom. It's also quite easy to get lost without recognizable landmarks. The audio really works well with the visual style.

    danlthemanl says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:00pm

    Awesome game!! Sound and graphics were awesome.

    filtoid says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:25pm

    Really enjoyed it - agree with progress bar idea so you know how many more there are to collect. Thought the health bar mechanic was novel.

    saampahlavan says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:25pm

    Great mood / atmosphere. The light circle representing your health was very intuitive and interesting. Which I had more direction in the level design to know where to go

    8bitDamage says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:29pm

    This looks amazing!

    HeroesGrave says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:29pm

    Cool! I gave up because I didn't know how much more there was to go.

    chrismwaite says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:30pm

    Really nice graphics and atmosphere. Super smooth platforming.

    BinxBurger says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:41pm

    I really like the overall feeling of this one. I started feeling a bit lost after a while, though, because I had no idea where I was or how many spirit thingies I had left to gather. Other than that, nice work!

    JaJ says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:01pm

    Good atmosphere, but not enough variation to keep me interested for a long time. And since the world seems to be pretty large, that is nessecary. But again very moody and it looks very good in motion.

    rxi says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:10pm

    I'd seen a couple of your posts during the 48 hours and was actually quite looking forward to playing your entry. Fortunately I don't feel let down at all! The graphics were lovely and the game had a solid feel to it. I liked the jelly-fish movements of the enemies and despite the gameplay mechanics being simplistic I was still met with a few "how on earth do I get up there?" moments.

    I also liked the story put forth by the lighting and coloring. Our protagonist is black and, we presume, evil. He collects nightmares which are black, touching anything white hurts him. Two things I noticed were, firstly, the protagonist's life force is represented by the light he's emitting, and secondly, the entire world in which he roams is black. I couldn't help but wonder what was implied by this and what it could mean. Is the world hes surrounded by evil? Or perhaps black wasn't evil at all, perhaps black represented the neutral in the world. Maybe our protagonist wasn't evil, simply a normal guy. Black being evil, of course, is just an assumption made by the player, this is never explicitly mentioned anywhere, black nightmares in the context of a black world could mean normality, maybe they were simply a part of his every day life, much like the grass on the ground.

    The almost ever present glow represented the goodness inside of the protagonist, his commendable attributes which had evolved as he had progressed through his life, yet, still he clung to the black, the mundane. Why was it that touching anything light would slowly damage him? The lights it seemed, shining brighter than the brightest stars, represented the most positive things he'd ever come across in his life. For some reason they would seemingly have a profoundly negative effect on him. They wouldn't just hurt him, they'd relentlessly and irreversibly remove his own goodness. Was this all the result of too much of a good thing? The rules of the world were that the light would hurt the protagonist, and that he should stick to the mundane black world which had always been so familiar to him. I think this spoke lengths about the kind of person the protagonist was, at least at this point in his life, and how some days, I imagine, his existence could have felt much like a dark dream.

    Mythalore says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:11pm

    Great graphics, and nice physics!

    ecool377 says ...
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:26pm

    AAWESOME!!!

    amassingham says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:33am

    Like the atmosphere. IT would be nice if the light particles actually produced light as well - would aid in seeing them when they were just off-screen.

    jujule says ...
    Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:08pm

    This is to discover games like this one that I participate in jams. Simple but enjoyable mechanics. I couldn't finish it on the first or second run but I'll be sure to give it another try. This one is not going to the trash.

    lando walters says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:47am

    really well done graphics and music, very moody :)

    GameRespect says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:18am

    A nice game with a neat aesthetic, though I'm not such a big fan or leaps-of- faith.

    Zillix says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:48am

    really awesome mood and atmosphere. agree that a progress bar would be nice :D

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:50am

    Played both versions. Definitely needed a progress bar, but not sure about having it fade out. Once gone I have no idea where I am, really. Even in the post compo version I felt the sight restriction was not really fun. Brightening the background helped but it was still annoying. I think I'd rather have just been able to wander and collect and enjoy the mood/gfx. Perhaps you could do something like have the light radius recharge if you stand still for 10 seconds or something, or return much fuller, faster, when gathering the items. In the end I think the core mechanics hurt the fun of the game. Nice controls and platforming - that's hard to get right.

    Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:20pm

    I like this a lot, really nice controls and a great game.

    Eelfroth says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:05pm

    Very nice athmosphere. I didn't collect all of the nightmares but I found the secret ending.

    HeyChinaski says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:39pm

    Looked great and an awesome idea with the lights. I usually find exploring large arbitrary platform levels a bit dull but this one kept my attention pretty well. The light's movements had a threatening, malevolent quality which I enjoyed. Good work on the sounds as well.

    Macroz says ...
    Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:51pm

    Really nice! Reminds me of Limbo.

    Xavier says ...
    Dec 28, 2012 @ 10:05pm

    Incredibly atmosphere! Love the graphics. You must develop this game!

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]